Forum Thread: Scan Aborted

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
palaceben Scan Aborted
Member 5th May, 2012 21:39
Ranking: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 5th May, 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I've been successfully using PSI for a long time now, and have had version 2.0.0.3003 installed. It worked fine up until April 18th (my last successful scan) and since then if I try a manual scan I get a "Scan Aborted" message. I have tried upgrading to the Beta version 3 but that just asks me to run a scan, and sits there not doing anything very much. I have reinstalled version 2.0.0.3003 and the log when I scan is as follows:

[05/05 20:30:38.953] Secunia PSI starting
[05/05 20:30:39.218] Determining computer name
[05/05 20:30:39.218] Computer name is 'IBM-E8DEA5B28C0'
[05/05 20:30:39.218] Workgroup Name is 'WORKGROUP'
[05/05 20:30:40.374] Tab 0: Shown
[05/05 20:30:40.374] Tab 0: Shown
[05/05 20:30:40.406] Tab 0: Shown
[05/05 20:30:40.437] Tab 0: Shown
[05/05 20:30:42.936] Loading language strings
[05/05 20:30:43.452] Language strings loaded
[05/05 20:30:43.467] User Interface loaded
[05/05 20:30:45.233] Creating Admin pipe for:'\\.\pipe\PSI UI 0'
[05/05 20:30:45.233] Pipe client created
[05/05 20:30:45.233] Pipe created
[05/05 20:30:47.232] Got data from server
[05/05 20:30:47.248] notifying...
[05/05 20:30:47.248] notifying :: 0 :: sfw.securebrowsing
[05/05 20:30:47.248] notifying :: 1 :: sfw.scanresults
[05/05 20:30:47.248] notifying :: 2 :: defaults
[05/05 20:30:47.295] notifying :: 3 :: aulink
[05/05 20:30:47.326] notifying :: 4 :: sfw.dashboard
[05/05 20:30:47.716] notifying :: 5 :: sfw.profile
[05/05 20:30:47.716] notifying :: 6 :: sfw.scan
[05/05 20:30:47.716] notifying :: 7 :: sfw.settings
[05/05 20:30:47.716] Updating autoupdate => true
[05/05 20:30:47.982] Updating auprompt => false
[05/05 20:30:47.982] Updating securebrowsing => false
[05/05 20:30:47.982] Updating appmon => true
[05/05 20:30:47.982] Updating autostart => true
[05/05 20:30:47.982] notify done
[05/05 20:31:11.524] Setting Log Level to Normal
[05/05 20:31:11.524] Log Level now set to Normal
[05/05 20:31:11.539] psia.setLogging exception : -2146827850 , Object doesn't support this property or method
[05/05 20:31:11.539] aulink.setLogging exception : -2146827850 , Object doesn't support this property or method

I am running Windows XP SP3. Does anyone have any ideas why it has stopped working?

mogs RE: Scan Aborted
Member 5th May, 2012 22:57
Score:
Posts: 6,279
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@palaceben

Hello.
Have you checked thro' the settings to verify nothing has changed ? See here........:-
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

I'm using the 2.0.0.4003 version......I found the 2.0.0.3003 version to be the best of the most recent.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
palaceben RE: Scan Aborted
Member 5th May, 2012 23:44
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 5th May 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hi,

My Active scripting is enabled, and I have https://*.secunia.com as a trusted site, but I still can't run a scan.

I have checked the Services, and I don't see any sign of "Secunia Update Agent". "Secunia PSI Agent" is started and automatic.

I have noticed that when PSI starts up, after verifying the internet connection it briefly says "undefined" - although I don't know what is undefined - before going on to say "waiting for data to load... " & "data successfully loaded..."

I have also tried running with the firewall disabled, but this has not helped.

Thanks for your help. Any other suggestions would be gratefully received.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Scan Aborted
Member 6th May, 2012 07:52
Score:
Posts: 6,279
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK


--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
palaceben RE: Scan Aborted
Member 6th May, 2012 22:25
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 5th May 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hmmm... nothing seems to work. As I said above I don't see any sign of the Service 'Secunia Update Agent'

I've now tried all of that, including the Revo-uninstaller, but it is still the same after reinstall. I think I may have to give up, which is a shame as I find PSI very useful. I'm away from this PC for a week or so now. Maybe I'll have another go at installing when I'm back.

Thanks for all your attempts to help. If you can think of anything else I'll try it when I'm back here.

Ben
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Scan Aborted
Member 8th May, 2012 09:43
Last edited on 8th May, 2012 09:44 Hi,

Are you comfortable with working with the command line? You need to execute the file "sua.exe" in the PSI directory with "-i -L" parameters.

First, open "cmd" as an administrative user. In Vista and Windows 7, you can type "cmd" in the Start menu and then right-click the icon to launch with elevated priviliges.

Then enter this command for a 32-bit system:
cd "C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI"
And this command for a 64-bit system:
cd "C:\Program Files (x86)\Secunia\PSI"

Please be sure to enclude both quotes.

Then, run
"sua.exe -i -L"

After restarting the PSI, it should now work.

Hope this helps.

Edit:

Former helpers, please take note that if the "Secunia Update Agent" is missing from the list of services, that is almost positively the problem and should be addressed before other troubleshooting steps. Thank you kindly.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
palaceben RE: Scan Aborted
Member 8th May, 2012 11:17
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 5th May 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hi,

Thanks for that. I'll try it next week when I have access to the problem PC and let you know the results.

Ben
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Scan Aborted
Handling Contributor 13th May, 2012 00:23
Score: 12056
Posts: 9,317
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Ben,
Threads auto lock after 7 days of no activity. I have moved it to the top to allow U another 7 days from today to respond.

Hope this helps.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
palaceben RE: Scan Aborted
Member 15th May, 2012 11:49
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 5th May 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hi,

I've got the Secunia Update Agent up and running ok now, but unfortunately the scan still aborts. This is the log as it reads now:

[05/15 10:43:07.093] Secunia PSI starting
[05/15 10:43:11.343] Determining computer name
[05/15 10:43:11.343] Computer name is 'IBM-E8DEA5B28C0'
[05/15 10:43:11.343] Workgroup Name is 'WORKGROUP'
[05/15 10:43:15.484] Creating Admin pipe for:'\\.\pipe\PSI UI 0'
[05/15 10:43:15.484] Pipe client created
[05/15 10:43:15.484] Pipe created
[05/15 10:43:17.453] Tab 0: Shown
[05/15 10:43:17.750] Tab 0: Shown
[05/15 10:43:17.828] Tab 0: Shown
[05/15 10:43:17.843] Tab 0: Shown
[05/15 10:43:36.562] Loading language strings
[05/15 10:43:37.062] Language strings loaded
[05/15 10:43:37.171] User Interface loaded
[05/15 10:43:59.468] Got data from server
[05/15 10:44:00.250] notifying...
[05/15 10:44:00.250] notifying :: 0 :: sfw.securebrowsing
[05/15 10:44:00.250] notifying :: 1 :: sfw.scanresults
[05/15 10:44:00.250] notifying :: 2 :: defaults
[05/15 10:44:00.250] notifying :: 3 :: aulink
[05/15 10:44:00.250] notifying :: 4 :: sfw.dashboard
[05/15 10:44:00.250] notifying :: 5 :: sfw.profile
[05/15 10:44:00.250] notifying :: 6 :: sfw.scan
[05/15 10:44:00.250] notifying :: 7 :: sfw.settings
[05/15 10:44:00.250] Updating autoupdate => true
[05/15 10:44:00.250] Updating auprompt => false
[05/15 10:44:00.250] Updating securebrowsing => false
[05/15 10:44:00.250] Updating appmon => true
[05/15 10:44:00.250] Updating autostart => true
[05/15 10:44:00.296] notify done
[05/15 10:44:28.171] Setting Log Level to Normal
[05/15 10:44:28.171] Log Level now set to Normal
[05/15 10:44:28.265] psia.setLogging exception : -2146827850 , Object doesn't support this property or method
[05/15 10:44:28.265] aulink.setLogging exception : -2146827850 , Object doesn't support this property or method

It is still displaying "undefined" before "Waiting for data to load..." during the startup.

Does anyone else have any ideas?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Scan Aborted
Handling Contributor 15th May, 2012 23:24
Score: 12056
Posts: 9,317
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Ben,
PSI version 2.0.0.3003 is not available for download from Secunia. Have U got an old installation stored somewhere on your PC that U use to install it?

If so it could be corrupt.

What happens if U install the latest stable version (2.0.0.4003) from here?

ftp://ftp.secunia.com/PSISetup.exe

If that suffers from the same issue why not give version 1.5 a twirl - that should work & remains supported by Secunia. Link here:

http://secunia.com/PSI1Setup.exe

If U try these different version my advice is not to use Revo or any type of alleged Registry Cleaners. Just click the links & let PSI auto update itself.

Interest to see what the results are if U give this a try.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
palaceben RE: Scan Aborted
Member 16th May, 2012 14:48
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 5th May 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hi Maurice,

I'm not sure where I got that version number from. The version I've been trying to use is 2.0.0.4003, and I have also tried the Beta version 3.

I've now successfully uninstalled version 2.0.0.4003 and installed version 1.5 and that appears to work perfectly. At least my PC is now up to date (apart from one Windows update, but that's a different story, it seems a lot of people are having problems with it!)

I have since tried updating once again to version 2.0.0.4003, but the same error persists, so I have again uninstalled that and reverted to version 1.5, which I'm happy to use. Is there any way of stopping it alerting me to the newer versions' availability each time PSI starts? Not a huge thing, but as I don't seem to be able to re-upgrade, just a little redundant :)

Thanks again for everyone's help!

Ben
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Scan Aborted
Handling Contributor 16th May, 2012 16:37
Score: 12056
Posts: 9,317
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Ben,
The update nag screen with version 1.5 is a permanent feature.

I have had your type of problem on my old test PC with XP SP3 for months. Mine was certainly caused by my testing various alleged Registry Cleaners which did an amazing job!

In slow time I have been investigating which of the Cleaners caused the issue. No news on that front yet.

Of course this may not be the same for U. Did U run any type of cleaner on or around 18th April?

Secunia cannot really help in my case which can clearly be described as "an own goal".



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
palaceben RE: Scan Aborted
Member 16th May, 2012 16:45
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 5th May 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Maurice,

I've not used a registry cleaner on this PC for a long time before trying the Revo-uninstaller that was suggested in an earlier post. I suspect it will remain a mystery until my bosses decide I am due for an upgrade to Win7. I'll make do with version 1.5 until that happens!

Thanks again for all your help.

Ben
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Scan Aborted
Handling Contributor 16th May, 2012 16:47
Score: 12056
Posts: 9,317
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 17th May, 2012 22:35
Agreed.

On that basis, I will lock this thread for U sometime tomorrow unless U post back asking for it to be left open.

This will protect your mail box from possible update emails from "tag on" posts

You can of course lock threads U have created. Just click the ACCEPT button in the post of the helper who offered U the best solution/advice to solve your problem.

Secunia Support can always reopen threads by applying by email to: support@secunia.com

EDIT: Thread locked at: 21:34 17/05/2012










--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.