Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: I have FF 6.0.1 installed however....

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Mozilla Foundation
And, this specific program:
Mozilla Firefox 6.x

This thread has been marked as resolved.
English Teacher I have FF 6.0.1 installed however....
Member 3rd Sep, 2011 17:41
Ranking: 2
Posts: 40
User Since: 27th Dec, 2008
System Score: 95%
Location: IT
Hi,
I have FF 6.0.1 installed (confirmed by Revo Uninstaller and FF in About) but despite this PSI has found this
Program Name:
Mozilla Firefox 5.x

Security State:
End-of-Life

Instances Found:
C:\WINDOWS\ERDNT\cache\firefox.exe, version: 5.0.0.4183

Operating System:
Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3

As you can see It has a strange place in the "Instances found" is this normal?
PSI also flags this as the "Actual Installation"

FF was updated several days ago so PSI has had plenty of time to see the new installation but despite this, my version of FF isn't even in the list of other programs.

Thanks in advance.

--
Never argue with Stupid People. They just drag you down to their level and beat you with Experience.

Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.



Post "RE: I have FF 6.0.1 installed however...." has been selected as an answer.
ddmarshall RE: I have FF 6.0.1 installed however....
Dedicated Contributor 3rd Sep, 2011 17:47
Score: 1208
Posts: 959
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
This has been reported before. That folder is used by a program called ERUNT which is a utility for backing up and restoring the Registry. You may find that running ERUNT again will remove this copy of Firefox that it takes for some reason. Otherwise, deleting the file does not seem to cause any problems.

http://larshederer.homepage.t-online.de/erunt/

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
mogs RE: I have FF 6.0.1 installed however....
Expert Contributor 3rd Sep, 2011 18:30
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@English Teacher

FF was updated several days ago so PSI has had plenty of time to see the new installation but despite this, my version of FF isn't even in the list of other programs

Regarding the above mentioned.....you seem to have had the same problem some months ago :-
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/699...
It would seem the answers might still be the same....it might be worth reading thro' again.

As far as I can see FF6 is in Secunia's database with no vulnerabilities at present.

Regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
English Teacher RE: I have FF 6.0.1 installed however....
Member 3rd Sep, 2011 19:35
Score: 2
Posts: 40
User Since: 27th Dec 2008
System Score: 95%
Location: IT
Thanks for the replies.
@ddmarshall

I don't have this ERUNT program or whatever it is on my computer.

@mogs

Sorry, this is an error on my part. I looked for Firefox under "F" and didn't notice that it's Mozilla Firefox and therefore under "M"

So Firefox 6.0.1 is detected but there is still this strange entry one which is being flagged.



--
Never argue with Stupid People. They just drag you down to their level and beat you with Experience.

Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.


Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
mogs RE: I have FF 6.0.1 installed however....
Expert Contributor 3rd Sep, 2011 20:02
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@English Teacher

Glad you managed to resolve the one issue.

If Secunia is detecting a file.....it's there.
If you click on the folder icon without the spot.....alongside the detected instance....Explorer will take you to the folder which you can right click on and delete.
Then run a full scan.
Hope this helps........regards,


--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
English Teacher RE: I have FF 6.0.1 installed however....
Member 3rd Sep, 2011 20:06
Score: 2
Posts: 40
User Since: 27th Dec 2008
System Score: 95%
Location: IT
Just wondering how it got there in the first place as I always use the default settings : C programs etc etc
Oh well I'll move it to another place for now, just in case and then delete.

Thanks anyway

--
Never argue with Stupid People. They just drag you down to their level and beat you with Experience.

Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.


Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability