Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Opera has four clones!?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Opera Software
And, this specific program:
Opera 11.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
mbarley42 Opera has four clones!?
Member 23rd Jan, 2012 10:51
Ranking: -4
Posts: 40
User Since: 17th Jun, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: HR
Last edited on 23rd Jan, 2012 10:51

I wonder how it turned out to be that I have four Opera programs recognized by PSI 1.5 ...

C:\Program Files (x86)\Opera\opera.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\Opera\opera.dll
C:\Users\Mtodorov\AppData\Local\Temp\CProgram Files (x86)Opera\opera.exe
C:\Users\Mtodorov\AppData\Local\Temp\CProgram Files (x86)Opera\opera.dll

I don't understand:

1. why PSI recognizes opera.exe and opera.dll as two separate programs?
2. why there is a local user executable and DLL in %HOME%\AppData\Local\Temp?

Is this setup standard? I made only one install and several upgrades through Opera's internal update system through menu item Opera->Help->Check for Updates ...

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
mt


--
Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Mahathma Gandhi

mbarley42 RE: Opera has four clones!?
Member 23rd Jan, 2012 10:55
Score: -4
Posts: 40
User Since: 17th Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: HR
Last edited on 23rd Jan, 2012 10:56
P.S. After latest Opera->Help->Check for Updates the browser says "You are using the latest version of Opera.", but the %HOME%\AppData\Local\Temp items disappeared from PSI 1.5 list of programs and "Secure Browsing" tab as well.

Still, two items are recognized as Opera browser, and they are recognized separately in "Secure Browsing" tab, despite being same version number.

Is that normal?

Thanks.

Regards,
mt


--
Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Mahathma Gandhi
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Opera has four clones!?
Expert Contributor 23rd Jan, 2012 22:00
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
Since updating/check for Opera, did you run your cleaner before carrying out a full psi scan ?
I'm not at all sure what is "normal" for psi to show for Opera, but it may be that the detection rules are set for both presumably.

The main thing is that the files it's detecting aren't vulnerable.........

Support may offer more info tomorrow.........regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1
mtodorov RE: Opera has four clones!?
Member 24th Jan, 2012 10:09
Score: 12
Posts: 166
User Since: 20th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: HR
on 23rd Jan, 2012 22:00, mogs wrote:
Hello.
Since updating/check for Opera, did you run your cleaner before carrying out a full psi scan ?
I'm not at all sure what is "normal" for psi to show for Opera, but it may be that the detection rules are set for both presumably.

The main thing is that the files it's detecting aren't vulnerable.........

Support may offer more info tomorrow.........regards,


Hi mogs,

That answer is "Nope." I hadn't run CCleaner nor any other cleaner, I only used Opera's built-in Opera->Help->Check for Updates menu item and it found no upgrades, but it must have had done some housekeeping work.

Still there remains the problem of Opera.exe and Opera.dll detected as two installations, whilst only one version and instance of Opera is installed.

Confirmed. None of 4 Opera clones was detected as vulnerable except for "No vendor solution" vulnerability.

Regards,
mt


--
"If a task is worth doing, it is worth doing right. If it is not worth doing well, it is not worth doing." -- Dr. Jack Hyles
<><
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Websafe RE: Opera has four clones!?
Member 24th Jan, 2012 17:01
Score: 79
Posts: 105
User Since: 24th May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Last edited on 24th Jan, 2012 17:04
Hello mbarley42,

Slightly different results using Secunia PSI 2.0.0.3003

Under Scan Results Opera 11.61 shows up once,

clicking the + opens the detected instances and gives:
C:\Program Files\Opera\opera.exe, version 11.61.1250.0
C:\Program Files\Opera\opera.dll, version 11.61.1250.0
Both files are actually present and used by Opera.

Under Secure browsing Opera 11.x shows up only once.

Windows XP home SP3,
Windows Vista home Premium 32 bit SP2.

Websafe
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
mtodorov RE: Opera has four clones!?
Member 24th Jan, 2012 22:51
Score: 12
Posts: 166
User Since: 20th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: HR
on 24th Jan, 2012 17:01, Websafe wrote:
Hello mbarley42,

Slightly different results using Secunia PSI 2.0.0.3003

Under Scan Results Opera 11.61 shows up once,

clicking the + opens the detected instances and gives:
C:\Program Files\Opera\opera.exe, version 11.61.1250.0
C:\Program Files\Opera\opera.dll, version 11.61.1250.0
Both files are actually present and used by Opera.

Under Secure browsing Opera 11.x shows up only once.

Windows XP home SP3,
Windows Vista home Premium 32 bit SP2.

Websafe


I can confirm the same in PSI 2.0.0.4003.

Even better, previously reported wrong behavior in reporting Flash plugin was remedied since the time I reported this to @Maurice. Now Flash is reported under each browser and not as a special browser.

However, in PSI 1.5 (still available for download) Opera.exe and Opera.dll are reported as separate browsers. (Flash was reported as a browser and Firefox as "secure" despite using "unpatched, no vendor solution" Flash. PSI 2.0 appears to have fixed that.)

Regards,
mt




--
"If a task is worth doing, it is worth doing right. If it is not worth doing well, it is not worth doing." -- Dr. Jack Hyles
<><
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

jenniferolsen

RE: Opera has four clones!?
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.
mogs RE: Opera has four clones!?
Expert Contributor 31st Jan, 2012 16:59
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@To whom it may concern.

The jenniferolsen post above.....copy of as follows :-
jenniferolsen
RE: Opera has four clones!?
[-]
31st Jan, 2012 10:24
Score: -6
Posts: 1
User Since: 31st Jan 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Really interesting! I didn't knew that!

Was this reply relevant?


The irrelevant scoring of -6 points seems rather heavy handed to me.....particularly as the user is only a newcomer today. The comment/remark might be construed as being sarcastic perhaps.....but I wouldn't want to dishearten someone so quickly.....surely some tolerance/lenience at first can be shown....else there's lots of possible contributors we'll never get to know anything of.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability