Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: scanning stuck on the "retrieving results" screen

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
taffy078 scanning stuck on the "retrieving results" screen
Contributor 19th Feb, 2013 12:18
Ranking: 408
Posts: 1,335
User Since: 26th Feb, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
I’m one of Maurice Joyce’s end-users. After receiving his weekly update, I took the appropriate action (updated some, uninstalled others). I did this on my XP (IE8) desktop and my Win7 (IE9) laptop. I had to restart both PCs to complete the uninstall procedures.

I opened PSI3 – the Win7 failed three times (‘Secunia not responding’) and it took 9 minutes to open on the fourth attempt. Similarly, the XP.

I scanned both – after 15 minutes stuck on the ‘retrieving results page, I ‘X’d both and restarted Secunia. Both opened after about 4 or 5 minutes and opened the ‘show list of programs’ after a few minutes. I posted the problem here
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/138...
and was advised to create a new thread. So here it is.

Is anyone else having similar problems with the scanning procedure hanging up on the “retrieving results’ page?

PS As I'm and end-user, should I have posted this in the xSI forum? If so, would some kind person please move it to there. Thanks

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003

E.Jeppesen RE: scanning stuck on the "retrieving results" screen
Secunia Official 20th Feb, 2013 12:26
Score: 220
Posts: 618
User Since: 24th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Last edited on 20th Feb, 2013 12:27
Please go through this FAQ entry to make sure your system settings are correct.
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Make sure to pay special attention to the last part about the "Secunia Update Agent" and "Secunia PSI Agent".
dagutierrez RE: scanning stuck on the "retrieving results" screen
Member 20th Feb, 2013 18:57
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 19th Feb 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Taffy, this same solution was posted on my thread and I just wanted to let you know that it fixed my issue. Good luck with yours!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: scanning stuck on the "retrieving results" screen
Contributor 20th Feb, 2013 19:45
Score: 408
Posts: 1,335
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello Emil, dagutierrez.

I checked the link and found that all of my settings are already what the FAQ said was needed.

I then rescanned and found that my Firefox needed to be updated from v18.0.2.4780 to v19.

I went to Firefox, clicked on Help/About and the automatic update started. It demanded a restart, which I did.

I rescanned again and this time my results said exactly the same as above but under status it said "Select language!"

Firefox shows that it is up to date - PSI3 says it isn't and is querying the language. My language isn't printable on a family forum - apologies. I'll email screen shots to Support and then go and eat, drink and be . . . . maudlin. ;o)

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: scanning stuck on the "retrieving results" screen
Handling Contributor 20th Feb, 2013 21:03
Score: 11736
Posts: 8,995
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Looking at xSI it looks like both PC's have not got the update installed correctly.

The other Endpoints show v19.0.0.4794 as installed & registered with PSI.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: scanning stuck on the "retrieving results" screen
Contributor 21st Feb, 2013 08:40
Score: 408
Posts: 1,335
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
I was just about to reply when I realised that I've gone 'off-topic' so I decided to create a new thread.

But someone else has complained about Firefox updates and I certainly have more comments to make. I'll post them here:

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/138...

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability