navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Auto-Updates

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
mmax2 Auto-Updates
Member 26th Nov, 2011 20:58
Ranking: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 18th Nov, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
What happen to this feature I don't see Firefox supporting this anymore or Adobe Flash. I remember that they use to why do they not anymore support Auto-updates ?

mogs RE: Auto-Updates
Expert Contributor 26th Nov, 2011 22:42
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,268
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@mmax2

Have you got "Enable automatic program updates" checked in Configure/Settings in psi ?
A forum member who uses both progs may be able to offer more help.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Auto-Updates
Expert Contributor 27th Nov, 2011 09:48
Score: 2463
Posts: 3,348
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi ,

Some "auto-updte" facility/options have been removed from the PSI for some time now :eg: Mozilla Firefox .

I currently only have the facility for Adobe AIR and Flash Player but not for Shockwave Player : for one Google item -Picasa and all varieties of Java under Oracle or Sun listings .

If you have "Auto-Updating" enabled and you think a programme should be displaying the facility , double click the programme entry on the scan results page and (in the splash window) see if the individual programme is enabled or not . Try your Adobe Flash Player , it can be individually controlled .

Secunia have never responded as to why certain programmes have had the A-U facilty removed but it may be due to local language problems or not finding suitable installer files from the vendor website . A-U often seems to be difficult to complete for some users and may not always be the Godsend that the inexperienced user might have hoped for ; A-U is still very much work in progress .

Hope that helps .

Anthony





--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+