Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Scan aborts after a few seconds

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
barebear Scan aborts after a few seconds
Member 4th Jun, 2012 08:31
Ranking: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 25th Jan, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Running XP Pro SP3 fully updated and PSI 2.0

Started a scan; it aborts after a few seconds.

I scanned successfully 4/1/12.

I run Avira and SuperAntispyware; neither has ever detected a problem or interfered with a scan.

I also run Malwarebytes but exited the program before starting the scan that aborted.

Please advise what might be the problem and what other information you may need to help resolve the issue.

Post "RE: Scan aborts after a few seconds" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: Scan aborts after a few seconds
Handling Contributor 4th Jun, 2012 10:46
Score: 11569
Posts: 8,889
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK

1. Is the date & time correctly set on the PC?

2. Open PSI> Dashboard>Configuration>Settings>Drives - are your drives showing with a tick (check mark) in the box to the left of C drive?

3. If both above are correct I would revisit all the options from the FAQ to ensure no settings have been changed.

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
barebear RE: Scan aborts after a few seconds
Member 4th Jun, 2012 19:22
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 25th Jan 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 4th Jun, 2012 22:29
Hi Maurice,

Date and time are correct, and C drive is checked.

I checked my services and only Secunia PSI Agent is present --- there is no Secunia Update Agent listed.

I have tried uninstalling/reinstalling the program ( 2.0 ), but that didn't help.

I run Firefox as opposed to IE.

I have 2 other computers running XP and Firefox, and am having no issues with them at all.

On the computer with the problem, the only difference is that I run Malwarebytes withe the Active Protection Module enabled --- I have disabled that but it makes no difference.

I read through the FAQ and compared all the mentioned settings to those on the other 2 XP computers -- they appear to be identical.

Most interesting -- I ran Regedit.exe and checked the registry on the other 2 XP rigs where Secunia is working fine -- there is an entry for Secunia Update Agent which is not present on the computer with the problem. The entry is HKLM\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Enum\Root\LEGACY_SECUNIA _UPDATE_AGENT\0000

I have the ability to export the whole key LEGACY_SECUNIA_UPDATE_AGENT and enter it into the registry of the machine where PSI is missing the key.

I won't do this till I hear from you or someone else re that being a viable idea -- I've edited my registry in the past ( not re Secunia and not since long before my last successful scan in April ), but am extremely cautious about doing reg editing.

And, the issue still remains as to what made the key disappear --- I've done nothing in the way of registry cleaning/tweaking other than to run the very conservative registry cleaning function in CCleaner ( which also was done many times before my successful April scan )

Please advise your opinions re exporting/entering the key and your thoughts as to what could have deleted the key.

Thanks for your time and help
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Scan aborts after a few seconds
Handling Contributor 4th Jun, 2012 22:44
Score: 11569
Posts: 8,889
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I think we can discount Malwarebytes. I install PSI once a month for a quick check of my system which also runs the Pro version of that programme. It has never been an issue.

Secunia Support recommends a reinstall for this problem which I note U have done tried.

Try this:

Right click start>All Users>C:\Program Files>Secunia>click on PSI>in the right hand pane U will see the Uninstall.exe file - activate it to remove PSI.

Once finished repeat the process but this time right click on the SECUNIA folder & select delete to remove it & the left over log file.

Reboot

Now click here to try a reinstall

ftp://ftp.secunia.com/PSISetup.exe

U do not by any chance use an alleged Registry Cleaner on this PC?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Scan aborts after a few seconds
Expert Contributor 4th Jun, 2012 23:16
Score: 2414
Posts: 3,310
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 4th Jun, 2012 23:17
Hello Maurice ,

Emil's post to this thread @ 09.43 on 8th May may be relevant to this problem or your suggested roll back to 1.5.0.2 :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/126...

Take care

Anthony

EDIT:PS : Neither Avira nor SAS give me any problems with the PSi .

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Scan aborts after a few seconds
Handling Contributor 4th Jun, 2012 23:25
Score: 11569
Posts: 8,889
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thanks Anthony. I will give this a try first then the Registry then back to version 1.5 which I know works.




--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
barebear RE: Scan aborts after a few seconds
Member 5th Jun, 2012 01:30
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 25th Jan 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
It's fixed !

I had a copy of 2.0.0.1003 in my Hardware and Software Updates library -- uninstalled the current version, installed that and all is well.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Scan aborts after a few seconds
Handling Contributor 5th Jun, 2012 02:01
Score: 11569
Posts: 8,889
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK

Good to hear it is working again.

On that basis, I will lock this thread for U sometime tomorrow unless U post back asking for it to be left open.

This will protect your mail box from possible update emails from "tag on" posts

You can of course lock threads U have created. Just click the ACCEPT button in the post of the helper who offered U the best solution/advice to solve your problem.

Secunia Support can always reopen threads by applying by email to: support@secunia.com





--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability