Forum Thread: 64-bit Version?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
OSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
virtualguy 64-bit Version?
Member 13th Aug, 2012 22:44
Ranking: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 5th Jan, 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I have tried running the scanner in Waterfox (Firefox compiled as 64-bit), but it doesn't work. Is the Secunia OSI 32-bit only?

Maurice Joyce RE: 64-bit Version?
Handling Contributor 13th Aug, 2012 23:29
Score: 11932
Posts: 9,158
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I note you have been asking this question for some time & Secunia Support have not responded.

Waterfox is not a supported browser nor is it clear that a 64 Bit browser is not supported.
http://secunia.com/products/consumer/osi/system_re...

On that basis,I tried a scan using OSI using:

Windows 7 SP1 64Bit
IE9 64 Bit
Oracle JAVA 7 update 5 64 Bit.

Every thing loads correctly but on pressing the start button nothing happens.

A second test on another test PC using all 32 Bit works perfectly.

The conclusion is that OSI is not supported in the pure 64 Bit mode. Given the time you have spent waiting for an answer from Secunia I would contact their support at support@secunia.com to confirm our findings.

Hope this helps.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
E.Jeppesen RE: 64-bit Version?
Secunia Official 14th Aug, 2012 11:10
Score: 220
Posts: 618
User Since: 24th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
We have just updated the OSI system requirements to make it clear that only the 32 bit versions of the listed browsers are currently supported.

This thread has been marked as locked.