Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Auto-Update / Firefox language can't be set to German

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
ronald63de Auto-Update / Firefox language can't be set to German
Member 1st Oct, 2011 22:55
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 24th Jun, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I try to set the language for the Auto-Update of Firefox to German, but German is not displayed in the drop-down selection, it stops with Gaelic. Anybody else seeing this issue too?

Post "RE: Auto-Update / Firefox language can't be set to German" has been selected as an answer.
mogs RE: Auto-Update / Firefox language can't be set to German
Expert Contributor 1st Oct, 2011 23:16
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
There is some recent discussion on the subject here :-
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/115...

which does'nt seem to have drawn to a conclusion as yet. But it may offer some insight....hope it helps.......regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ronald63de RE: Auto-Update / Firefox language can't be set to German
Member 1st Oct, 2011 23:27
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 24th Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Well, this seems to be a different issue, because in their cases no language selection si shown at all. In my case, the selection dropdown menu appears, but languages 'after' Gaelic are not shown.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
throkr. RE: Auto-Update / Firefox language can't be set to German
Member 2nd Oct, 2011 02:52
Score: 72
Posts: 85
User Since: 22nd Nov 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: BE
Last edited on 2nd Oct, 2011 08:32
Hello,
Just out of curiousity : which version of FF are you using ?
Because I'm running latest official version 7.0.1 and no AU is proposed by PSI .....

Edit : typo


--
Win 8.1.1 Pro x64

OSS Pro - MBAM Pro - SAS Pro - Secunia PSI (2.0.0.3003)
Mozilla Firefox - Cyberfox (x64) - SRWare Iron

- All current versions & updates -
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ronald63de RE: Auto-Update / Firefox language can't be set to German
Member 2nd Oct, 2011 10:03
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 24th Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
FF 6.01 (on a machine I am not often using) which is obviously end-of-life. I am not in a hurry with this update so I will wait for the solution of this issue. All other machines of the family have been updated manually, but I hope I can automate the FF updates too.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: Auto-Update / Firefox language can't be set to German
Dedicated Contributor 2nd Oct, 2011 11:09
Score: 1210
Posts: 961
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
I don't get offered the option of Auto Update for Firefox 7.0.1 either.

If you want Firefox to download and install updates automatically, you can set that option in Tools>Options>Advanced>Update. This will get you the update quicker than waiting for the PSI definitions to be updated.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ronald63de RE: Auto-Update / Firefox language can't be set to German
Member 2nd Oct, 2011 11:26
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 24th Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thank you for the idea.... will this work with the users having only limited privileges? And actually, from an admin point of view I like PSI because I can update the machines from a single point without having to start a lot of applications.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: Auto-Update / Firefox language can't be set to German
Dedicated Contributor 2nd Oct, 2011 14:46
Score: 1210
Posts: 961
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
I'm not sure. There seem to have been some changes recently but the doumentation still says this:

Note: You must be running Firefox as an administrator or as the user who originally installed Firefox to install Firefox updates.

I'd guess you would need the administrator password.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
throkr. RE: Auto-Update / Firefox language can't be set to German
Member 2nd Oct, 2011 15:15
Score: 72
Posts: 85
User Since: 22nd Nov 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: BE
on 2nd Oct, 2011 11:26, ronald63de wrote:
...... from an admin point of view I like PSI because I can update the machines from a single point without having to start a lot of applications.


If you update FF in the administrative account of a computer, all the standard users accounts will be updated at the same time ...



--
Win 8.1.1 Pro x64

OSS Pro - MBAM Pro - SAS Pro - Secunia PSI (2.0.0.3003)
Mozilla Firefox - Cyberfox (x64) - SRWare Iron

- All current versions & updates -
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ronald63de RE: Auto-Update / Firefox language can't be set to German
Member 2nd Oct, 2011 15:47
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 24th Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Yes, obviously... but still this is FF then, and Thunderbird might behave the same, and other programs which are not covered by PSI. So, I think the question here is not to find workarounds, the question here is why does PSI behave like that and how to fix it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Auto-Update / Firefox language can't be set to German
Expert Contributor 2nd Oct, 2011 19:43
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,333
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello All ,

To add to my post in the thread linked by Mogs , I have updated to the latest version 7.0 and 7.0.1(bug fix for those with an "Add-on" display problem) . Please be aware that the 6.0.x platform is "Insecure" as well as "EOL" as per :-

http://www.mozilla.org/security/known-vulnerabilit...

I will ask Secunia suport to look the two threads when they are back at work on the PSI (tomorrow (CET)) .

Take care

Anthony





--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Auto-Update / Firefox language can't be set to German
Member 3rd Oct, 2011 09:44
Hi,

We've fixed the missing language update for German, so auto-updating to the German version of Firefox 7.0.1 is now possible.

Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer