Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: firefox *is* updated

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
oneota firefox *is* updated
Member 30th Jul, 2011 15:14
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 15th Jan, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
When I opened my Firefox 3.6, it informs me I should upgrade to 5.0, so I do. But then Secunia PSI tells me there's an upgrade to 3.6 available, and if I approve/run it, my 5.0 is removed and replaced with 3.6. Is PSI correct in telling me that 3.6 is the more-updated version?

Post "RE: firefox *is* updated" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: firefox *is* updated
Handling Contributor 30th Jul, 2011 16:40
Score: 11626
Posts: 8,915
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
PSI is a vulnerability checker & not a general updater.

I suspect (I do not use Firefox) that they are correctly saying that version 3.6.1.7 is stable,secure & fit for use.

Version 4 certainly has an outstanding vulnerability.

Version 5 is an upgrade but as far as I can tell only has cosmetic & programme enhancements from version 3.6.1.7 therefore PSI is not interested in telling U to update.


As for actually updating. A Secunia Official released this information on the 22nd June 2011.

"Mozilla Firefox 5.x has been added to our database and should be detected by the Secunia PSI after a rescan.

Mozilla Firefox 5.x should also appear in the Secure Browsing tab if the user have it enabled."


On that basis I would update to version 5 then run a PSI scan & all should be in order.


As I am sure U are aware, if U upgrade to version 6 BETA Firefox will not show after any PSI scan as it does not monitor BETA programmes.

Hope this helps.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
Anthony Wells RE: firefox *is* updated
Expert Contributor 30th Jul, 2011 17:26
Score: 2429
Posts: 3,317
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi ,

Just to add a couple of points , in fact Ff version 3.6.x is a fully supported platform . Version 4.0.x was released as a separate platform and so is not a bug/eye candy update/fix to the 3.6.x version , rather a platform upgrade ; 4.0.x did/does have a security vulnerability and changing their customary behaviour , Mozilla released version 5.0.x as the "security" patch . This system is likely to continue in the future with bug fixes within platforms and security fixes within or as a new platform ; Ff version 6.0.x is in Beta version and getting close to release .

You can only run one platform in any one user account at any one time and 3.6.x and 5.0.x are recognised separately and so only one should be displayed by the PSI . Only the last security fixing version is chosen as the update version link by the PSI .

As Maurice has suggested pick your platform and after installation reboot and/or run a full manual scan .

Let us know if your problem continues .

Take care

Anthony



--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
ddmarshall RE: firefox *is* updated
Dedicated Contributor 30th Jul, 2011 21:56
Score: 1205
Posts: 957
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
I am running Firefox 5.0.1 and PSI does not try to replace it with 3.6.

I suspect PSI is detecting a copy of Firefox 3.6 somewhere on your system and when you download the update via Secunia your Firefox 5.0 is being overwritten. If you check the file paths where the program is being detected, you may find an explanation for this behaviour.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

michealbi

RE: firefox *is* updated
[+]
This reply has been deleted
Maurice Joyce RE: firefox *is* updated
Handling Contributor 1st Aug, 2011 09:50
Score: 11626
Posts: 8,915
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@michaelbi

U have "tagged on" to a post where a solution has been given. What other help do U want?

It is much better if U create your own thread describing your problem if U have tried this solution & it has not worked for U.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+4
-0

Jane_Hegrat

RE: firefox *is* updated
[+]
This reply has been deleted

ugowalo

RE: firefox *is* updated
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.
oneota RE: firefox *is* updated
Member 2nd Aug, 2011 06:00
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 15th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
(my) Problem solved.

Before: Secunia PSI 2's scan list has two Firefox install entries—
Firefox 3.6.x shows
3.6.18 installed in program (x86)
3.6.2 installed in an old Windows directory
Firefox 5.x shows
installer in browser’s temp directory
All's well with the world.
Then: I run the Firefox 5.0.1 updater file
Then: Secunia notices that’s happened
Then: Secunia notices the 3.6.2 installation and asks my approval to install an update (or automatically runs it, if so configured).
Then: 3.6.18 replaces my 5.0.1 (although without affecting the 3.6.2 install) <g>
Solution: delete the 3.6.2 firefox.exe, then reinstall the 5.0.1 updater
Then: Secunia notices 3.6.2 is gone, leaves 5.0.1 alone, and all’s well with the world.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: firefox *is* updated
Handling Contributor 2nd Aug, 2011 21:05
Score: 11626
Posts: 8,915
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@oneota
Pleased to here U are all fixed up. To prevent U from receiving more update emails from "tag on" posts including spam, some of which I have already deleted, my advice is to lock this thread.

If U want to do that just press the ACCEPT option against the post that offered U the best solution/advice in solving your issue.

The thread will remain on the Forum after locking.




--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability