Forum Thread: No Firefox 8.0 in Scan Results

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
Matey No Firefox 8.0 in Scan Results
Member 8th Nov, 2011 15:16
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 24th Dec, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
Hi,
I've just installed the final version of Firefox 8.0.
The programm, however, isn't shown anymore in the Scan Results.
What happened?
Matey

Post "RE: No Firefox 8.0 in Scan Results" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: No Firefox 8.0 in Scan Results
Handling Contributor 8th Nov, 2011 15:24
Score: 12086
Posts: 9,374
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Where did U get the download from?

According to this site Firefox 8 is in BETA

http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/channel/

PSI does not register any programmes in BETA.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1607 Build 14393.105
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: No Firefox 8.0 in Scan Results
Member 8th Nov, 2011 15:58
Score:
Posts: 6,279
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK


--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
ddmarshall RE: No Firefox 8.0 in Scan Results
Dedicated Contributor 8th Nov, 2011 16:05
Score: 1250
Posts: 992
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
It's due today but it's not offered by 'Check for Updates' as of 5 minutes ago.
In any case Secunia will probably need to see it before it is added to the rules.

Why do other companies (I'm looking at you too, Adobe) have to release updates on Microsoft patch Tuesdays?

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Matey RE: No Firefox 8.0 in Scan Results
Member 8th Nov, 2011 17:07
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 24th Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
Hi everyone,
thanks for your answers.
I downloaded the "FINAL" version from www.chip.de yesterday and once more today.
Maybe I was a little bit too fast.
I'll better wait and see what's gonna happen the next days.
Matey
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: No Firefox 8.0 in Scan Results
Expert Contributor 8th Nov, 2011 21:32
Score: 2500
Posts: 3,386
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 8th Nov, 2011 21:36
Hi ,

Ff 8.0 is now released and offered to all users and includes security updates ; as per :-

http://www.mozilla.org/security/known-vulnerabilit...

It is not yet detectected and displayed by the PSI ; no doubt support will update their rules when they are back at work tomorrow (CET) .

Take care

anthony



--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
mtodorov RE: No Firefox 8.0 in Scan Results
Member 8th Nov, 2011 22:04
Score: 17
Posts: 231
User Since: 20th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: HR
Last edited on 8th Nov, 2011 22:04
Anthony,

Also, 3.6.x branch has 3.6.24 security update.

From Release notes:

http://www.mozilla.org/security/known-vulnerabilit...
MFSA 2011-49 Memory corruption while profiling using Firebug
MFSA 2011-47 Potential XSS against sites using Shift-JIS
MFSA 2011-46 loadSubScript unwraps XPCNativeWrapper scope parameter (1.9.2 branch)

(We still cling to 3.6.x branch because it has incremental download and page redraw that is broken in higher versions. Folks on Mozilla forums simply did not react to question, and it is essential to our CGI app.)



--
"If a task is worth doing, it is worth doing right. If it is not worth doing well, it is not worth doing." -- Dr. Jack Hyles
<><
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: No Firefox 8.0 in Scan Results
Expert Contributor 8th Nov, 2011 22:16
Score: 2500
Posts: 3,386
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi mt ,

Nothing wrong with 3.6.x if you are on XP (like me) , although 8.0 is still a big step up in speed and security ; even so , you might have to sacrifice a much loved add-on or two :((

Take care

Anthony




--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: No Firefox 8.0 in Scan Results
Contributor 8th Nov, 2011 22:55
Score: 308
Posts: 739
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi all

Not much to add except that I too
am 'hanging on' to Ff v3.6.xx because some of
my add-ons were not compatible with one
of the later versions-don't remember
which one-5 or 6 I think. I do intend to give
8.0 'a ride' in a week or two to see if maybe
the add-ons are more compatible with 8.0.
If not, then back to 3.6.24.
Not really crazy about the 'silent update'
that Mozilla is implementing in Ff & T'bird
but I guess that's better than the 'silent treatment'.

Hope all is well Anthony.

Regards, wr


--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 31.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mtodorov RE: No Firefox 8.0 in Scan Results
Member 9th Nov, 2011 06:35
Score: 17
Posts: 231
User Since: 20th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: HR
on 8th Nov, 2011 22:16, Anthony Wells wrote:
Hi mt ,

Nothing wrong with 3.6.x if you are on XP (like me) , although 8.0 is still a big step up in speed and security ; even so , you might have to sacrifice a much loved add-on or two :((

Take care

Anthony


I had this nightmare with add-ons which install as particular user and then users never update them, and they "hang" as vulnerabilities. I would just have to know passwords of each user in the lab, or I did a "dirty cleanup" removing files from C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\<profilename>.

If there is central management and update tool for add-ons, I would greatly appreciate it.

Stay well
mt


--
"If a task is worth doing, it is worth doing right. If it is not worth doing well, it is not worth doing." -- Dr. Jack Hyles
<><
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
M.Rehman RE: No Firefox 8.0 in Scan Results
Secunia Official 9th Nov, 2011 08:41
Score: 25
Posts: 41
User Since: 12th May 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Hi.

The Mozilla FireFox 8.x has been added to our database, and will now be detected after a full rescan of the system.

--
Kind regards,

Munib Rehman
Secunia Support

Secunia PSI
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal
Matey RE: No Firefox 8.0 in Scan Results
Member 9th Nov, 2011 10:28
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 24th Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
Thanks M. Rehman,
I just found out that Mozilla Firefox 8.0 is shown again in the Scan Results.
Matey
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.