Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: 2 pcs

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
peterrrr 2 pcs
Member 9th Oct, 2012 18:19
Ranking: 1
Posts: 74
User Since: 5th Sep, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hello
My desktop flagged Firefox but I am already on the relaese channel.

My laptop which is similarly configured flagged no FF but did flag Adobe 11 activex and ipapi.

I am sorry I could not remeber eactly what the names were.

Why is Secunia PSI flagging different programs and why does nothing happen to the Adobes it flagged except say it is downloading but just spins and spins.?
Thank you

Maurice Joyce RE: 2 pcs
Handling Contributor 9th Oct, 2012 18:45
Score: 11545
Posts: 8,881
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Peter,

Have you tried installing these using these links?

These are the 2 latest downloads:

Firefox

http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/new/


Flash

http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

Do not to forget to Opt Out unless you want to be "Googled".

You may need to complete a full PSI rescan for them to register.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
peterrrr RE: 2 pcs
Member 10th Oct, 2012 00:29
Score: 1
Posts: 74
User Since: 5th Sep 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hello Maurice
What do you mean by being Googled if I don't opt out? It sounds scary -I did something wrong?
Do you mean sign out?

FF seems to be on the release channel already.

I keep rescanning and the two Flash Players just keep spinning.

Peter

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: 2 pcs
Handling Contributor 10th Oct, 2012 01:57
Score: 11545
Posts: 8,881
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
When you click on my Flash link you will see this:

https://akkkug.bay.livefilestore.com/y1pnDZnMdJyIc...

You will note it explains how to install it manually.



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Anthony Wells RE: 2 pcs
Expert Contributor 10th Oct, 2012 14:26
Score: 2412
Posts: 3,309
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 10th Oct, 2012 14:31
Hi Maurice ,

The "option" seemingly changes by country or mirror or server (geo-location) ; I get a "FREE" MaCafferty scan offered to me here in France .

EDIT:

HI Peter ,

MY PSI (2.0.0.3003) is not displaying Firefox correctly ; if your Ff's internal Help menu-> About shows version16.0 then you are up todate .
I only use the internal updater .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
peterrrr RE: 2 pcs
Member 10th Oct, 2012 15:26
Score: 1
Posts: 74
User Since: 5th Sep 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 10th Oct, 2012 15:28
FireFox was 15 and it was on the release channel.
I clicked to update and now have 16, release channel..

I see what you mean about Google now and thank you.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: 2 pcs
Handling Contributor 10th Oct, 2012 15:28
Score: 11545
Posts: 8,881
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Have you sorted out Flash?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
peterrrr RE: 2 pcs
Member 10th Oct, 2012 15:32
Score: 1
Posts: 74
User Since: 5th Sep 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Secunia no longer flags anything.
What I was concerned about was that Secunia spun over the Adobes yesterday for about 20 minutes. I rebooted and it did it again so I discontinued.
Today it says all is successful.

I will let you know if this happens again but I amn happy right now.
Thank you
Peter
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: 2 pcs
Handling Contributor 10th Oct, 2012 15:36
Score: 11545
Posts: 8,881
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 11th Oct, 2012 09:42
Good news.

On that basis, I will lock this thread for U sometime tomorrow unless U post back asking for it to be left open.

This will protect your mail box from possible update emails from "tag on" posts

You can of course lock threads U have created. Just click the ACCEPT button in the post of the helper who offered U the best solution/advice to solve your problem.

Secunia Support can always reopen threads by applying by email to: support@secunia.com
EDIT

Thread locked at: 08:41 11/10/2012




--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability