navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Adobe Shockwave Player 11.6.3.633 Install Doesn't End

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
CSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Starscream Adobe Shockwave Player 11.6.3.633 Install Doesn't End
Member 10th Nov, 2011 02:02
Ranking: 1
Posts: 9
User Since: 10th Nov, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Hi,

I created the new Adobe Shockwave Player 11.6.3.633 using CSI 5.0, which then updated my WSUS/SCCM server. I deployed the new Shockwave Player to my test XP PCs but I noticed that the installation ran for over 11 minutes. When I bring up Task Manager, I see the Shockwave installer process sit idle at 0%. After 11 minutes, I ended up ending the Shockwave installer process, which then triggers SCCM to display Pending Verification followed by Installed. This would seem to indicate the installer completed, but did not tell installer to terminate at the end, which left SCCM to display the installation progress window running indefinitely. (Maybe there was a hidden pop-up window that was waiting for someone to acknowledge?)

Could you please check and see if CSI is packaging the new Shockwave Player version correctly? When I previously deployed Shockwave Player 11.6.1.629, it appeared to run and terminate successfully. Seems the new version may not be.

Thanks!

mtodorov RE: Adobe Shockwave Player 11.6.3.633 Install Doesn't End
Member 10th Nov, 2011 06:47
Score: 12
Posts: 169
User Since: 20th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: HR
Last edited on 10th Nov, 2011 06:55
Hi, @Starscream,

With Schockwave player one must beware of piggyback Norton security scan popup, which requires user intervention. I am not sure how this behaves is unattended installation, but it can be one thing to hang indefinitely ...

Stay well
mt


--
"If a task is worth doing, it is worth doing right. If it is not worth doing well, it is not worth doing." -- Dr. Jack Hyles
<><
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mtodorov RE: Adobe Shockwave Player 11.6.3.633 Install Doesn't End
Member 10th Nov, 2011 07:07
Score: 12
Posts: 169
User Since: 20th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: HR
Last edited on 10th Nov, 2011 08:15
P.S.

@Starscream, are you sure you used the .msi silent installer for Shockwave?

Shockwave_Installer_Slim.exe /S (silent) blocks on the question of Norton scanner that pops out of nowhere in the way I described above.

Stay well
mt


--
"If a task is worth doing, it is worth doing right. If it is not worth doing well, it is not worth doing." -- Dr. Jack Hyles
<><
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Starscream RE: Adobe Shockwave Player 11.6.3.633 Install Doesn't End
Member 10th Nov, 2011 08:29
Score: 1
Posts: 9
User Since: 10th Nov 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
I don't have Norton products in our corporate environment. When I create the Shockwave package in CSI, I just follow through with the default settings. I don't normally specify the switches I use as my understanding is that CSI is supposed to create the silent install package automatically.

When I check the Event Viewer logs, I can see the MSIInstaller entry indicating something installed successfully. (Doesn't say Shockwave, but looks like it could be related). If I terminate the installer via Task Manager, SCCM reports the install completed successfully.

Kinda hoping Secunia may be able to check and see if their packaging mechanism for the new Shockwave is correct.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jlbalvanz RE: Adobe Shockwave Player 11.6.3.633 Install Doesn't End
Member 14th Nov, 2011 18:45
Score: 3
Posts: 16
User Since: 19th May 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
We also use the Secunia default options, and we are also seeing hanging on the Shockwave install. After some experimentation, it appears that the default options Secunia is providing results in the EXE wanting to install the Google Toolbar. The "/S" option appears to have no effect.

The good news is that the Shockwave Player installation appears to finish before the Google Toolbar install window appears (or it "hangs" waiting for the window to not appear, since the install is running in the background). I'm going to try restarting without letting it finish and see what happens.

It still shouldn't do this, though.

--
Jeff Balvanz -- Iowa State University Information Technology Services
Ames, IA, USA
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Starscream RE: Adobe Shockwave Player 11.6.3.633 Install Doesn't End
Member 14th Nov, 2011 19:31
Score: 1
Posts: 9
User Since: 10th Nov 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
That's definitely not good if it is installing or attempting to install Google Toolbar. I've opened a support case and hopefully we can determine what is causing the problem.

I don't think the previous version caused any issues for us.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mtodorov RE: Adobe Shockwave Player 11.6.3.633 Install Doesn't End
Member 15th Nov, 2011 15:02
Score: 12
Posts: 169
User Since: 20th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: HR
on 14th Nov, 2011 19:31, Starscream wrote:
That's definitely not good if it is installing or attempting to install Google Toolbar. I've opened a support case and hopefully we can determine what is causing the problem.

I don't think the previous version caused any issues for us.


That's a good step forward. Please keep us informed here.

Stay well,
mt


--
"If a task is worth doing, it is worth doing right. If it is not worth doing well, it is not worth doing." -- Dr. Jack Hyles
<><
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Starscream RE: Adobe Shockwave Player 11.6.3.633 Install Doesn't End
Member 16th Nov, 2011 19:13
Score: 1
Posts: 9
User Since: 10th Nov 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
I received a reply from Secunia. Basically the package does not run silently and have since been changed/flagged as not capable of running silently. When I created the package on the Shockwave release date, it was flagged as capable of being created to run silently, but after further testing, Secunia determined it could not run silently and have changed the flag to indicate that it isn't capable anymore. Now when I change the view of CSI to show all packages that can/cannot be created silently, Shockwave 11.6.3.633 shows up in grey instead of blue to indicate this change.

Don't you just "love" Adobe and their inclusion of crap we don't want/need in the update packages? -_-
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+