Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Unable to scan - Scan Aborted

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
gmccarthy Unable to scan - Scan Aborted
Member 13th Dec, 2011 09:58
Ranking: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 10th May, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Just installed the latest version of PSI on Win7 SP1 - When I run a scan I get scan aborted.



[12/13 10:46:36.959] Unknown name in invoke:periodic
[12/13 10:46:37.468] Checking in with server (psi.secunia.com)
[12/13 10:46:37.468] Checkin reason : appmon
[12/13 10:46:37.469] Connecting to psi.secunia.com:443
[12/13 10:46:37.469] GET /psi_api/2004/?type=agent_check&agent_version=2.0. 0.4003&tz=-7200&fm=0x80000000&uid=KEZL76W7Zd7d2678 dec093b25ff5c8b1xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx&u i=agent&langroup=ZA&host=PC10046
[12/13 10:46:37.470] Request timeouts : 60000ms, 30000ms, 30000ms
[12/13 10:46:39.373] Error in HttpRequest: status=499, statusText='A connection with the server could not be established
',winCode=12029

I've tried all the tips under various other threads and active scripting is enabled.

i've also run wireshark and don't even see the connection attempt to psi.secunia.com

Any ideas?

Maurice Joyce RE: Unable to scan - Scan Aborted
Handling Contributor 13th Dec, 2011 10:39
Score: 11580
Posts: 8,893
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Various scenario's appear to cause this error message from your log:

[12/13 10:46:39.373] Error in HttpRequest: status=499, statusText='A connection with the server could not be established ',winCode=12029

A bit of research here may help if U have already tried the FAQ possible solutions without success.

http://www.bing.com/search?q=%27A+connection+with+...


--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
gmccarthy RE: Unable to scan - Scan Aborted
Member 14th Dec, 2011 08:43
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 10th May 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Maurice,

I've already tried those links - it didn't help. Still having the same problem. I've tried reinstalling as well - I dont have the firewall enabled so it can't be that.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Unable to scan - Scan Aborted
Handling Contributor 14th Dec, 2011 10:05
Score: 11580
Posts: 8,893
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Open PSI>Dashboard>Configuration>Settings>click the Drives tab>are any drives visible with a tick (check mark) in a box to the left of C?

If not that is why it aborts - try reverting back to version 1.5.0.2 using this link
http://secunia.com/PSI1Setup.exe

Does that allow a scan?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
gmccarthy RE: Unable to scan - Scan Aborted
Member 14th Dec, 2011 10:25
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 10th May 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

There were no drives listed.

Going back to the old version worked.

Thanks.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Unable to scan - Scan Aborted
Handling Contributor 14th Dec, 2011 10:36
Score: 11580
Posts: 8,893
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 14th Dec, 2011 11:23
I have been working on & off on this issue on my XP SP3 test PC for months.

So far I have not found a clear cut solution to recommend to users wanting to upgrade to version 2.0.0.4003. Version 1.5.0.2 is currently still deployed on my test PC & works flawlessly.

I will lock this thread for U in a few hours time unless U post back asking for it to be left open.

This will protect your mail box from possible update emails from Forum "tag on" posts & spammers.

You can of course lock your own threads yourself. Just click the ACCEPT button in the post of the helper who offered U the best solution/advice to solve your problem.

Secunia Support can always reopen threads by applying by email to: support@secunia.com

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gmccarthy RE: Unable to scan - Scan Aborted
Member 14th Dec, 2011 12:51
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 10th May 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Do you know if this is a bug in the latest version? Is a fix being worked on?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Unable to scan - Scan Aborted
Handling Contributor 14th Dec, 2011 15:45
Score: 11580
Posts: 8,893
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I hope I did not indicate it was a Secunia bug. I do not think it is. I am assuming the error was self inflicted by me.

I test all sorts of 3rd party crap ware/Registry Cleaners (Corrupters) etc. As far as I am concerned it is one of them that has created this issue - trouble is I have not yet found the "corrupter."


--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Unable to scan - Scan Aborted
Expert Contributor 14th Dec, 2011 17:55
Score: 2418
Posts: 3,311
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi ,

Having tracked this issue at the same time as Maurice Joyce , one cosistent things seems to be down to no drives being displayed in the PSI settings ; even if some posters mention other computers and their systems (excluding XP) have been working correctly alongside , also without the drives populating .

It doies not seem to be a "bug" as such but maybe a compatability problem ; as such , it would be interesting to know which cleaners/optimisers , if any , have been used and any specific details therefrom .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gmccarthy RE: Unable to scan - Scan Aborted
Member 15th Dec, 2011 09:44
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 10th May 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Its a very weird problem - its a new Win7 32 bit installation. i have a few standard apps installed - Office, FF, IE, Chrome, Lastpass. Would love to know which app is causing it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability