navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: problems updating to Firefox v15

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Mozilla Foundation
And, this specific program:
Mozilla Firefox 15.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
taffy078 problems updating to Firefox v15
Contributor 2nd Sep, 2012 07:30
Ranking: 408
Posts: 1,352
User Since: 26th Feb, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
I ran PSI on my Win7 laptop earlier and found that my v14.0.1.4577 was End-of-Life. PSI couldn't auto-update because Firefox "was in use".

I went to Mozilla's site which confirmed that I needed v15 but when I clicked OK, instead of just getting on with the update - the norm - it said I was trying to open a binary file & gave me an option of save or cancel.
I saved and eventually the update failed.

I went to my XP desktop - same message in PSI but when I opened Firefox there is no message about update needed.

Someone else has had a problem with the update:
http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/935835?...

Is anyone here having problems?

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003

taffy078 RE: problems updating to Firefox v15
Contributor 2nd Sep, 2012 07:50
Score: 408
Posts: 1,352
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Firefox on my XP3 desktop has just updated itself to v15.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: problems updating to Firefox v15
Contributor 2nd Sep, 2012 08:26
Score: 408
Posts: 1,352
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
I've just updated to v15 on my Win7 laptop. I went to the first help tag, ignored the second help tag and instead opened the 'about firefox tag.

This started the update - looks as if Mozilla have changed their own auto-detect/update?

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+