Forum Thread: PSI window will not load in Win XP SP3

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
princealexi PSI window will not load in Win XP SP3
Member 13th Dec, 2011 19:32
Ranking: 1
Posts: 2
User Since: 13th Dec, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I have just installed PSI on my computer and it has scanned my computer with a score of 87% (I use it on several computers), but when I go to open the program I get a white container window for nearly a second, and then it closes.

The computer has Sophos protection installed and is Win XP SP3.


Post "RE: PSI window will not load in Win XP SP3" has been selected as an answer.
mogs RE: PSI window will not load in Win XP SP3
Expert Contributor 13th Dec, 2011 20:04
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,269
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@princealexi

It's probably worth checking thro' the configurations/settings in the FAQ's here :-
http://secunia.com/products/consumer/psi/faq/#s3

Please note those further down thro' the text which particularly apply to XP.

Hope it helps......regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
princealexi RE: PSI window will not load in Win XP SP3
Member 13th Dec, 2011 20:13
Score: 1
Posts: 2
User Since: 13th Dec 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thanks, the advanced text services setting was the issue.. Strange...

If that did not resolve the problem either, and you are using Windows XP, try these steps:

1) Go to where you installed the PSI (Probably C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI, or C:\Program Files (x86) for 64-bit systems), right-click PSI.exe, click Properties, go to the Compatibility tab, and set a check at 'Turn off advanced text services for this program'


Thanks again for your help!
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
mogs RE: PSI window will not load in Win XP SP3
Expert Contributor 13th Dec, 2011 20:55
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,269
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@princealexi

Glad you found something that worked for you

If you wish, you can close the thread by pressing Accept....that will prevent tag-on posts and reminder e mails........regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: PSI window will not load in Win XP SP3
Handling Contributor 18th Dec, 2011 13:46
Score: 11922
Posts: 9,136
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Original problem is resolved.

Thread closed at: 12:46 18/12/2011


If required, this thread can be reopened for the originator by contacting Secunia Support at: support@secunia.com


--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.