Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: where's Adobe Flash?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Adobe Systems
And, this specific program:
Adobe Flash Player 11.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
rd52 where's Adobe Flash?
Member 19th Feb, 2013 02:10
Ranking: 5
Posts: 36
User Since: 4th Dec, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I asked why Flash was not being listed a little over a week ago. It was listing it, and as of a scan today it no longer lists Adobe Flash as a program on my computer.

I've been a longtime user and in my opinion this newest version seems to be much buggier than past versions.

Mynah Bird RE: where's Adobe Flash?
Member 19th Feb, 2013 02:24
Score: 8
Posts: 33
User Since: 26th Apr 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I just scanned and I noticed that Adobe Flash Active X is now gone for me as well and I'm using Version 2 of Secunia. It seems to come and go periodically and so far there hasn't been a permanent fix.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip where's Adobe Flash?
Member 19th Feb, 2013 07:15
Score: 65
Posts: 520
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Last edited on 19th Feb, 2013 07:16
Hello @rd52 and @Maynah Bird. This is showing on and off since a long time. Secunia is working on the problem but it's clearly not yet solved. Just wait and be patient.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
E.Jeppesen RE: where's Adobe Flash?
Secunia Official 19th Feb, 2013 10:07
Score: 220
Posts: 618
User Since: 24th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
I believe this has been fixed. Please rescan and let me know if you still see any issues.
Maurice Joyce RE: where's Adobe Flash?
Handling Contributor 19th Feb, 2013 10:12
Score: 11626
Posts: 8,914
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
After two full rescans it is not showing in PSI 3.0.0.6001 using Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip where's Adobe Flash?
Member 19th Feb, 2013 12:28
Score: 65
Posts: 520
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hi Emil, same results as reported by Maurice. Ran several scans between 12.00 - 12.20 hrs local
Amsterdam time. Asobe Flash not shown.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
E.Jeppesen RE: where's Adobe Flash?
Secunia Official 19th Feb, 2013 12:48
Score: 220
Posts: 618
User Since: 24th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Thank you both for the quick response. It seems our initial fix was short-lived. I will keep you updated as soon as Flash ActiveX should again be detected.
Mynah Bird RE: where's Adobe Flash?
Member 20th Feb, 2013 02:57
Score: 8
Posts: 33
User Since: 26th Apr 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
After my scan today using Secunia 2.0.0.4003 Win 7 SP1 64 bit, Active X Flash is still not showing.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: where's Adobe Flash?
Member 20th Feb, 2013 23:41
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Here are some possible explanations why:

http://forums.adobe.com/message/4981891

https://www.adobe.com/security/flashplayer/article...

https://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player/kb/disable-lo...

https://www.macromedia.com/support/documentation/e...

I would hate to be a programer for Secunia

--
Windows Home Basic-Service Pack 2
Dell AMD Athlon 64x2 Processor 4000+ 2.10Ghz 2Memory 32 Bit

Firefox 27+ - MS Security Essentials+Spybot-Spyware Blaster-Malwarebytes-Emsisoft Malware- Sandboxie

IE 9-seldom












Was this reply relevant?
+2
-2
rd52 RE: where's Adobe Flash?
Member 21st Feb, 2013 01:27
Score: 5
Posts: 36
User Since: 4th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Still hasn't made an appearance in my Secunia V3
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ManFromOz RE: where's Adobe Flash?
Member 21st Feb, 2013 04:29
Score: 15
Posts: 101
User Since: 6th Jun 2012
System Score: 100%
Location: AU
Last edited on 21st Feb, 2013 04:59
I just noticed that the Adobe Flash Player Settings Manager in Windows Control Panel had disappeared from my Windows 7 SP1 x64 machine so I uninstalled Flash Player and re-installed it again and the Flash Player now shows in Secunia PSI 2 ( and my Settings Manager is back in Contol Panel)

ManFromOz
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip where's Adobe Flash?
Member 21st Feb, 2013 08:21
Score: 65
Posts: 520
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hi Man From Oz, after reading your post I ran a full scan and Flash indeed showed up. I didn't uninstall/install Flash before. Therefore I'm not shure that the issue is permanently fixed by Secunia and I wait for news from them. I'm not surprised if Flash disappears again.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
E.Jeppesen RE: where's Adobe Flash?
Secunia Official 21st Feb, 2013 09:44
Score: 220
Posts: 618
User Since: 24th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
After a rescan Adobe Flash Player ActiveX should now be detected again.
Maurice Joyce RE: where's Adobe Flash?
Handling Contributor 21st Feb, 2013 09:50
Score: 11626
Posts: 8,914
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
It nows shows. I assume the problem is the same as you described to me by email some time ago?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
E.Jeppesen RE: where's Adobe Flash?
Secunia Official 21st Feb, 2013 10:21
Score: 220
Posts: 618
User Since: 24th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Yes, the issue is still caused by the constantly changing filenames for Adobe Flash Player, as well as its changing locations. That is why Adobe Flash Player requires special handling in our system. We have found a solution and are currently working on implementing it.
Maurice Joyce RE: where's Adobe Flash?
Handling Contributor 21st Feb, 2013 13:40
Score: 11626
Posts: 8,914
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thank you.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rd52 RE: where's Adobe Flash?
Member 21st Feb, 2013 15:25
Score: 5
Posts: 36
User Since: 4th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I did a scan and now flash shows. My scan flagged Java as needing to be updated, which it did. Thanks Secunia!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: where's Adobe Flash?
Handling Contributor 21st Feb, 2013 17:07
Score: 11626
Posts: 8,914
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 22nd Feb, 2013 16:36
Pleased to see you are all fixed up.

On that basis, I will lock this thread for U sometime tomorrow unless U post back asking for it to be left open.

This will protect your mail box from possible update emails from "tag on" posts

Secunia Support can always reopen threads by applying by email to: support@secunia.com

EDIT

Thread locked at: 15:35 22/02/2013 GMT






--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability