navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: "Secure Browsing" page broken in PSI 2.0.0.4002?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
steffens "Secure Browsing" page broken in PSI 2.0.0.4002?
Member 14th Oct, 2011 01:22
Ranking: 49
Posts: 64
User Since: 25th Jul, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Recently I noticed that PSI was upgraded from 2.0.0.3003 to PSI 2.0.0.4002. Since I was patching like crazy this week anyways, I decided to download 4002 and give it a try, even tho I don't need the CSI integration.

All appeared to be going swimmingly... until I checked the "Secure Browsing" page.

I have two browsers installed, IE 8 and Firefox 3.6.23. On the "Secure Browsing" page in PSI 3003, it showed IE as loading 10 or 12 plugins and FF loading 6 or 8. I forget the exact numbers, but it's not important. What *is* important is that the "Secure Browsing" page in PSI 4002 now shows IE and FF as each loading *only 2* plugins. Furthermore, the *only* plugin listed for either browser is Windows Media Player 11, even tho the "Scan Results" page in PSI 4002 still lists all the other plugins that are installed.

In other words, the "Scan Results" page in PSI 4002 appears to be the same as in PSI 3003, BUT the "Secure Browsing" page in PSI 4002 is VERY DIFFERENT than in PSI 3003.

I tried various combinations of: rebooting, restarting PSI 4002, disabling/re-enabling the "Secure Browsing" page, and rescanning my disk. No Joy.

So it appears that the "Secure Browsing" page may be broken in PSI 2.0.0.4002.

-- EstherD

P.S. In case it matters... Win XP Pro SP3.

P.P.S. While the PSI 4002 interface is loading, the word "undefined" appears briefly after "Loading interface" and before "Fetching Data". Don't remember seeing that in PSI 3003.

Post "RE: "Secure Browsing" page broken in PSI 2.0.0.4002?" has been selected as an answer.
mogs RE: "Secure Browsing" page broken in PSI 2.0.0.4002?
Expert Contributor 14th Oct, 2011 07:52
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,268
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
Maurice Joyce gave a warning re the 4002 version psi here :-
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/115...
Fourth post in the thread......his findings having been reported.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: "Secure Browsing" page broken in PSI 2.0.0.4002?
Handling Contributor 14th Oct, 2011 08:54
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I have reported numerous problems with the download page including your observation.

Secunia are investigating.

Revert to V 2.0.0.3003 & all will be in order.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
steffens RE: "Secure Browsing" page broken in PSI 2.0.0.4002?
Member 14th Oct, 2011 23:32
Score: 49
Posts: 64
User Since: 25th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thanks. Knew that was going to be the answer; however, I thought I ought to report my observations here first in case these issues hadn't (yet) been seen by anyone else.

Maurice: Did look at the forum briefly before installing 4002. Missed your original posting, since it was in a thread that I didn't read because it didn't seem relevant. Thanks for posting it in this thread as well. Hopefully, it will now get more visibility, both within Secunia, and by plain vanilla users like me.

on 14th Oct, 2011 08:54, Maurice Joyce wrote:
Revert to V 2.0.0.3003 & all will be in order.


Done, and indeed everything is back as it was. (That's why whenever I do an upgrade, I always try to keep a copy of the installer for the previous version handy "just in case". ;)

FWIW, after uninstalling 4002 and reinstalling 3003, *all* the missing plugins magically reappeared on the "Secure Browsing" page, without my having to do anything. So those data must have been there in the scan results all along, but 4002 just couldn't see them.

Definitely looks like a bug to me!
-- EstherD
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+