Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Tito335 adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Member 14th Aug, 2011 23:35
Ranking: 0
Posts: 42
User Since: 7th Jun, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: EG
hello every one
i have been using psi for 4 months and every update was avaible i always
ask for help or update it by myself

but i was 100% system score 30 mins ago
but after an appearance of a message at windows 7 flag and notifications
i found (address problem to microsoft office)
so i opened action center to see it and i told me ( microsoft office has stopped 1 times and it mentioned something that i may not have fully updated windows and security stuff) so i opened windows update and found two important updates

both are the same microsoft .net frame work 4 so i selected both and installed them and restarted as required and found psi reporting

2 inscure programs (adobe flash player and adobe air)

so how do i update both of them (although both were recently updated)

windows 7 home premium sp1 (fully upgraded) x64
microsoft office starter 2010.

Maurice Joyce RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Handling Contributor 15th Aug, 2011 02:16
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,002
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
UPDATING THE STANDALONE ADOBE FLASH PLAYER

If not using the PSI update feature I would recommend this method to successfully update Flash which by-passes the Adobe Download Manager.


1. Download & SAVE these to desktop.
IE 32 Bit.

http://fpdownload.adobe.com/get/flashplayer/curren...

& then here, if U have any Gecko based browsers that do not have Flash embedded.

http://fpdownload.adobe.com/get/flashplayer/curren...

2. The installer will appear on the desk top. THE IMPORTANT BIT - Before agreeing to install Flash check these programmes are completely shut down (use the Task Manager if necessary to COMPLETELY EXIT these processes if running):
a. All Browsers.
b. Windows Messenger.
c. Incredimail.
d. All Adobe Products.
e. PSI - Unless using version 2


3. The new install will then remove all old files during the update process.
4. Complete a PSI rescan & all should be in order.
5. Delete the Flash installer(s) file(s) from the desktop.

If U want to double check Flash is working & the version installed click here: http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/ If using IE9 ActiveX Filtering must be disabled via IE>Tools before testing

Install Adobe Air from here:

http://get.adobe.com/air/

Update 6 22:22 11/08/2011


--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+4
-0
Tito335 RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Member 15th Aug, 2011 20:58
Score: 0
Posts: 42
User Since: 7th Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: EG
Hello again Maurice

it's good to see you
now my system score is 100% again

but after reboot the adobe flash player asked me on start up to update
which is really weired so i clicked on cancel (x)

is this normal or my computer is now a victim of a security threat????

i use avira anti-virus and mbam (anti malware)
and i always keep everything updated.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Handling Contributor 15th Aug, 2011 21:38
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,002
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Do a full rescan with PSI - what does that say?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Tito335 RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Member 15th Aug, 2011 22:30
Score: 0
Posts: 42
User Since: 7th Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: EG
well i did a scan after installing the 2 apps and it was 100% system score
and after reboot the adobe update appeared (wiered) so i ignored and scaned again psi and it was 100%

and now it's 100%

but why this wiered message . of adobe flash


i also double checked after installation adobe reader is installed by the latest version available

may be it's a bug in adobe flash (new ver.) it self!!!!!!!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Handling Contributor 15th Aug, 2011 22:34
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,002
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Are U using IE9?


--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Tito335 RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Member 16th Aug, 2011 03:48
Score: 0
Posts: 42
User Since: 7th Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: EG
yes IE 9

and i installed a previous version for it before with no problem.

and the update request appeared only on the first time reboot


also i have another machine that has one program end of life
shall i post here or open a new thread?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Handling Contributor 16th Aug, 2011 09:15
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,002
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Post your other problem here using the troubleshoot report.

For your Flash issue - Open IE>navigate to Tools>from the dropdown box U will see ACTIVEX FILTERING - is there a tick (check mark) to the left of the wording?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Tito335 RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Member 17th Aug, 2011 23:12
Score: 0
Posts: 42
User Since: 7th Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: EG
Last edited on 17th Aug, 2011 23:13
hello maurice and first of all congratulation on major website update and the new https secure conection is better than before :)

---START---

Program Name:
AAC/aacPlus Player Plugin 1.x

Security State:
End-of-Life

Download Link:


Instances Found:
C:\Program Files\K-Lite Codec Pack\filters\aacpParser.dll, version: 1.0.27.1000

Last System Scan (localtime):
18. Aug 2011, 00:00

Operating System:
Microsoft Windows 7,

---END---


and i will post about flash player as soon as i finish work and check my laptop.
thanks
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Handling Contributor 17th Aug, 2011 23:18
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,002
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 17th Aug, 2011 23:19
Nice compliments but to the wrong person although I am sure a Secunia Official will read it. I do not work for, or represent Secunia, in any way.

This is how to fix your problem.

DELETING A FILE OR FOLDER USING PSI VERSION 2

To delete a vulnerable file or folder found by PSI try this:

1. Open PSI>Scan results.

2. Against the programme marked as vulnerable is a + sign to the left of it.

3. Click that & it will reveal DETECTED INSTANCES.

4. Below that are two yellow folders. Click the one WITHOUT a red dot.

5. That will open Windows Explorer & U will be able to see the vulnerable file or folder.
C:\Program Files\K-Lite Codec Pack\filters\aacpParser.dll, version: 1.0.27.1000

6. Right click on it & select delete.

7. Carry out a full PSI scan & all should be in order.

Update 1 20:49 09/03/2011


--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Anthony Wells RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Expert Contributor 17th Aug, 2011 23:46
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,334
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi ,

The K-Lite Codec pack probably needs updating to take care of the "End of Life" dll and other outdated files

Which version of the pack and which version number are you using ??

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Tito335 RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Member 18th Aug, 2011 05:07
Score: 0
Posts: 42
User Since: 7th Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: EG
on 16th Aug, 2011 09:15, Maurice Joyce wrote:


For your Flash issue - Open IE>navigate to Tools>from the dropdown box U will see ACTIVEX FILTERING - is there a tick (check mark) to the left of the wording?


no it's not checked /ticked

also today after updating realplayer
i noticed that the download video addon was disabled so i enabled it via ie > addon manager
as it was disabled when i reseted ie recently

any way when i shut down laptop and then after a while i turned it on again and after the start up ,UAC asked me to confirm realplayer updater but i didn't make sure was it a legtimate
prompt or not but i pressed yes (i always double check for verified publishers only)
but this time i was so tired so i pressed yes and then a quick loading message appeared (continuing / finishing installation) and dissapeared, is this a legtimate setup of realplayer??

and for the k lite codec (actually i don't recognize it as i never used it before
i guess my brother who has installed it before) but what is it if you don't mind my asking.

please reply me about that second quick setup of real (is this legtimate) as i'm dying of worry here and i need to make sure that i didn't allow any kind of unwanted software or virus.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Handling Contributor 18th Aug, 2011 09:48
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,002
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Having a panic attack is not going to resolve your issues. Problems require fixing in a logical sequence.

1. Flash - Is the issue resolved? If not,exactly what do U consider the problem is now U have the latest version installed which has been confirmed as secure by PSI?

2. Codec - What have U done about clearing the vulnerability? Have U used my advice in which case did PSI give a clean bill of health on the rescan?

OR

Did U take Anthony's advice in which case what was the outcome after a PSI rescan?

3. Real Player - I suspect the download was to clear this vulnerability:

https://secunia.com/advisories/44014

Have U got the updater feature in this programme active?

What does PSI say about Real Player after a full scan? If U are concerned U have downloaded something other than a legitimate programme what does your anti viral programmes say after a full scan?




--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Tito335 RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Member 18th Aug, 2011 15:48
Score: 0
Posts: 42
User Since: 7th Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: EG
hello maurice
1- i guess so but when i rebooted the message of adobe flash asking update after i already updated it,
makes me feel worried and that something went wrong although i checked that i now have the latest version and also psi stated that it's up to date and i have 100% (it is just the message of flash playe which made me worried)

2- well i didn't follow any thing yet as i just wanted to ask you first about that codec program
and what is the use of that program as i stated above i don't know what is k-lite codec pack

3- it wasn't a download after i rebooted it was the uac asking permission to allow real player
and i guess it was updater but it was really a fast loading setup that i couldn't even see
and i was so tired you know working for several hours and i was so stupid i allowed it without looking at the uac message whether it was yellow or blue (for verfied publisher or not)
but all i can remember and looked at it was that it stated realplayer

so can a virus disguise in a shape of realplayer (asking to allow update via uac)

i have :
windows 7 home premium fully upgraded sp1 x64
malwarebytes anti-malware
avira antivirus sp2
secunia psi 100% system score
(all of the above are fully updated)

and all my windows security level are set to recommended levels
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Tito335 RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Member 18th Aug, 2011 15:53
Score: 0
Posts: 42
User Since: 7th Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: EG
please note that realplayer was updated
and and was verified by psi with up to date before i reboot and then the update asking uac to allow appeared.
and actually i don't know about the auto update feature coz i didn't open setting of realplayer yet.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Dedicated Contributor 18th Aug, 2011 17:38
Score: 1210
Posts: 961
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
I've had the experience of the Flash updater starting after I had updated Flash manually. It seems to be a result of the auto-updater running simultaneously with doing the manual update. There is nothing to worry about.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Handling Contributor 18th Aug, 2011 19:08
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,002
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
1. From your report & @ddmarshall's observation it looks like Flash & Real Player are now OK.

2. Codec - I do not use that sort of thing but here is a clue as to what it is for:

http://www.filehippo.com/download_klite_codec_pack...

The important thing is to remove your current vulnerability. If U do not want K-Lite Codec use my advice - if U do then try Anthony's solution.

No harm will be done either way - Windows is not reliant on the Codec pack,Real Player,Adobe Flash or like items.



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Tito335 RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Member 18th Aug, 2011 22:12
Score: 0
Posts: 42
User Since: 7th Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: EG
okay Thanks a lot and sorry for asking to many questions

i know sometimes i feel paranoid when it comes to security risks or system corruption

sorry

and can i uninstall the k-lite from the program and features menu ?
or should i do what you told me first?

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Handling Contributor 18th Aug, 2011 22:18
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,002
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Better to ask questions than to do something U are unsure of & regret it if something goes wrong.

If U can see that programme in Control Panel>add/remove try to remove it from there first. Then run a PSI scan - what does it say now?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Tito335 RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Member 18th Aug, 2011 23:33
Score: 0
Posts: 42
User Since: 7th Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: EG
yes i did it but via start >all programs > k-lite mega codec pack>uninstall

and the wizard started and asked me to close IE windows
so i did and then clicked ok and here it goes
but the problem is that it wants to uninstall quick time player (i don't know which coz i installed
i tunes 2 days ago and it auto installed quick time) so i hit ok to uninstall quick time anyway

so another message appeared to save the key no of quick time pro
what quick time pro (is the i tunes bundled with a pro version of quick time?)
i don't remember i got any key before for quick time

may be the k-lite codec pack comes with a pro version of quick time, i dont know

but after all of this i have to uninstall i tunes becoz it won't work
and then reinstall to install again the quick time along side.
and i did and i tunes worked again
but psi reported quick time as insecure, what ,it was secure 30 mins ago before uninstallation

so i update quick time manually via apple updates and rescaned it's now 100 % system score (thanks)

but all i want to know does the i tunes comes with a pro version of quick time or not
as the message of the key made me (paranoid again) any way i typed the key on a piece of paper. ( how can i make sure? )
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Handling Contributor 18th Aug, 2011 23:39
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,002
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I doubt it - U require to pay for most professional programmes. Provided U require & have Itunes & Quicktime installed U should be OK.

Please confirm that after a full PSI scan your score is 100%.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Tito335 RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Member 19th Aug, 2011 00:03
Score: 0
Posts: 42
User Since: 7th Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: EG
Last edited on 19th Aug, 2011 00:05
yes it's 100 % why?

also i found an empty folder in program files called
k-lite mega codec and it has another empty folder called quicktime

also there is something that i can't remember coz i did a lots of reboots after uninstall of that program

did i miss rebooting after uninstalling i tunes in order to install it cleanly

i don't remember :) but does it affect it?

as i feel buffering for music is slowly and i guess videos is not buffering for pod cast
can this be related ?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Expert Contributor 19th Aug, 2011 00:06
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,334
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello again ,

Quick Time Pro needs to be purchased and uses a key ; some background is here . Customer support should be able to tell you if the key is "validated" :-

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2240

The K-Lite Mega Codec Pack (latest version) does not specify anything Quick Time , but it might have been loaded to (help) run the Pro programme :-

http://www.codecguide.com/features_mega.htm

Perhaps you should ask your brother about it .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Handling Contributor 19th Aug, 2011 00:16
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,002
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I was merely verifying that U are 100% now that all the programmes U want are installed before unsubscribing from the thread.

Just right click on the empty folders U have found & select delete - it/they are dross.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Expert Contributor 19th Aug, 2011 00:19
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,334
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi ,

If you have video viewing problems you may be missing an MPEG2 video decoding filter or some such thing .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Tito335 RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Member 19th Aug, 2011 03:18
Score: 0
Posts: 42
User Since: 7th Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: EG
i just did (deleted the folder of the program

also i wanted to double check and i uninstalled i tunes again then rebooted twice
and then installed it again and then scaned secunia and it's 100%
although the installer states i tunes and quicktime but i guess quick time has now the latest version which wasn't included in installer of i tunes (old version)
so i guess the installer didn't affect quick time

but the streaming slow connection still ocurring it's seems not moving ( i will contact apple may be they have a solution) any way thanks again and i really appreciate what you did. :)

and for anthony

If you have video viewing problems you may be missing an MPEG2 video decoding filter or some such thing .

so what shall i do if i faced problem like that ?

thanks

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
amandasmithe RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Member 19th Aug, 2011 06:14
Score: -1
Posts: 1
User Since: 19th Aug 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Really i am impressed from this post....the person who created this post is a genious and knows how to keep the readers connected..thanks for sharing this with us.i found it informative and interesting. Looking forward for more updates..

--
http://www.bestfijideals.com
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-2
Anthony Wells RE: adobe air 2.x and adobe flash player
Expert Contributor 19th Aug, 2011 11:45
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,334
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi ,

It is likely that someone , perhaps your brother , installed the K-lite Codec Pack (free) and then bought and installed QT Pro in the same K-Lite folder rather than it's own separate folder .

That person probably made custom settings in the Pack and QT Pro to play aruond with and listen to/watch sound and video ; by uninstalling them you are likely to have altered that customised set-up and you probably reverted to a base set-up but which may still need "codec" back up :eg: an MPEG2 filter. The best placed person to advise you is the person responsible for the customisation of your system .

If you have slow streaming problems as opposed to an unable to play/see videos problem Apple support may be able to help as you are a paying customer for QT Pro .

Without knowing your system and the detailed custom changes likely to have been made :eg: which software is/was being used/selected for default display of videos , sorry ,I cannot be more specific .

Let us know your progress .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer