Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: for "lounge haddock" regarding your Opera/Java problems

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Oracle Corporation
And, this specific program:
Oracle Java JRE 1.7.x / 7.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
taffy078 for "lounge haddock" regarding your Opera/Java problems
Contributor 17th Feb, 2012 16:04
Ranking: 408
Posts: 1,335
User Since: 26th Feb, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello - lounghaddock - I refer to your post in http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/121...

By posting on that thread, you may have been given a slap on your wrist (the -1 score). You may have incurred the wrath of a Secunia official, or perhaps a forum zealot. It's their area - a no-go area for us - and quite right too!

Regulars here know the rule and have tried without success to get a warning shown in that section - but newcomers don't.

I too may be given a slap on my wrist for re-directing you to here!

To be fair to Java, they do say here

http://www.java.com/en/download/help/enable_browse...

that Opera doesn't use Java, but an embedded version already inside the Opera Web browser.
You'll see the Help/Support link there.

Has this helped you?

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003

loungehaddock RE: for "lounge haddock" regarding your Opera/Java problems
Member 17th Feb, 2012 20:20
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 16th Feb 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I was going to post that I have realised what the problem was. As usual I had used the Oracle update procedure. This time (the first in 30 updates of JRE 6) it didn't work. The fix, which I should have realised earlier, was to uninstall the old JRE version and do a clean install of the new JRE. The problem seems to have been only with Windows XP. Vista and 7 users seem to have had no problem.

Thanks for the gentle slap on the wrist. I will have to read the rules closely in an attempt to ensure that I do not transgress again. It would appear that etiquette in Secunia is very strict so I will have to be very careful.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: for "lounge haddock" regarding your Opera/Java problems
Expert Contributor 17th Feb, 2012 22:17
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,332
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 17th Feb, 2012 22:19
Hi ,

There does seem to have been several (inter)related install problems with JRE6 update31 . They may or may not be specific to XP , but the Sun/Oracle website does confirm that they cannot pinpoint the problem and that a complete uninstall of JRE6 and a reinstall is necessary . I needed a manual Program Files and Registry clean up to circumvent a blocked location file access - actually I cheated and ran Revo(Free) in hunter/killer mode to do the job for me .

The fact that I run JRE 7 alongside and have some of the JRE 6 (browser) plug-ins disabled may have caused/contributed to the problem .

Where you originally posted under a Secunia Advisory is to discuss technical aspects of the vulnerability and applies to the worldwide security community (rather than PSI or Opera users) which is not exactly your case and ddm rightly suggested where you could get more/relevant help as does taffy's link if you scroll down .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: for "lounge haddock" regarding your Opera/Java problems
Contributor 18th Feb, 2012 09:36
Score: 408
Posts: 1,335
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Glad to hear it's resolved, loungehaddock.

Secunia can lock the thread now, imho.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability