Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
barebear My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Member 7th Oct, 2011 10:01
Ranking: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 25th Jan, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I ran Secunia PSI 2.0 .

After installing the needed patches it showed I had a 100% score.

I scrolled down the program list and to my shock found that my OS was being shown as XP Home when it actually is XP Pro SP3 .

What would cause this ?

This user no longer exists RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Member 7th Oct, 2011 10:12
Hi,

Please go to Start -> Run, type "regedit" and press enter.

Then, navigate to this directory: Software\\Microsoft\\Windows NT\\CurrentVersion

I need the contents of these keys to determine which OS you have installed:
ProductName, CSDVersion, CurrentBuildNumber, BuildLab, CurrentType, CurrentVersion, SoftwareType, SubVersionNumber, SourcePath

If you post these keys, or better yet (if concerned about privacy) email them to me at epetersen@secunia.com, I can take a look at what may be causing the misdetection.

Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Expert Contributor 7th Oct, 2011 11:18
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,332
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 7th Oct, 2011 11:21
Hi Emil ,

It may be relevant that BEFORE I ran a full scan today , as I have stated in another thread , my XP Home Edition WAS being detected (for some weeks) as the Professional version . After today's scan I see that I am once again NOW displaying my OS correctly as Home Edition :))

EDIT : There is no mention of SP3 but is shown as "up to date" .

The reason for the scan was to check my Flash version 11.x display which now shows one entry (as NPAPI) and with THREE (correctly) detected instances :ie: NPAI , ActiveX and the "embedded" AIR installation . NO (AU) facility is available .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
barebear RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Member 7th Oct, 2011 19:12
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 25th Jan 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 7th Oct, 2011 19:13
For Emil Peterson:

Hi and thanks for replying.

In which of the 5 H-key folders am I Looking for what you requested ?

It's not under Local Machine ( at least not that I can find )

Regards, barebear
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Expert Contributor 7th Oct, 2011 21:28
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,332
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 7th Oct, 2011 21:36
Hello barebear ,

Emil and support do not work on the PSI at weekends and so will not be back here before Monday 10th CET .

The data Emil requires is in the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE directory , just follow the path ; the data is displayed in alphabetical order .

EDIT: when you click on Windows NT or the [+] and it expands you need to (double) click the "Current Version" link to blue highlight it in the lhs pane to display the data in the rhs pane . Does this not work or can you not follow all the path ??

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

Maurice Joyce

RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
[+]
This reply has been deleted

Maurice Joyce

RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
[+]
This reply has been deleted
barebear RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Member 7th Oct, 2011 22:35
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 25th Jan 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 7th Oct, 2011 22:42
For Anthony Wells:

None of those headings that Emil wants show when I do that -- I had already done exactly that before I made my previous reply to Emil

This is where I went

H-Key Local Machine\Software\\Microsoft\\Windows NT\\CurrentVersion


"
In which of the 5 H-key folders am I Looking for what you requested ?

It's not under Local Machine ( at least not that I can find )

Regards, barebear "
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

NANCY_COLLINS

RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
[+]
This reply has been deleted
This user no longer exists RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Member 11th Oct, 2011 08:49
Hi,

Go to "HKEY_LOCAL_SYSTEM\\Software\\Microsoft\\Windows NT\\CurrentVersion"

Not any of the subfolders. This folder itself contains a list of values (It will be shown in the right side of regedit once the folder is selected).

From this list, I need you to post or email (In the correct order) the values of these keys:
ProductName, CSDVersion, CurrentBuildNumber, BuildLab, CurrentType, CurrentVersion, SoftwareType, SubVersionNumber, SourcePath

Once I receive this from you, we can move forward.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
barebear RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Member 11th Oct, 2011 19:59
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 25th Jan 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Emil,

My HKEYS are:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT

HKEY_CURRENT _USER

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE

HKEY_USERS

HKEY_CURRENT_CONFIG



I have nothing that says HKEY_LOCAL_SYSTEM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Handling Contributor 11th Oct, 2011 21:43
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,000
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
The information required is stored in:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE>Software - then navigate down to Microsoft then to Windows NT - now click the arrow to the left of Windows NT - now click on CurrentVersion which will highlight in blue.

Look in the RIGHT hand pane & extract the data requested by the Secunia Official.



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
nickpayne RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Member 11th Oct, 2011 22:41
Score: 4
Posts: 12
User Since: 14th May 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I'm seeing a somewhat similar problem - the PC is running WinXP Pro SP3, and when I run Windows Update, it tells me that there are no updates to install, but when I run PSI and do a scan, it reports that "Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" is insecure and needs patches KB2592799 and KB2564958. The contents of the keys in HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion are as follows.

"ProductName"="Microsoft Windows XP"
"CSDVersion"="Service Pack 3"
"CurrentBuildNumber"="2600"
"BuildLab"="2600.xpsp.080413-2111"
"CurrentVersion"="5.1"
"CurrentType"="Multiprocessor Free"
"SoftwareType"="SYSTEM"
"SubVersionNumber"=""
"SourcePath"="D:\\I386"

Nick Payne
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Handling Contributor 11th Oct, 2011 23:03
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,000
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Nick,
I do not think your problem is the same.

Have U completed a FULL rescan of PSI after installing all the hotfixes from Windows Update?

If U have and it still claims there are missing hotfixes install them from here:

http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?...

and here:

http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?...

Once installed reboot & then complete a full PSI scan.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Anthony Wells RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Expert Contributor 11th Oct, 2011 23:05
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,332
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 11th Oct, 2011 23:09
for Nick Payne ,

The two KB's you mention are part of M$ patch Tuesday of 11/10/2011 and both relate to all supported versions of XP .

If you have updated from M$updates then you will need to reboot and run a full system manual scan with the PSI for the updates to register .

In order for Emil to deal with the detection rules for your XP Pro you should follow his instructions and email the data (in the order requested) to him at support@secunia.com .

Hope that is clear enough .

Anthony

EDIT :- Post croossed with that of Maurice Joyce but the message remains the same/similar .

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
barebear RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Member 12th Oct, 2011 00:34
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 25th Jan 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 12th Oct, 2011 00:35
For Maurice Joyce:





I've written before that I've followed these instructions exactly and none of the mentioned items are on the right pane when Current Version is expanded
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Dedicated Contributor 12th Oct, 2011 01:25
Score: 1210
Posts: 961
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
There may be a misunderstanding of terminology here but you are not supposed to expand Current version. Click on the Current version itself not the triangle to the left of it.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Handling Contributor 12th Oct, 2011 01:57
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,000
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 12th Oct, 2011 01:58
There is no misunderstanding if he reads the advice correctly from my post & that of Anthony Wells & the Secunia Official.

As previously stated the information required is stored in:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE>Software - then navigate down to Microsoft then to Windows NT - now click the arrow to the left of Windows NT - now click on CurrentVersion which will highlight in blue.

Look in the RIGHT hand pane & extract the data requested by the Secunia Official.


If U still cannot find it open Regedit. At the top U will see FILE - EDIT - VIEW - FAVOURITES - HELP

Click on EDIT

Now Click FIND

In the FIND BOX type BuildLabEx (make sure U type in the box exactly as shown in bold).

U will see other boxes there with ticks (check marks) inserted by default as follows:
Key
Value
Data

This one should not have a tick (check mark)

Match Whole String Only

Once U have established the wording in the search box is correct & the ticks (check marks) are correct hit the RETURN key.

That search will give U all the details that U claim U cannot find - look in the right hand page.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
ddmarshall RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Dedicated Contributor 12th Oct, 2011 02:06
Score: 1210
Posts: 961
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
Sorry to butt in Maurice. I assumed you'd finished for the night.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Handling Contributor 12th Oct, 2011 02:16
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,000
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
No problem. See how he gets on with the search rather than trying to navigate the registry.



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
nickpayne RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Member 12th Oct, 2011 04:11
Score: 4
Posts: 12
User Since: 14th May 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
No, those two patches are not for XP Pro
on 11th Oct, 2011 23:05, Anthony Wells wrote:
for Nick Payne ,

The two KB's you mention are part of M$ patch Tuesday of 11/10/2011 and both relate to all supported versions of XP .

If you have updated from M$updates then you will need to reboot and run a full system manual scan with the PSI for the updates to register.


I had done that this morning (ran Windows Update to get the latest updates installed), and after a reboot, when I ran Windows Update again it found no updates to install, but after a scan PSI still reported these two patches as needed. I downloaded and installed them manually, and a PSI scan then reports no patching needed.

However, PSI is still reporting the OS as being XP Home, when it is in fact XP Pro.

Nick
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
barebear RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Member 12th Oct, 2011 04:38
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 25th Jan 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 12th Oct, 2011 04:41
For Emil, Anthony Wells, ddmarshall etc

Sorry guys,

I was reading it as to expand Current Version not to just click on it.

Here's the info:

Product Name = Microsoft Windows XP

CSD version = Service Pack 3

Current Build Number = 2600

BuildLab = 2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.101209-1647

Current Type = Multiprocessor Free

Current Version = 5.1

Software Type = System

SubVersion Number = There is no data in the Value Data box

Source Path = E:\I386
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Member 12th Oct, 2011 07:39
Hi,

Sorry to say, but if you look at the values of the keys you have posted, there is nothing to identify your operating system as being XP Pro. The keys only indicate XP, not which variant.

At the time there is nothing I can do to remedy this - We are dependant on the values of these keys in order to properly determine which operating system you are running.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
nickpayne RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Member 12th Oct, 2011 09:13
Score: 4
Posts: 12
User Since: 14th May 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
You can determine whether OS is Home or Pro (for XP, Vista, or 7) with the GetVersionEx API function. See http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/de...(v=vs.85).aspx,

Nick
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
This user no longer exists RE: My Windows OS is XP Pro SP3 not XP Home
Member 13th Oct, 2011 15:37
Last edited on 13th Oct, 2011 15:37 Hi,

Thank you for your suggestion.

We are discussing how to improve our OS detection internally, and your suggestion is part of the consideration.

Please don't hesitate to let us know if you have further suggestions for improving our products and services.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability