Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: "Run As" command to run PSI 2.0.3003 in limited user account

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
joe schmoe "Run As" command to run PSI 2.0.3003 in limited user account
Member 19th Jul, 2011 07:09
Ranking: 38
Posts: 139
User Since: 26th Nov, 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Read here several times in this forum that PSI cannot be run in non-administrative modes or user accounts in all Windows versions.

Well, I can, and use the above command to run it as an administrator when in limited user account.

To do that, I right click the icon in Start>All Programs>Secunia PSI and select in the drop-down "Run As". A new dialog box opens with the current user at the top, and the alternate user available below.

On the system I use, the alternate user field is blank, so I select Administrator in the drop-down box, or, in my case, the name of the system administrator I created when installing Windows.

I enter the password for the admin account.

I may be mistaken, but it appears that PSI runs with full administrator rights when opened this way.

Does this work for you? I think it safer to run this way than having to run the admin account just to check for security vulnerabilities on a daily basis.

joe schmoe

--
XP Pro SP3 P4 3.2 HT 2 GB RAM Avast! 9.0.2018 AIS
Win 7 Home Pro SP1 Pentium D 2.8 3 GB RAM Avast 9.0.2018 AIS
Secunia PSI 2.0.0.3003 XP Pro 32-bit & Win 7 H Pro 64-bit

puget1 RE: "Run As" command to run PSI 2.0.3003 in limited user account
Member 19th Jul, 2011 22:20
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 19th Jul, 2011 22:24
Not sanctioned by Secunia per FAQ. However, it has been noted.

--
Windows Home Basic-Service Pack 2
Dell AMD Athlon 64x2 Processor 4000+ 2.10Ghz 2Memory 32 Bit

Firefox 27+ - MS Security Essentials+Spybot-Spyware Blaster-Malwarebytes-Emsisoft Malware- Sandboxie

IE 9-seldom












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1
ddmarshall RE: "Run As" command to run PSI 2.0.3003 in limited user account
Dedicated Contributor 19th Jul, 2011 23:45
Score: 1205
Posts: 957
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
This isn't necessary in Vista or later. If you have PSI set to run at startup, the Secunia services run in the System account. The Tray icon process runs in the standard user account. When you double click the tray icon, you get a UAC elevation prompt and have to supply an Administrator password, or select an Administrator if not password protected, before you can continue. The PSI UI then runs in that Administrator account.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability