Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
normanp "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work
Member 14th Aug, 2012 22:41
Ranking: -9
Posts: 9
User Since: 28th Dec, 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I'm using version 3.0.0.3003, When right clicking on a program, selecting "ignore updates to this program" I see that this program disappears briefly from the list. Next, the icons in the Status column turn orange, the program reappears again on the list. This is WinZip 9.x classified as "End of Life"

Thanks for you help in advance!!!

vegdiver RE: "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work
Member 14th Aug, 2012 23:04
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 15th Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I'm having the same issue- "ignore updates...." The program leaves for a moment, then pops right back up. Help please, Secunia? Thanks!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work
Handling Contributor 14th Aug, 2012 23:06
Score: 11569
Posts: 8,887
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
It is a known bug. Secunia are working on a fix.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
normanp RE: "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work
Member 14th Aug, 2012 23:09
Score: -9
Posts: 9
User Since: 28th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Curiously, I see the same problem on another computer running Secunia PSI 2.x. Suddenly, two programs that I set to be ignored reappeared as no longer supported. It is impossible to set PSI 2.x to ignore them.
Is this a system-wide problem?
Please help
Thanks a lot in advance!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work
Handling Contributor 14th Aug, 2012 23:39
Score: 11569
Posts: 8,887
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Looks like it. I have just tested version 2.0.0.3003 & version 2.0.0.4003 & they now act in the same manner.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
wr RE: "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work
Contributor 14th Aug, 2012 23:58
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
@ Maurice

This same action is happening in v1.5.0.2 also.
Ignore Rule seems to invoke but upon doing a Full
not a Program rescan the Ignore Rule is ignored.

Hope this helps.

Regards, wr


--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
normanp RE: "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work
Member 15th Aug, 2012 00:14
Score: -9
Posts: 9
User Since: 28th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Maybe this was caused by something in the Windows Update for today? Permission problem?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work
Handling Contributor 15th Aug, 2012 00:18
Score: 11569
Posts: 8,887
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
As far as I am concerned it is a Secunia bug. Hopefully they will read this thread & comment.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
wr RE: "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work
Contributor 15th Aug, 2012 00:26
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi Maurice

What with all the different v. of the PSI 1.x,2.x,& 3.x
and the various OSs involved I agree 100%. I'll
stay subscribed to this thread & check in tomorrow about
(local) lunchtime to see if Secunia has corrected the
problem.

Regards, wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
guit30 RE: "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work
Member 15th Aug, 2012 03:35
Score: -9
Posts: 8
User Since: 2nd Jul 2012
System Score: 100%
Location: US
I have PSI 2 and it showed that I needed updates after I did a Norton Scan, Installed, rescanned and now everything is fine. Love Secunia
Jim
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1
tonymazz RE: "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work
Member 15th Aug, 2012 04:01
Score: 1
Posts: 3
User Since: 19th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I am running into the same thing with v3.00.2003 today.... has been working fine today says I need an update on iNotes 8.5.3 ....problem is I can't update it nor ignore it.... irritating...

I am less-than enthusiastic when you say that you "hope they read this thread...." etc etc....

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
E.Jeppesen RE: "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work
Secunia Official 15th Aug, 2012 10:34
Score: 220
Posts: 618
User Since: 24th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Last edited on 15th Aug, 2012 10:57
Thank you all for reporting this issue. We are fully aware of it and are working to get it fixed ASAP.

Edit: The issue should now have been fixed. A rescan may be required.
wr RE: "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work
Contributor 15th Aug, 2012 18:56
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Thanks for posting, Emil. v1.5.0.2 seems 'back to normal'
therefore am unsubscribing-good luck all.

Regards, wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mwonex2 RE: "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work
Member 16th Aug, 2012 14:35
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 17th Jun 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 16th Aug, 2012 15:15
Hello,

In fact, the ignore command works well on psi 2, so that I wonder if I have to change for PSI 3.
I just had some difficulties to view program list this morning, but it is Ok now, I think that each version has its bugs.

Anyhow, when you can't "ignore" a program, I thinks to that when a program does not match, it's better to see about "uninstall" from the config list on your PC, then instal only the last one:
sometimes it wil work well, and it did for me:

For exemple it happened for me for shockwave player which needs to uninstall prévious version, thens install the "slim" last one.

Best regards
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
QuadraQ RE: "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work
Member 16th Aug, 2012 22:22
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 25th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I'm sorry but it's not fixed for me. I'm using Secunia 3.0.0.3001.

I have two programs that are both end-of-life and harmless, so I want to tell Secunia to ignore them, but like the others have reported they briefly go away and then pop right back into the list. I've also noticed that when I bring Secunia 3 up, my cursor is constantly switching between the normal cursor and the "wait" cursor. That started after I tried to ignore a program for the first time.

Help!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
lmacri RE: "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work
Member 17th Aug, 2012 01:00
Score: 42
Posts: 86
User Since: 9th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Hi Emil:

Ignore seems to be working again for my PSI v. 2.0.0.3001. My end-of-life MS Office software that I've excluded from scans is no longer showing up in today's scan.

--
Vista Home Premium 32-bit SP2 * NIS 2013 v. 20.4.0.40 * IE 9 * FF v. 29.0 * PSI v. 2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mwonex RE: "ignore updates to this program" doesn't work
Member 17th Aug, 2012 09:35
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 17th Aug 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
Last edited on 17th Aug, 2012 09:36
Hello QuadraQ,

I understand your problem. I wonder why don't you try then secunia 2 in place of secunia .3
I head of "Maurice" that they are not bound ses upadte.

perhaps is it possible to use them side by side...may be?

You should say mor about programs which could be "end of life" and your sustem:
Some programs are made for Xp and are not followed.

Best regards

P.S. Sorry I had to subscrobe another time like "mwonex", because I could not log anymore as mwonex2

--
mwonex
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability