Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Shows as insecure

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Mozilla Foundation
And, this specific program:
Mozilla Firefox 10.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
Groffeaston Shows as insecure
Member 16th Mar, 2012 20:18
Ranking: 3
Posts: 10
User Since: 13th Dec, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hello,

I have Mozilla Firefox 10.0.0.4411 shows up as my installed version of Firefox and is insecure and that it should be updated to 10.0.3. However I already downloaded Firefox 11.0 earlier today, but that does not show up as even being installed or even as the latest version. Why? And how can this be corrected?


mogs RE: Shows as insecure
Expert Contributor 16th Mar, 2012 20:41
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
You don't mention it......but have you carried out a full scan since you updated to FF 11 ?
What version of psi are you using ?


--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Groffeaston RE: Shows as insecure
Member 18th Mar, 2012 05:46
Score: 3
Posts: 10
User Since: 13th Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hello,

I have run several scans with Secunia PSI and each time it does NOT show Firefox 11.0 as the currently installed version, but shows the Firefox 10.0.0.4411 as being my current version and that I should install Firefox 10.0.3.

I updated a couple of other programs via the auto-update feature and then later cleared the update from the downloads file to clear up space. Could this possibly cause this problem to occur?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Shows as insecure
Expert Contributor 18th Mar, 2012 11:01
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
You still have not mentioned what version of psi you are using.
I'm not familiar with the workings of FF at the best of times....but from what I've read recently the detection of it isn't quite in order to begin with.
There's a thread here which may offer some insight.....but I would suggest you note Anthony Well's last sentence in his post.......'bout using only Mozilla's updaters :-
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/123...

Hope it's of some help........regards........


--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Groffeaston RE: Shows as insecure
Member 22nd Mar, 2012 04:44
Score: 3
Posts: 10
User Since: 13th Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hello,

Sorry, about that, I have a hard time seeing my monitor from where I am at. I am laying on my bed about 4-5 feet away from my monitor. Why? I have a bulging disc in my lower back which causes severe pain when I stand, sit or walk for more than a few minutes at a time. SO I have to lie down to ease the pain.

I have Secunia PSI 2.0. I realize that sometimes after a new version of one of the software programs comes out it may take a few days for the Secunia program to be able to recognize it. But when I already had Version 10.0.3 of the Firefox and then updated to 11.0 and now the Secunia PSI says that I have 10.0.0.4411 and need to update to 10.0.3. Something is goofy!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Shows as insecure
Expert Contributor 22nd Mar, 2012 09:41
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@ Groffeaston

Sorry to hear of your plight, and hope matters improve for you.

Since your post there's been an explanation from a Secunia official...which you may have already seen, here :-
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/123...

Have you scanned again recently ? Can you confirm what you now find in Scan Results as regards Firefox ?..............regards............

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Groffeaston RE: Shows as insecure
Member 23rd Mar, 2012 06:33
Score: 3
Posts: 10
User Since: 13th Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hello again,

It now says that it should be updated to Firefox 11.0, However I already have Firefox 11.0 and Now it changed from "insecure" to "End of life" for the Firefox 10.0.0.4411. lol :)

I figire if I wait a couple more days and they might have it figured out and everything will show up just the way it is supposed to, I hope. lol :) If not, I can always try reinstalling Firfox 11.0 and see if that helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Shows as insecure
Handling Contributor 23rd Mar, 2012 09:58
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,002
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Looks like U have remnants of an old version. What path does PSI give U?


FINDING A FILE PATH USING PSI VERSION 2

From the DASHBOARD page click on SCAN RESULTS.

1. This will list all your programmes with a + to the left of each programme.
2. Click the + sign next to the item that U want help with.
3. This will reveal the path under DETECTED INSTANCES.
4. Below DETECTED INSTANCES you will see this You can double click this row for additional information & options>double click it>a box will appear>look to the RIGHT & U will see TROUBLESHOOT REPORT in BLUE writing under the heading TOOLBOX> click TroubleShoot Report & it will reveal some information in a box>highlight the information revealed from ---START--- to ---END--- & copy it (CTRL+C) then post it to the Forum (CTRL+V)

As an EXAMPLE the end result U post to the Forum should look something like this:
---START---

Program Name:
Adobe Flash Player 11.x

Security State:
Patched

Download Link:
http://fpdownload.adobe.com/get/flashplayer/curren...

Instances Found:
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\Macromed\Flash\Flash11e.ocx, version: 11.1.102.55 (ActiveX)

Last System Scan (localtime):
2. Jan 2012, 23:01

Operating System:
Microsoft Windows 7.

---END---

Update 13 22:14 17/03/2012



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Groffeaston RE: Shows as insecure
Member 26th Mar, 2012 02:31
Score: 3
Posts: 10
User Since: 13th Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 26th Mar, 2012 02:43
Hello again,

I tried re-installing Firefox 11.0, when I did that it said It needed to reboot my computer to finish making updates from the last time. So I thought that might be it. But nope that was not it. So I re-installed and then rescanned. Secunia PSI 2.0 still shows Firefox 10.0.0.4411 as my installed version. But when I checked my computer for it, it only shows Firefox 11.0 as my installed version.

Here is the information you requested:

---START---

Program Name:
Mozilla Firefox 10.x

Security State:
End-of-Life

Download Link:
http://dl.secunia.com/SPS/Firefox Setup 11.0 en-GB.exe

Instances Found:
C:\Windows\ERDNT\cache\firefox.exe, version: 10.0.0.4411

Last System Scan (localtime):
25. Mar 2012, 20:15

Operating System:
Microsoft Windows Vista,

---END---

Hope this helps.

I found it where it said it was at, following the file location:
C:\Windows\ERDNT\cache\firefox.exe, version: 10.0.0.4411

Question I now have is: Should I delete that specific file or would that cause problems with Firefox 11.0?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Shows as insecure
Handling Contributor 26th Mar, 2012 09:17
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,002
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
That path clearly shows it is in a back up folder & can be safely deleted.

DELETING A FILE OR FOLDER USING PSI VERSION 2

1. Open PSI>Scan results.

2. Against the programme marked as vulnerable is a + sign to the left of it.

3. Click that & it will reveal DETECTED INSTANCES.

4. Below that are two yellow folders. Click the one WITHOUT a red dot.

5. That will open Windows Explorer & U will be able to see the vulnerable files or folders.
C:\Windows\ERDNT\cache\firefox.exe, version: 10.0.0.4411

6. Right click on it & select delete.

7. Carry out a full PSI scan & all should be in order.


Update 5 08:16 26/03/2012

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+4
-0
Groffeaston RE: Shows as insecure
Member 31st Mar, 2012 06:13
Score: 3
Posts: 10
User Since: 13th Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hello,

Yeah, That worked! Thanks for the help!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Shows as insecure
Handling Contributor 31st Mar, 2012 07:40
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,002
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 2nd Apr, 2012 11:32
Pleased to see it is fixed.

On that basis, I will lock this thread for U sometime tomorrow unless U post back asking for it to be left open.

This will protect your mail box from possible update emails from Forum "tag on" posts

You can of course lock your own threads yourself. Just click the ACCEPT button in the post of the helper who offered U the best solution/advice to solve your problem.

Secunia Support can always reopen threads by applying by email to: support@secunia.com

EDIT: Thread locked at: 10:30 02/04/2012



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer