Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: scan interval

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
cavehomme scan interval
Member 2nd Oct, 2011 22:13
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 16th Sep, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Is there a way to change from the default weekly scan to a daily one, or other interval?

Maurice Joyce RE: scan interval
Handling Contributor 2nd Oct, 2011 23:28
Score: 11785
Posts: 9,035
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
No - By default PSI will "set the clock" to run 7 days after any type of scan carried out.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
cavehomme2 RE: scan interval
Member 3rd Oct, 2011 11:24
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 2nd Oct 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
I have noticed that in Win 7 PSI does not run in limited rights account, only admin account. Is this a normal behaviour? If so, it is not so good for security since users should not be surfing on an admin account, only limited.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: scan interval
Dedicated Contributor 3rd Oct, 2011 13:34
Score: 1211
Posts: 965
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
Last edited on 3rd Oct, 2011 13:42
You have to be running elevated to use the user interface.

If you are logged on as a standard user and you have set PSI to start at boot and auto-update, two services will be running under the System account. These two services will carry out the monitoring, scheduled scanning and updating. The tray icon process runs in the standard user account. When you double click it, you will be prompted for an administrator password and the user interface will run in the administrator account.
There's a problem here if you open a browser window from the user interface as it will inherit the administrator account. Therefore, it is a good idea, if you do this, to only use it for the specific purpose for which you opened it and then close it. Do not use it to continue browsing.



--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
cavehomme2 RE: scan interval
Member 3rd Oct, 2011 13:48
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 2nd Oct 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
on 3rd Oct, 2011 13:34, ddmarshall wrote:
You have to be running elevated to use the user interface.

If you are logged on as a standard user and you have set PSI to start at boot and auto-update, two services will be running under the System account. These two services will carry out the monitoring, scheduled scanning and updating. The tray icon process runs in the standard user account. When you double click it, you will be prompted for an administrator password and the user interface will run in the administrator account.
There's a problem here if you open a browser window from the user interface as it will inherit the administrator account. Therefore, it is a good idea, if you do this, to only use it for the specific purpose for which you opened it and then close it. Do not use it to continue browsing.


That is very helpful, thanks.

What is the "enable secure browsing" function exactly please?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: scan interval
Dedicated Contributor 3rd Oct, 2011 14:32
Score: 1211
Posts: 965
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
If you enable this feature, you get a report of known vulnerabilities for which no patches are available for the browsers and add-ons you have installed. The object of this is to allow you to make a decision about which browser you use. For example, if a vulnerability in Internet Explorer is reported, you can decide to switch to Firefox until Microsoft issue a fix.
This feature is now hidden by default because, previously, users where confused by the fact that there are no patches for the vulnerabilities reported, unlike the normal scan results from PSI.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer