Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: XML Core updates

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Microsoft
And, this specific program:
Microsoft XML Core Services (MSXML) 4.x

This thread has been marked as resolved.
KayeW XML Core updates
Member 28th Sep, 2012 22:43
Ranking: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 28th Sep, 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
PSI wants me to update three Microsoft XML Core Services (MSXML) 3.x, 4.x, and 6.x. I just updated yesterday and the updates included XML Core Services 4.0, SP3 (KB2721691). When I click on the update link in PSI, I get the MS update page that does not show the requested updates. What to do? Ignore?
Kaye

Post "RE: XML Core updates" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: XML Core updates
Handling Contributor 28th Sep, 2012 23:06
Score: 11610
Posts: 8,906
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 28th Sep, 2012 23:17
Kaye

Have you rebooted & carried out a full PSI rescan since installing MSXML 4?

If so what version number is showing in PSI?

Does it look like this?
https://akkkug.bay.livefilestore.com/y1pMSKZd-0S8z...

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
KayeW RE: XML Core updates
Member 29th Sep, 2012 04:32
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 28th Sep 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 29th Sep, 2012 04:36
Maurice,
Thank you for your response. I thought I had rebooted a couple of times, but rebooted again; and now PSI v.3 shows all three versions of MSXML as updated. My screen view has large icons with a title and checked as updated.
Thanks again for your assistance.
Edit: I see that there is more detail on the history page.
Kaye
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: XML Core updates
Handling Contributor 29th Sep, 2012 09:13
Score: 11610
Posts: 8,906
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I assume you mean the history page of PSI version 3?

If using that version have you noticed there is an update to version 3.0.0.4001? The change log is here:

http://secunia.com/products/consumer/PSI/sys_req/



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
KayeW RE: XML Core updates
Member 29th Sep, 2012 20:47
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 28th Sep 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thanks again, Maurice.
I updated PSI and now have the screen where I can choose to scan. However, the program doesn't find my default browser (IE8) when I click on Forum and then asks if I want to use IE. Perhaps I should have IE open when I start PSI.
Kaye
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: XML Core updates
Handling Contributor 29th Sep, 2012 23:15
Score: 11610
Posts: 8,906
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Is IE8 set up correctly in the Registry?

To see this key, open the Registry Editor by typing "regedit" in the box that appears by clicking "Run" in the start menu on Windows XP.

Then navigate with regedit to [b]"HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\HTTP\shell\open\command".[/b ]

"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" ľnohome

or, if using a 64 Bit system

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" -nohome

If it is not correct,or you cannot find it or if you have no idea how to change the key if incorrect I will be happy to give more detailed instructions.


--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
KayeW RE: XML Core updates
Member 30th Sep, 2012 00:54
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 28th Sep 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hi Maurice,
I wasn't able to use your instructions; so I used "Find" under "Edit" in the Registry Editor until I found:
"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplorer.exe" -no home

I also found endings after the .exe" such as [ -extoff], [%1], and without the quote marks [,-17] There weren't any brackets. I just put them to distinguish the endings.

So it appears that the Registry is correct with the -no home ending.
Kaye
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: XML Core updates
Handling Contributor 30th Sep, 2012 13:27
Score: 11610
Posts: 8,906
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 30th Sep, 2012 13:27
Kaye,
I have not been able to recreate your problem using PSI version 3.0.0.4001. This is how you find that key to double check it is correct.


1. Opening REGEDIT

Click Start>Run>type regedit in the search box>U are now in the Registry.

2. Finding the correct key to check

a. Look in the LEFT PANE & at the top U will see HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT. To the left of that key is an arrow. Click it to reveal a long list of Gobbledygook.
b. Scroll down that list to the entry http Click the arrow to the left and look for SHELL click the arrow to the left of Shell and look for OPEN click the arrow to the left of Open and it will reveal COMMAND

This is what you should see:

https://skydrive.live.com/#cid=E9EA368CBD08ADB3&id...

Look at the data in the right hand pane & you should see this EXACTLY as written.

"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" ľnohome

Once you have checked click the red cross at the top right of the open window.

Is that setting correct?










--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
KayeW RE: XML Core updates
Member 30th Sep, 2012 20:38
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 28th Sep 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hi Maurice,

Found it -- under Data is: (value not set) So the setting is not correct. I must confess that I am somewhat leery of making changes in the registry.

Kaye
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: XML Core updates
Handling Contributor 1st Oct, 2012 00:29
Score: 11610
Posts: 8,906
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 1st Oct, 2012 00:31
Kaye,
If you want to fix it just follow these instructions & all will be well. (Most of it is a repeat of what you have already done).

Firstly copy the bold detail here (highlight it & then use CTRL+C) "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" -nohome

Now follow this:

Click Start>run>type regedit in the search box>REGEDIT.EXE will appear at the top of the list>click it>from the prompt allow the programme to run>U are now in the Registry.

2. Finding the correct key to modify

a. Look in the LEFT PANE & at the top U will see HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT. To the left of that key is an arrow. Click it to reveal a long list of Gobbledygook.
b. Scroll down that list to the entry http Click the arrow to the left and look for SHELL click the arrow to the left of Shell and look for OPEN click the arrow to the left of Open and it will reveal COMMAND

3. Modifying the key.

a. Double click on the word COMMAND. The word COMMAND should be highlighted blue.
b. Now look in the RIGHT HAND PANE and U will see an entry starting with an ICON next to the word (default). RIGHT click on the word (default).
c. A box will appear. U will see an entry called VALUE DATA
d. Now paste(CTRL+V) the detail you copied earlier.IT MUST BE EXACTLY AS WRITTEN.

"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" -nohome

Once inserted click OK> the browser U have chosen should now show under DATA in the RIGHT PANE.

Now EXIT the registry by click the RED BOX with a X at the top RIGHT corner.

Details here in picture form for you.

https://akkkug.bay.livefilestore.com/y1p8fyuWVEDBc...


Checking IE8.

Open IE>from the top line menu select TOOLS>INTERNET OPTIONS>select the PROGRAMS tab>ensure in the DEFAULT WEB BROWSER section that the MAKE DEFAULT button is greyed out & there is a tick (check mark) in the box provided.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
KayeW RE: XML Core updates
Member 1st Oct, 2012 09:32
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 28th Sep 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Maurice,

Sorry for the delay. I was transferring photos on another computer - what a headache. I think I screwed the process up a few month ago and finally decided to tackle the fix.

I followed your instruction for making the changes in the registry and everything worked out fine. Secunia forum now opens in IE.

Thank you very much.
Kaye

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: XML Core updates
Handling Contributor 1st Oct, 2012 09:38
Score: 11610
Posts: 8,906
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Pleased to see you are all fixed up.

On that basis, I will lock this thread for U sometime tomorrow unless U post back asking for it to be left open.

This will protect your mail box from possible update emails from "tag on" posts

You can of course lock threads U have created. Just click the ACCEPT button in the post of the helper who offered U the best solution/advice to solve your problem.

Secunia Support can always reopen threads by applying by email to: support@secunia.com

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability