Forum Thread: MBSA ( Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer)

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as resolved.
taffy078 MBSA ( Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer)
Contributor 13th Jan, 2012 22:52
Ranking: 408
Posts: 1,463
User Since: 26th Feb, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 13th Jan, 2012 22:52



--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7

Post "RE: MBSA ( Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer)" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: MBSA ( Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer)
Handling Contributor 13th Jan, 2012 23:00
Score: 12073
Posts: 9,344
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I think FAT 32 is your OEM partition.

Go to start>My computer>right click on the C drive>properties>general tab

Does that clearly state it is NTFS?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Anthony Wells RE: MBSA ( Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer)
Expert Contributor 13th Jan, 2012 23:22
Score: 2493
Posts: 3,384
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi ,

If it helps , I have more or less the same config after I changed my HDD from FAT 32 to NTFS ; the OEM partition is/was left behind as FAT 32 .

TAke care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: MBSA ( Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer)
Handling Contributor 14th Jan, 2012 23:37
Score: 12073
Posts: 9,344
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
How are U getting on with finding the answer to my question?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: MBSA ( Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer)
Contributor 15th Jan, 2012 10:04
Score: 408
Posts: 1,463
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hi.

You may recall Maurice that my C drive 'died', that when I went to buy a new one, the PC shop found that I had a second hard drive in place but not used.

That became my C drive; the damaged one became my E drive, which can only be used for storing docs etc, not applications. And the F drive is as you say for the OEM stuff.

My C & E Drives are NTFS. My F drive is FAT32. So can I ignore the MBSA advice? Is it recommended that I do not try to convert it to NTFS, as it's an OEM PC?

I hope you say 'ignore it' otherwise Anthony, too, will have to change his! :0)

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: MBSA ( Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer)
Handling Contributor 15th Jan, 2012 10:54
Score: 12073
Posts: 9,344
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 15th Jan, 2012 11:22
That is correct but U did not confirm it was your OEM partition - the size gave me the clue.

Most pen drives & many external hard drives connected by USB are normally FAT - they can be left alone as well.

EDIT:
Sorry missed a bit to answer U fully.Being an OEM version of Windows is not the driving force. Very doubtful any Windows 7 (perhaps even Vista) have got any FAT drives. It is an old filing system from the XP days.

OEM's can be converted just like any other Windows platform but in the case of a partition is unnecessary.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: MBSA ( Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer)
Contributor 16th Jan, 2012 15:47
Score: 408
Posts: 1,463
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Thanks Maurice. I can rest easy now - as can Anthony!

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.