navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Google Chrome Version

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Google
And, this specific program:
Google Chrome 12.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
dluhop Google Chrome Version
Member 5th Aug, 2011 21:40
Ranking: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 2nd Apr, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Secunia is reporting that my installed version of Google Chrome needs to be updated (12.0.742.112). When I look at the actual version I have installed on my PC it is 13.0.782.107. This is the latest version. Can you help?

dracudok RE: Google Chrome Version
Member 6th Aug, 2011 16:15
Score: 42
Posts: 26
User Since: 14th Jun 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: DE
Hi,

after any update Google Chrome keeps a copy of the previous version within the folder C:\Users\<your name>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Application\<pre vious version>. Just delete this folder and everything is fine!

dracudok
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
dluhop RE: Google Chrome Version
Member 6th Aug, 2011 17:39
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 2nd Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Don't have path to ...Google\Chrome\Application. I have ...Google\Chrome\User Data. No {previous version}.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Google Chrome Version
Member 6th Aug, 2011 18:47
You have to make your hidden files and folders visible before you can see the Google Chrome application path to delete the old browser files.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Google Chrome Version
Member 6th Aug, 2011 18:48
Thanks for your help--I never would have figured this out for myself. When I didn't see the path you mentioned the first time I looked, I made my hidden files and folders visible and then deleted the old browser files.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
dluhop RE: Google Chrome Version
Member 6th Aug, 2011 18:58
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 2nd Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I can see all hidden folders. Could see them before I posted. Previous post still applies.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
dluhop RE: Google Chrome Version
Member 6th Aug, 2011 19:12
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 2nd Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I figured it out. Path to previous version on my PC is: Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\12.0.742.122. I deleted the last (12.0.742.122) folder. Thanks for your help.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Google Chrome Version
Expert Contributor 6th Aug, 2011 21:58
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,268
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 6th Aug, 2011 22:02
@dluhop.
What you do have....is access to the file path to the old version of Chrome that Secunia is detecting.
Click on the + sign alongside the prog to reveal the file path, and then Open Folder( the right hand folder icon without the dot)
....right click on the item and delete.

Hope this helps.......regards.....

Edit......hadn't seen your last post.....glad you got fixed up.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

timothywhite101

RE: Google Chrome Version
[+]
This reply has been deleted
mogs RE: Google Chrome Version
Expert Contributor 8th Aug, 2011 15:34
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,268
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@timothywhite101

The easiest way is to click on the wrench/spanner....see top/right corner of the browser. Then click on About Google Chrome and watch to OK or Restart.
Remember to remove the older version as per previous posts. If you are using Stable channel Chrome this needs be done to avoid psi continuing to detect.
psi does not monitor Beta/Dev/Canary versions.

Hope the foregoing is of help.......regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+