Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: CSI 5.0 beta problems

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
CSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
genegold99 CSI 5.0 beta problems
Member 10th Aug, 2011 02:54
Ranking: 5
Posts: 128
User Since: 25th Nov, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 10th Aug, 2011 03:10

I'm a user of PSI and decided to take your invitation out of curiosity. After install, I scanned my home computer. The good news is that it came up with lots of items that PSI hadn't picked up on yet. The bad news is... well, what a mess this is (granted it's a beta..)

1) After the initial scan, it wasn't initially obvious to me from the UI where to find the results details, so I clicked on the Dashboard tab. CSI then went non responsive and had to be closed manually.

2) I reopened CSI from Start>Programs (XP), and while it was loading my computer crashed and restarted itself. I assume that was CSI.

3) CSI has not loaded at computer start up in three tries and I don't see anything in Autoruns for it. However, "Start the Secunia CSI on boot" box is checked. Does PSI loading at start up muck up things (they aren't linked and I'm not clear how to do it or even if it's a good idea in my situation)?

4) Everytime I open CSI from Start>Programs, it starts by checking for an internet connection (first dot) and just hangs there. I have to close it, then Reload Interface" from the Sys Tray icon to get the UI showing on screen. Using "Open Secunia CSI" in the Sys Tray just repeats the internet connection search hang.

5) The UI doesn't format properly on opening, and has to be expanded every time so that the right side of the dashboard info fully shows.

6) After installing today's complete Microsoft update - several items showed as insecure - and then restarting the computer, CSI didn't recognize the changes. I had to run a new scan.

7) There's no apparent way to rescan a single entry. Before the second scan, I deleted an end of life program's folder from a back up HDD, but there doesn't appear to be a way short of a full scan to clear it from the results.

8) After running the second scan, the results on the scan line (scan = Success) read Insecure = 5 and End of Life = 7, but over on the left it shows Insecure = 0 and End of Life = 6 between Programs and Operating Systems.

highstream RE: CSI 5.0 beta problems
Member 10th Aug, 2011 03:26
Score: 6
Posts: 29
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Update: looking again at AutoRuns, there is a CSI entry now. I suspect it's because I unchecked, then rechecked the "Start the Secunia CSI on boot" box.

When I just reloaded the UI, it opened fine but was unresponsive to scrolling the side panel. Then in the midst of that it just reloaded the interface, showing the dashboard and just the topics on the left, instead of what had been showing when it first opened (probably what was there when I last closed it).
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
O.Marin RE: CSI 5.0 beta problems
Secunia Official 10th Aug, 2011 15:54
Score: 30
Posts: 116
User Since: 4th Aug 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Hi genegold99,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you spent time testing our solution.

I will send your comments to our development team so we can enhance the product and the user experience.

Regarding point 4, you mentioned that the CSI is hanging verifying internet connection. This usually happens if https://*.secunia.com is not added under Trusted Sites.

I didn't quite understood what you meant with point 7? would you like to ignore some programs? You can create a Ignore Rule (Scanning → Filter Scan Results → Ignore rules) for that.

Oana

--
Kind Regards,

Oana Marin
Solution Specialist
genegold99 RE: CSI 5.0 beta problems
Member 10th Aug, 2011 18:20
Score: 5
Posts: 128
User Since: 25th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 10th Aug, 2011 18:22
You mean trusted sites, as in IE? I use Opera as my primary browser.

What I mean in #7 is that in PSI, after updating or deleting a file, there's a rescan option for that item alone. I don't see that in CSI.

This morning "Open Secunia CSI" works instantly and correctly, except for the truncated dashboard. There was an unusual lock up on start up and need for a reboot, but I'll have to investigate that further.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
O.Marin RE: CSI 5.0 beta problems
Secunia Official 12th Aug, 2011 10:51
Score: 30
Posts: 116
User Since: 4th Aug 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Then you can go to Control Panel and then Internet Options -> Security tab and then Trusted Site

Oana

--
Kind Regards,

Oana Marin
Solution Specialist

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability