Forum Thread: Secunia Says Insecure, MS Update says program is up to date.

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Microsoft
And, this specific program:
Microsoft Windows Vista

This thread has been marked as locked.
jerrysg Secunia Says Insecure, MS Update says program is up to date.
Member 23rd Jan, 2009 17:23
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 10th Sep, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Secunia PSI reports that Windows Vista (Version detected is blank) is insecure. Installation path is reported as N/A. Clicking on "Download Solution" opens Windows Update which reports that Windows is up to date. Closed Secunia PSI, restarted and then reran scan with same results. What's going on?

J

Maurice Joyce RE: Secunia Says Insecure, MS Update says program is up to date.
Handling Contributor 24th Jan, 2009 08:34
Score: 12099
Posts: 9,392
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
You need to update Secunia to version 1.0.0.3.

This fault will then disappear.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1607 Build 14393.447
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mdschappell RE: Secunia Says Insecure, MS Update says program is up to date.
Member 20th Mar, 2009 00:12
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 6th Mar 2009
System Score: 87%
Location: Sacramento, US
Actually, it is still present in that version. I believe UAC being turned off is the culprit here.

--
Marguerite D. Schappell
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Secunia Says Insecure, MS Update says program is up to date.
Contributor 20th Mar, 2009 03:03
Score: 308
Posts: 739
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US


--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 31.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
tabby99abbie RE: Secunia Says Insecure, MS Update says program is up to date.
Member 9th Apr, 2009 17:44
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 9th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I have the same problem
I am using version 1.0.0.4
uac is switched on

Technical details about this installation of Microsoft Windows Vista, you can use this information to determine why the Secunia PSI detected the program and the security state of it.

Version Detected:


Last Inspection of Program:
9th Apr. 2009, 17:24 CET

Microsoft update says I have all necessary updates installed
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
RalphN RE: Secunia Says Insecure, MS Update says program is up to date.
Member 15th Apr, 2009 14:30
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 1st Jun 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have the same problem
I am using version 1.0.0.4
uac is switched on

Technical details about this installation of Microsoft Windows Vista, you can use this information to determine why the Secunia PSI detected the program and the security state of it.

Version Detected:


Last Inspection of Program:
15th Apr. 2009, 12:41 CET

Microsoft update says I have all necessary updates installed
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
vanessagirl RE: Secunia Says Insecure, MS Update says program is up to date.
Member 20th Apr, 2009 06:08
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 27th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Secunia-would appreciate something in your blog concerning this-this is pissing me off. Clicking on the technical details do not provide any indication of what the Secunia program is identifying as being the culprit.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
irishmaiden RE: Secunia Says Insecure, MS Update says program is up to date.
Member 20th Apr, 2009 06:16
Score: 0
Posts: 15
User Since: 15th Mar 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: IE
Hi, I had similar problem with Windows XP, my problem was Service pack was not properly installed, if you read through my posting might help you!!

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/171...

--
irishmaiden
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
vanessagirl808 RE: Secunia Says Insecure, MS Update says program is up to date.
Member 20th Apr, 2009 08:19
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 29th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I am happy to report that whatever was causing Secunia to report "insecure" programs on Win Explorer 7.0 and Vista has been apparently resolved without any effort on my part. It would be nice for someone to acknowledge what was causing it-and I do not believe that it had anything to do with the Win update process.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
roncollie RE: msis error
Member 21st Apr, 2009 23:06
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 21st Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
installer integrity check has failed.
commond causes inckude incomplete download and damaged media.
contact the installer auther for help.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Jacob Buskjaer RE: Secunia Says Insecure, MS Update says program is up to date.
Member 27th Apr, 2009 10:53
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 30th Mar 2009
System Score: 97%
Location: N/A
on 23rd Jan, 2009 17:23, jerrysg wrote:
Secunia PSI reports that Windows Vista (Version detected is blank) is insecure. Installation path is reported as N/A. Clicking on "Download Solution" opens Windows Update which reports that Windows is up to date. Closed Secunia PSI, restarted and then reran scan with same results. What's going on?

J

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Jacob Buskjaer RE: Secunia Says Insecure, MS Update says program is up to date.
Member 27th Apr, 2009 10:53
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 30th Mar 2009
System Score: 97%
Location: N/A
on 23rd Jan, 2009 17:23, jerrysg wrote:
Secunia PSI reports that Windows Vista (Version detected is blank) is insecure. Installation path is reported as N/A. Clicking on "Download Solution" opens Windows Update which reports that Windows is up to date. Closed Secunia PSI, restarted and then reran scan with same results. What's going on?

J

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Secunia Says Insecure, MS Update says program is up to date.
Handling Contributor 27th Apr, 2009 11:09
Score: 12099
Posts: 9,392
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@Buskjaer

Please use the reply button if U want help. U are filling my mail box with junk mail by saying nothing.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1607 Build 14393.447
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.