Forum Thread: Adobe Flash update may prevent PSI from loading

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Kiwikwi Adobe Flash update may prevent PSI from loading
Member 8th Aug, 2011 20:30
Ranking: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 9th Nov, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
This might be helpful to others.

If the PSI main window hangs while loading, it may be due to a problem supposedly caused by a faulty Adobe Flash update.

To see if this is the case, press Win+R, type services.msc and press Enter.
If an error message reading "One or more ActiveX controls could not be displayed" appears, you are affected by this bug. (In either case, just close the window.)

To resolve the issue, follow the instructions at http://www.microtom.net/?p=681, then re-install Secunia PSI.

Best regards,
Søren Løvborg

This user no longer exists RE: Adobe Flash update may prevent PSI from loading
Member 9th Aug, 2011 09:10
Hi,

The PSI 2.0 no longer uses Flash in any way.

So unless the ActiveX Plugin is so severely defect it prevents Internet Explorer from running scripts properly, even when it isn't loaded, it shouldn't have an effect.

Which tests made you conclude this?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

pooja007

RE: Adobe Flash update may prevent PSI from loading
[+]
This reply has been deleted

Phillguy79

RE: Adobe Flash update may prevent PSI from loading
[+]
This reply has been deleted
Kiwikwi RE: Adobe Flash update may prevent PSI from loading
Member 10th Aug, 2011 21:47
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 9th Nov 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
The Flash update* breaks the security settings for the My Computer security zone, preventing local HTML content from running properly. The details are at the blog I linked to above.

As the blog describes, the bug also takes out the Services MMC snap-in, because it uses HTML content and ActiveX. The PSI is presumably affected for the same reason.

I've experienced this exact problem first-hand. None of the troubleshooting steps in the PSI FAQ (http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...) solved the problem, but after realizing that the Services snap-in was broken too, I found that the steps mentioned resolved the problem.

* I can't personally confirm that the problem is specifically caused by an Adobe Flash update (but the above link indicates that this is the case). The problem did however occur suddenly and unprovoked, suggesting that it was caused by an automatic update to Windows or an application.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Adobe Flash update may prevent PSI from loading
Expert Contributor 11th Aug, 2011 00:23
Score: 2470
Posts: 3,359
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi ,

Another member , @Beercow , has regularly posted the same "fix" for some months now :-

QUOTE :-

This worked for me.

You should delete 1 extra (parasite) zone from

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\

with pseudo-graphic number, you'll see it before zone number 0. It looks like a L.

P.S. By the way, this extra zone prevents desktop gadgets to be shown correctly.

I forgot to mention, always back up your registry before making any changes.


--
Beercow

Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit
Amd Athlon IIx4 630 Quad-core
Firefox 4.0.1
6GB ram


UNQUOTE

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.