navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Rodders465 Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Member 20th Sep, 2011 13:11
Ranking: 0
Posts: 12
User Since: 26th Jul, 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
When I startup Win 7 64bit PSI launches its dashboard on the screen as well as the icon in the taskbar. It never used to do this and it irritates to have to stop it each time. This question was also asked by Normfowler back in Jan 2009 and got no result. There must be some way to have it launch and run just in the background as it used to in XP. Any help appreciated.

throkr. RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Member 20th Sep, 2011 15:03
Score: 72
Posts: 85
User Since: 22nd Nov 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: BE
Last edited on 20th Sep, 2011 15:03
Hello,

I'm using PSI on the same OS as yours and never had the dashboard lauched "on its own" at startup ...
As it seems that something isn't working as it should with your actual installation, maybe it would be a good idea to uninstall & reinstall cleanly PSI and see how it works then. ;-)


--
Win 8.1.1 Pro x64

OSS Pro - MBAM Pro - SAS Pro - Secunia PSI (2.0.0.3003)
Mozilla Firefox - Cyberfox (x64) - SRWare Iron (x64)

- All current versions & updates -
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
K.Hussain RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Secunia Official 20th Sep, 2011 16:21
Score: 60
Posts: 59
User Since: 12th May 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Last edited on 20th Sep, 2011 16:23
Hi

I'm running Windows 7 64-bit and I have not experienced the mentioned case even once. Since it's not a function which can be enabled or disabled in the PSI this must be caused by something else.

Can it be that the PSI application (not tray) is in your startup folder?

--
Kind regards,

Kamran Hussain
Secunia PSI Support

Secunia PSI
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal
Rodders465 RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Member 20th Sep, 2011 21:59
Score: 0
Posts: 12
User Since: 26th Jul 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Cheers for that.Have uninstalled throughly using 'Search Everything' and Revo Uninstaller then downloaded anew.When I install and restart I get the same result as before i.e.Secunia PSI appears on screen.Not sure what to try next but thanks anyway.
Rodders
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Dedicated Contributor 20th Sep, 2011 22:18
Score: 1218
Posts: 971
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
Try using Autoruns to find Secunia entries.
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb...

I think there should be one entry for psi_tray.exe in the Startup folder and two services.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Rodders465 RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Member 20th Sep, 2011 22:34
Score: 0
Posts: 12
User Since: 26th Jul 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Thanks DD-have sysinternals on my computer but only recently installed it so haven't really tried much with it.Will give it a go now.
Thanks for suggestion--will report back but maybe tomorrow.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Rodders465 RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Member 20th Sep, 2011 22:56
Score: 0
Posts: 12
User Since: 26th Jul 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Managed that with Sysinternals-easier than I expected. I found one entry under Logon under Startup and that was for the tray and two under progs\x86\secunia of which one was psi\psia.exe and the other was psi\sua.exe.
Used the 'find' facility and that was all it came up with. Would be glad of your comments when you have time.
Thanks.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Dedicated Contributor 20th Sep, 2011 23:32
Score: 1218
Posts: 971
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
That's the same as I see. So it's not starting through anything there.

I can't think of anything else. Maybe Kamran can come up with something tomorrow.

Process Monitor would be the next thing.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Member 21st Sep, 2011 09:16
Hi,

Please investigate these 2 folders:

C:\users\%username%\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Wind ows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup
C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup

If either of them contain a "psi.exe", go ahead and delete it, then reboot and see if the issue is resolved.

Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Rodders465 RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Member 21st Sep, 2011 16:21
Score: 0
Posts: 12
User Since: 26th Jul 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Thanks again DD-have just tried Process Manager and I get a bit lost with it.There is a lot of info there but it would take a better man than me to interperate it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Dedicated Contributor 21st Sep, 2011 22:57
Score: 1218
Posts: 971
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
Have you noticed these two introductions to using Sysinternals Tools?
http://channel9.msdn.com/Events/TechEd/NorthAmeric...
http://channel9.msdn.com/Events/TechEd/NorthAmeric...

That gives you some idea on how to filter ProcMon output for the things you are interested in. If the PSI window is opening before you have time to start ProcMon, you would have to use boot logging, which is described in the first video. Some things have changed since 2010; ther's a brief mention of these in the second video.
If the PSI opening phenomenom happens each time a user logs on, not just on first boot, an easier way than using boot logging would be to start Procmon in one account, then use Switch users without logging off and log on as a different user. Then log off the second user, resume the first account and stop Procmon logging. You should have captured everything of the second account starting up.

I can't think of an explanation of why you have the PSI interface opening if there is nothing in the start up folders. Could it be another application you are using starting it up? A trial and error approach of disabling the other start up applications might show something.


--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Rodders465 RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Member 22nd Sep, 2011 00:13
Score: 0
Posts: 12
User Since: 26th Jul 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Thanks for the suggestions and your time. Cannot find any entry in either of those two places.The only one I can find for "psi.exe" is in c:\Program Files(x86)\secunia\ which I presume is the one that should be on my system. In the Startup file there was just one entry and that was for "secunia psi.tray" which again should probably be there. Going to try Process Monitor as DDMarshall suggests.Tried it earlier today but it takes a bit of following for a novice. Mr Marshall has sent me links to a couple of video's that may help me understand more. Will report back tomorrow. Cheers for now.



;
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Rodders465 RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Member 22nd Sep, 2011 00:17
Score: 0
Posts: 12
User Since: 26th Jul 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 22nd Sep, 2011 00:19
To-DDMarshall. Ta once again-going to watch those two video's and then have another go with PM in the way you describe.Will report back tomorrow.
Cheers.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Dedicated Contributor 22nd Sep, 2011 01:02
Score: 1218
Posts: 971
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
I've thought of something easier which might give an indication of what is going on.
When the PSI window has opened, start Process Explorer.
Click file and Show Details for All Processes.
Look for the entry for psi.exe. You should see the process that started it above it. Or double click it and look at the Image tab. The Parent field should show what started it.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+6
-0
Rodders465 RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Member 22nd Sep, 2011 16:34
Score: 0
Posts: 12
User Since: 26th Jul 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
For DDmarshall.
Logged on to watch your suggested video's and ,before I did,saw you had come up with another suggestion so tried that instead. Found the following using Process Explorer;
1) psi_tray.exe--parent is explorer.exe(1964)
2) psia.exe------parent is services.exe(624)
3) sua.exe-------parent is services.exe(624)
4) psi.exe--------parent is <Non-existent Process> (2820)
Regarding 4) I have never seen anything like that before and it happens to be the one you particularly asked about.Fingers crossed this maybe a help.
Thanks DD--I could explore further if it helps.
Rodders
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Dedicated Contributor 22nd Sep, 2011 21:07
Score: 1218
Posts: 971
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
So whatever opened the PSI window terminated pretty soon after. As you probably noticed, psi.exe has a parent of psi_tray.exe if you start it by double clicking the icon in the notification area and a parent of explorer.exe if you start it from the Start menu.
I'm inclined to think it must be a third party application as nothing shows up in Autoruns. Probably something like a utility for managing start up or a component in a security package.
Does this happen if you log off and log on again or only after boot?
Does it happen for all users?
If you have only one user account, can you create another account to see if it is reproduced.
Did this start as soon as you installed PSI?

Process Monitor will probably give us a steer on what it is but it produces a ton of data. If you can look at what else is running at start up and see if anything stands out , it may avoid having to go into it.

I've only got a couple of Vista laptops here, so I can't try to reproduce your problem - even if I had an idea what it might be.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Rodders465 RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Member 22nd Sep, 2011 23:10
Score: 0
Posts: 12
User Since: 26th Jul 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
To ddmarshall
It's a steep learning curve but very interesting.Your last reply has hit on a cure although I may have gone about it in an amateur way.Your suggestion about various system management progs conflicting lead me to look at a startup list using Startup Manager in Glary Utilities prog.
I found all the 4 entries there that I last reported to you so I stopped 3 of them just leaving psi_tray.exe running.I then restarted the computer and got just the tray icon running.It seemed to react ok,starting off red and then turning green.No second startup occured on the screen and Process Manager shows just one Secunia running. YO-great.
Don't know how permanent this setup will prove to be but will let you know in a few days.Many many thanks to you and others for all the time and guidance you have given me.
Rodders
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Rodders465 RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Member 22nd Sep, 2011 23:21
Score: 0
Posts: 12
User Since: 26th Jul 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
To Kamram,
Thanks for you help.While it wasn't obvious to me to start with you were right in you supposition.There were other entries in the startup--ddmarshall showed me how and where to look,me being a novice.Think we have stopped the problem occuring.Many thanks again.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Rodders465 RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Member 22nd Sep, 2011 23:25
Score: 0
Posts: 12
User Since: 26th Jul 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
To Emil,
Thanks EP--think we have got there as you will see from the above replies and you were right with your suggestion.Great to solve it (I hope) and great to have help from all you folks.
Rodders
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Dedicated Contributor 22nd Sep, 2011 23:29
Score: 1218
Posts: 971
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
Looks like you've found it.
It's only psi.exe which shouldn't run at start up. If you find that PSI isn't behaving quite right, try enabling the other two.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Rodders465 RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Member 22nd Sep, 2011 23:34
Score: 0
Posts: 12
User Since: 26th Jul 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
To ddmarshall,
Ta for that idea--will remember. Was a minor irritation but brill to solve.Sleep well.
Rodders
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jackiereynolds32 RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Member 23rd Sep, 2011 06:51
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 23rd Sep 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thanks for the useful inputs. I also encountered the same problem. I'm using it successfully now. Blessings to you all!! :)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Member 23rd Sep, 2011 08:45
Hi,

Great that you're all fixed up!

However, you should not disable psia.exe or sua.exe, that would prevent program detection and autoupdating from working. Only psi.exe will cause the user interface to load, so disabling this alone should be the safe bet.

Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
roofexpert RE: Upon startup of Win7 PSI opens window
Member 28th Sep, 2011 03:08
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 28th Sep 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I had the same problem and disabling Psi worked
awesome

--
http://www.Johnsonroofingorlando.com http://www.samedayroofrepair.com http://www.orlandoroofexpert.com
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+