Forum Thread: "Pup Blabbers"

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as locked.
taffy078 "Pup Blabbers"
Contributor 13th Jul, 2012 09:17
Ranking: 408
Posts: 1,463
User Since: 26th Feb, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hi.

I've just run Malwarebytes (free version) and it has quarantined & deleted two items that were in the registry.

Both are described as PUP BLABBERS - one was located in HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Ext \Settings
and the other in
HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Ext \Stats

I've searched the internet but have found only three sites - two spanish/south american and one french (http://forum.pcastuces.com/sujet.asp?f=25&s=64115). All relate to Malwarebyte scans.Translating the latter hasn't really helped me understand what a PUP BLABBER is, what it does and how serious it is. There was nothing in Norton.

I found a reference to it in Microsoft but now can't find it again! Nothing in Bleeping Computer

Has anyone else had this, please?

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7

Maurice Joyce RE: "Pup Blabbers"
Handling Contributor 13th Jul, 2012 19:07
Score: 12073
Posts: 9,344
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I note U have an answer to this on the Malwarebytes Forum.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Anthony Wells RE: "Pup Blabbers"
Expert Contributor 13th Jul, 2012 19:57
Score: 2493
Posts: 3,384
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello Taffy ,

I had a PUP popup recently in an MBAM scan (nothing today) ; the clue is in the first "P" = Potentially" . I am pretty sure mine was an FP but as it was a known file and easy to replace (should I ever need it) , I let MBAM quarantine and then delete it .

You should follow the advice/help offered in the reply to your MBAM forum helper (as noted by Maurice) ; just be absolutely sure you DO NOT need the files before you allow MBAM to delete them - in fact , I would leave them in Quarantine for a while if you decide on that route .

Here is the M$ "forum" :-

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/protect/forum/m...

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: "Pup Blabbers"
Handling Contributor 13th Jul, 2012 22:03
Score: 12073
Posts: 9,344
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 13th Jul, 2012 22:06
If U are both using Google Chrome this is what it is:

Blabbers is an extension for Google Chrome. Blabbers is a social utility that enables a new social dimension on the web. With Blabbers, anyone can create his own personalized layer of content on top of any web page and share it with their friends from any social network.

Link here:

http://www.blabbers.com/app/portal/about.jsp

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Anthony Wells RE: "Pup Blabbers"
Expert Contributor 13th Jul, 2012 22:43
Score: 2493
Posts: 3,384
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 13th Jul, 2012 22:45
Hi Maurice ,

If I was not clear , my PUP was not for "Blabbers" but something quite different in the BHO field and looked to be a heuristics' FP .

I think you can get "Bladdes" wuth Mozilla Firefox as well , if you follow the link from the MBAM forum .

EDIT ; link :-

http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=38&t...

Take care

Anthony



--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: "Pup Blabbers"
Contributor 16th Jul, 2012 16:42
Score: 408
Posts: 1,463
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 16th Jul, 2012 17:12


--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.