navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: "Updating Scanning Results"

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Nergali "Updating Scanning Results"
Member 23rd Jul, 2012 21:59
Ranking: 19
Posts: 48
User Since: 23rd Aug, 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: US
(unknown source)

Occurs after pressing "Scan now", screenshot:
http://www.ray.id.au/images/psi/updating_scanning_...
(profile name suppressed)

\Program Files\Secunia\PSI\psialog.txt file shows the following type entries repeated many times:
[07/02 15:37:15.778] Checking in with server (psi3.secunia.com)
[07/02 15:37:15.778] Checkin reason : AutoInstallUpdates
[07/02 15:37:15.778] Connecting to psi3.secunia.com:443
[07/02 15:37:15.778] GET /psi_api/3002/?action=agent_check&agent_version =3.0.0.2004&tz=-36000&fm=0x80000000&uid=... (supressed)
[07/02 15:37:15.810] Request timeouts : 60000ms, 30000ms, 30000ms
[07/02 15:37:16.310] Error while checking in with server (403) : "Forbidden"

How do we make it go?





I too have the issue that this (now locked thread brings up)
Windows XP SP3
Have https://*.secunia.com in trusted sites
have active content set a prescribed in FAQ
There is no secunia autoupdate service
There is a Secunia Agent service
same errors in the log
[log]
[07/23 13:43:04.396] Scanning file: 'C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI\PSIA.exe'
[07/23 13:43:04.412] -- Program Configuration --
-- Internal variables --
Version 3.0.0.2004
BinPath C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI\PSIA.exe
BinDir C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI
APPNAME Secunia PSI Agent
BINNAME psi.exe
-- Logging Settings --
LogLevel 2
LogFile C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI\psialog.txt
LogFileMax 2097152
-- UserId options --
CAUser iPNE3dLde3af953d7825cbf8e150d74cxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
-- Scan options --
ScanType 2
CheckOSUpdates 1
-- Customer Area options --
GroupName
-- Network Configuration --
API_SERVER_HOST psi3.secunia.com
API_SERVER_PORT 443
API_BASE_URI /psi_api/3002/?
-- Connectivity Options: --
RequestTimeout 120
-- Proxy options --
ProxyHost
ProxyPort
ProxyUser
ProxyPass <Not Set>
Registry Encryption Not required
DirectConnection 0
-- Security options --
IgnoreInvalidCN 0
IgnoreUnknownCA 0
IgnoreCertRevocation 0
-- Service options --
InstallService 0
StartService 1
RemoveService 0
RunAsUser
RunAsPass <Not Set>
RunAsLocalSystem 0
DontWriteRegistry 0
Foreground 0
-- Computer Information --
ComputerName
LanGroup
CurrentUser SYSTEM
UserPrincipalName {COMPUTERNAME}@{DOMAIN}.local
-- CheckIn Information --
CheckInInterval 60
LastCheckIn 01/01/80 00:00:00
NextInspection 07/23/12 13:43:04
ServerTime 01/01/80 00:00:00
REG_KEY_PATH SOFTWARE\Secunia\PSIA
RegConfKey HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
[07/23 13:43:04.474] Secunia PSI Agent 3.0.0.2004 starting
[07/23 13:43:04.709] Windows Workstation version: 5.1.2600, Service Pack: 3.0. SetProcessDEPPolicy returned 0x00000000
[07/23 13:43:04.724] WOW64 : 0
[07/23 13:43:04.771] Creating main thread
[07/23 13:43:06.240] Secunia PSI Agent 3.0.0.2004 starting
[07/23 13:43:06.256] Windows Workstation version: 5.1.2600, Service Pack: 3.0. SetProcessDEPPolicy returned 0x00000005
[07/23 13:43:06.256] WOW64 : 0
[07/23 13:43:06.256] Determining UserID
[07/23 13:43:06.302] UserID determined
[07/23 13:43:06.318] Creating Admin server pipe at:'\\.\pipe\PSI UI 0'
[07/23 13:43:06.318] Pipe created at '\\.\pipe\PSI UI 0'
[07/23 13:43:06.334] Pipe Server accepting incoming connections
[07/23 13:43:06.334] Creating Any server pipe at:'\\.\pipe\PSI Tray 0'
[07/23 13:43:06.349] Pipe created at '\\.\pipe\PSI Tray 0'
[07/23 13:43:06.349] Pipe Server accepting incoming connections
[07/23 13:43:06.849] Pipe Server got incoming connection, feeding handle to child.
[07/23 13:43:06.849] Pipe Server accepting incoming connections
[07/23 13:43:06.881] Unknown name in invoke:notifyNewTray
[07/23 13:43:06.943] Checking in with server (psi3.secunia.com)
[07/23 13:43:07.006] Connecting to psi3.secunia.com:443
[07/23 13:43:07.021] Determining computer name
[07/23 13:43:07.021] Computer name is 'Computername'
[07/23 13:43:07.021] Domain Name is 'DomainName'
[07/23 13:43:07.021] GET /psi_api/3002/?action=agent_check&agent_version=3. 0.0.2004&tz=21600&fm=0x80000000&uid=iPNE3dLde3af95 3d7825cbf8e150d74cxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx &ui=agent&langroup=Domainname&host=computername
[07/23 13:43:07.053] Request timeouts : 60000ms, 30000ms, 30000ms
[07/23 13:43:07.428] Pipe Server got incoming connection, feeding handle to child.
[07/23 13:43:07.974] Pipe Server accepting incoming connections
[07/23 13:43:09.709] Error while checking in with server (405) : "Method Not Allowed"
[/log]

I hope My issue also doesn't go unanswered (note I did do my due diligence and search the forum first thus finding the quoted thread above)

Anthony Wells RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Expert Contributor 24th Jul, 2012 14:22
Score: 2463
Posts: 3,348
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi Nergali ,

Support seem to have been here today and missed you . In the past they have always said that the prime cause will be SUA if it is not loaded as a service and the .exe running ; as you seem to be saying (not totally clear) .

Maurice Joyce thinks this may be caused by selected drives not displaying and probably with the underlying problem caused by "uncontrolled" use of Registry Cleaner(s) .

I should email support to remind them of your thread .

Please come back here and let us know how you get on .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-1
K.Hussain RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Secunia Official 24th Jul, 2012 14:48
Score: 60
Posts: 59
User Since: 12th May 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Last edited on 24th Jul, 2012 14:50
Hi,

As Anthony stated, please check in your Task manager under the processes tab whether SUA.exe and psia.exe are running.

It seems the other person who had such a problem, got it solved by resetting IE.

--
Kind regards,

Kamran Hussain
Secunia PSI Support

Secunia PSI
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal
Nergali RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Member 24th Jul, 2012 20:23
Score: 19
Posts: 48
User Since: 23rd Aug 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Last edited on 24th Jul, 2012 21:43
SUA is not running on this machine, however it also is not running on another XP SP3 machine, on which PSI 3 seems to be running fine.

Currently Attempting the IE reset

Please explain the Drive letter issue a little more if you would.

Note, No registry Cleaner has been run on this PC
PSI multiple reinstalls (including, as was suggested in anotehr thread, running the uninstall.exe instead of add/remove programs.

EDIT
Here's what I did to fix the missing service
As Administrator Run Command line(cmd.exe)
Run c:\program files\secunia\PSI\sua -i
Enter password if asked
Service is now installed and running, set to automatic
open Services.msc change user to System under logon

Neither this nor resetting the IE has allowed PSI to get past the same spot

EDIT2: Have signed into my Secunia profile on that PC, to see if that does anything.
I also note that Under Settings\Scan individual drives the computer does indeed [u]list[/u] no drives, as opposed to the working XP machine which correctly lists C:
I there a way to force said setting into existance, as this does seem to explain Fact that the Scan takes no time before it jumps to the "updating" stick.
I'm Sorry I hadn't included that information, that the scan happens "too quickly" in my first post, an oversight when I had to retype it.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-1
Maurice Joyce RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Handling Contributor 24th Jul, 2012 22:09
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 24th Jul, 2012 22:10
Without the drives showing it will not work. I have that problem on my old test XP PC. That was definitely caused by my tesing various alleged Registry Cleaners.

The cause of your mishap is not the same. That said. I have never found a solution of reintroducing the drives except to reverting back to the good old reliable V 1.5.0.2.

Occasionally I do work on trying to find a solution. If I ever manage it I will publish the details.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Nergali RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Member 24th Jul, 2012 22:22
Score: 19
Posts: 48
User Since: 23rd Aug 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Last edited on 24th Jul, 2012 22:23
on 24th Jul, 2012 22:09, Maurice Joyce wrote:
Without the drives showing it will not work. I have that problem on my old test XP PC. That was definitely caused by my tesing various alleged Registry Cleaners.

The cause of your mishap is not the same. That said. I have never found a solution of reintroducing the drives except to reverting back to the good old reliable V 1.5.0.2.

Occasionally I do work on trying to find a solution. If I ever manage it I will publish the details.

Thank you Maurice, is this a Permanent return to 1.5.02? or is it just to restore the missing drives?
My procedure will be
Uninstall PSI via %PSIDir%\uninstall.exe
Reboot machine
Install 1.5.0.2
Await answer on the permanance
Follow per answer
Close topic as resolved (if needed)
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Handling Contributor 24th Jul, 2012 22:26
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Permanent for me - any upgrade attempts result in lost drives.

I note your 405 log error - will work around that on next tinker with this issue.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Nergali RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Member 24th Jul, 2012 22:38
Score: 19
Posts: 48
User Since: 23rd Aug 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Eek yuck.

should I ping this topic every so often so it doesn't autolock

I wish we could determine where secunia hides these settings. . . Though in fixing this I have found that setting SUA with a special arguement you can define your update interval, I've not yet played with that yet.

1.5 Finished a scan
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Handling Contributor 24th Jul, 2012 22:40
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
No need - I will reopen it for U if I have something to post.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Nergali RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Member 24th Jul, 2012 22:42
Score: 19
Posts: 48
User Since: 23rd Aug 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: US
I can confirm that an install of psi 2 does indeed remove scanable drives as maurice stated.

Will revert to PSI1 on this machine until further notice
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Handling Contributor 26th Jul, 2012 13:49
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
My tests have shown that updating to the latest version of PSI 3 will not solve your problem.

It gives many misleading results.

1. The opening interface states that all programmes are up to date indicating that a scan is complete & they are the true findings.

2. The tray icon remains red.

3. Open the scan page & it states the programmes that were originally declared OK are in fact showing as Determining Program.

4. A rescan stills will not complete.

5. It will not find your all important drives to scan.

I will work on the issue a bit more on the next "rainy" day.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Nergali RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Member 26th Jul, 2012 21:21
Score: 19
Posts: 48
User Since: 23rd Aug 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Thanks for testing that :) Also for letting me no they pushed an update (PSI should, at check-in with psi3, check for update of itself ;) )
I've now (for laughs mostly) also attempted the SUA command line for removing all settings. I think my next test of this is to add a hard drive and see if I can force PSI into rescanning drives (unless of course you've already run that test :) )
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-1
Maurice Joyce RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Handling Contributor 26th Jul, 2012 23:08
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Not tried the external harddrive scenario - I do not own or use them.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nergali RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Member 26th Jul, 2012 23:10
Score: 19
Posts: 48
User Since: 23rd Aug 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: US
actually I was going to setp it forward and use a second internal drive :D
I'll probably do that tonight/tomorrow.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Expert Contributor 26th Jul, 2012 23:23
Score: 2463
Posts: 3,348
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi ,

Doubt it will help , but when version 2.x came out it would only recognise my "C" drive (as in partition) . I got it to recognise my "D" by C&P active Program Files entire folder(s) ; simply transferring an .exe or.dll file was not enough . No problem since :ie: can change the drive settings as I wish .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-1
Nergali RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Member 26th Jul, 2012 23:41
Score: 19
Posts: 48
User Since: 23rd Aug 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Yeah, Anothony that was the method I was going to try, I remembered doing that with 2.x (didn't they also give us a way to select drives in one of the 2.x versions, i thought they had :-/ )
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-1
BeBiMa RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Member 27th Jul, 2012 00:01
Score: 1
Posts: 18
User Since: 30th Jul 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
Last edited on 27th Jul, 2012 00:09
Sorry, if I must state this. Looking at the log shows me an HTTP error.
Are you behind a proxy? PSI 2 and 3 cannot detemine the network settings about proxies.
This problem is covered by support with the statement: PSI does not support proxies.

Why then the settings for this?
Why is V1 able to handle this?

If PSI says "Updating Scanning Results" it tries to POST the results, but there is no answer.
Before it tried to load the definitions. The GET operation is answered by "Method not allowed" or "Page not found" or any text readable for humans, but PSI interprets it as invalid data and advances.
This is my intermediate result of my investigations about this problem.
Any further investigations are in the field of debugging and QA. But this is not my job as simple user of this SW. :(

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nergali RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Member 27th Jul, 2012 00:31
Score: 19
Posts: 48
User Since: 23rd Aug 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: US
no no proxy going on
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
BeBiMa RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Member 27th Jul, 2012 10:58
Score: 1
Posts: 18
User Since: 30th Jul 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
Maybe it is no proxy problem, but HTTP error 405 means a problem with the network config.
I do not think Secunia refuses GET requests to psi3.secunia.com. ;)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

BeBiMa

RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
[+]
This reply has been deleted
Nergali RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Member 27th Jul, 2012 22:20
Score: 19
Posts: 48
User Since: 23rd Aug 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Success, after turning off and turning on Http 1.1 compatibility it looks as though the machine is now able to run a scan and see drives
I have (at least) one more pc that is having this (or simular) issue so I will do some testing on that machine as well.

it may be that between the upgrade from ie7 to ie 8 some sort of proxy became stuck in an old setting. Perhaps related to http://support.microsoft.com/kb/947513
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Nergali RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Member 31st Jul, 2012 23:33
Score: 19
Posts: 48
User Since: 23rd Aug 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Last edited on 31st Jul, 2012 23:37
After 4 Days I can conclusivly say that turning off and back on http 1.1 support, has indeed allowed this computer to work. As I stated I have one more that is having the same sort of issue so I'm going to try and do that once i can get the computer to myself.


EDIT: It seems somebody randomly up and down voted posts in this threads. Dear trolls please stop your trolling. If you have reason to state why you feel those posts were un-useful (or useful) it'd be wonderful to hear why. Note this is not a call for people not to down vote something, it is just that the votes in this thread don't seem to make much sense
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Expert Contributor 1st Aug, 2012 16:04
Score: 2463
Posts: 3,348
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello Nergali ,

Maurice Joyce and I are aware of this voting problem which arises from time to time ; this thread was not the only one to suffer Čon this occasion :(((

Maurice keeps an eye on such things and tries to limit the stupidity !!!!! Votes are not of any consequence , so I almost never vote . "Trolling" like this can be annoying and is a "fact of life" in the modern "techie age' ; some ignore it completely :)) while it annoys others :((

Your http research may well help others , so look forward to your conclusions .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Gustar_Terpstra RE: "Updating Scanning Results"
Member 5th Aug, 2012 15:09
Score: -1
Posts: 7
User Since: 5th Aug 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
on 24th Jul, 2012 22:09, Maurice Joyce wrote:
... That said. I have never found a solution of reintroducing the drives except to reverting back to the good old reliable V 1.5.0.2.

...



Hi Maurice,

I found out this thread still is open, ... U still use PSI Version 1.5.0.2 urself as the most reliable PSI-version?

--
Gustar Terpstra
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-1

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+