Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: PSI screen disappears

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
iteursi PSI screen disappears
Member 8th Aug, 2011 06:14
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 8th Aug, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I've had PSI on autostart for a long time, and rarely bring up the program screen because the system score shown by mousing over the icon in the system tray is consistently above 94%. But I did try to open the program just now using its system tray icon. The program scren briefly flashed on (less than a second), then disappeared. Various experiments all failed to keep the screen visible. Using Sysinternals' Process Explorer, I can see that psia.exe, sua.exe and psi_tray.exe are loaded in memory and running. I just uninstalled PSI, downloaded the current version and installed it again. Same results. I'm running XP SP3. Default browser is Chrome, but IE8, FFox, Safari and Opera also are installed. Anyone have any ideas or suggestions on curing the disappearing screen?

Post "RE: PSI screen disappears" has been selected as an answer.
Anthony Wells RE: PSI screen disappears
Expert Contributor 8th Aug, 2011 12:05
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,332
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi ,

You have the symptoms of a well known XP bug ; scroll down these settings in this this FAQ and be sure to apply one or both the XP remedies (check all the settings whilst you are there :-

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Let us know how you go .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
iteursi RE: PSI screen disappears
Member 8th Aug, 2011 19:55
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 8th Aug 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hi Anthony,
Thanks for the quick reply. Yes, the last suggestion - turning off the advanced text services - did the trick! Since this is a global setting, I have turned it on again after using PSI. Thanks again.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: PSI screen disappears
Expert Contributor 8th Aug, 2011 20:26
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,332
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Pleased that it was an "easy" fix !! Thank you for letting us know .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability