Forum Thread: NIS (Norton) - Identity Safe problems

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as locked.
taffy078 NIS (Norton) - Identity Safe problems
Contributor 1st Nov, 2012 14:34
Ranking: 408
Posts: 1,464
User Since: 26th Feb, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
I've had some frustrating issues that the Norton forum has resolved:
http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-Toolbar-Nort...

But the latest consequence (that I've posted on that thread) is that when I followed a link provided to check "mynortonaccount", I had a message on a Norton page that said a "US Trade Embargo Agreement does not allow access to this site."!!!

I'm sure it's not a security issue, that it's a glitch, but I thought that perhaps this is something that even Maurice has never come across!!!

I'm not going back to that screen until the Norton guy says it's safe!

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7

Maurice Joyce RE: NIS (Norton) - Identity Safe problems
Handling Contributor 1st Nov, 2012 16:39
Score: 12090
Posts: 9,383
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 1st Nov, 2012 16:58
Had a quick look at the Norton Forum.

If U are up to date U should be running version 20.2.0.19. Can you confirm you have that version?

EDIT

Just used the acoount link provided on the Forum & direct from Norton & both work perfectly.

What happens when you try it using Norton Management?


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1607 Build 14393.222
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: NIS (Norton) - Identity Safe problems
Contributor 2nd Nov, 2012 17:31
Score: 408
Posts: 1,464
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello Maurice.

When I read this yesterday, I immediately checked both my laptop (Win7) and my desktop (XP Home Premium). I'd checked both PCs for an NIS update. Both updated, seemingly to the latest version. I had to restart both and afterwards both PCs showed v20.1.1.2. I'd had enough at that stage so l checked again today.

The desktop had been on all day but the laptop just for the last few minutes. Both are now showing v20.2.0.19!

A strange thing (to me!) is that whilst NIS is shown in my scan results on the desktop, it doesn't appear on my laptop. Any clues, please?

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: NIS (Norton) - Identity Safe problems
Handling Contributor 2nd Nov, 2012 18:21
Score: 12090
Posts: 9,383
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I have just taken a look at my Windows 7 test PC. Symantec is showing perfectly in PSI version 2.0.0.4003 which I believe you use. Have you completed a full scan on the laptop?

If so & it is still not showing what I can say is that the latest upgrade has caused issues for some.

I have been "called out" twice to fix problems. I used the Norton Reinstall Tool & it worked perfectly afterwards.

The tool is here:

https://www-secure.symantec.com/norton-support/jsp...

If you have doubts whether it is installed correctly you may wish giving it a try.

Neither customers (Windows 7 & Vista users)are remotely interested in using any Secunia product so I cannot state it also showed for them too.

Is that odd message still showing via your Account or Norton Management?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1607 Build 14393.222
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.