navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Firefox update

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Mozilla Foundation
And, this specific program:
Mozilla Firefox 17.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
FiarHors Firefox update
Member 21st Feb, 2013 08:25
Ranking: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 29th Nov, 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: CA
PSI is telling me that I have Firefox version 17.0.2.4755 installed and that I need to update to version 17.0.3. In fact, I have version 19.0 installed.

I have rescanned twice and have closed PSI and restarted it but the results are the same.

I have never experienced this problem with PSI. It has been a good and well behaved program.

Your assistance would be appreciated. Thank you.

taffy078 RE: Firefox update
Contributor 21st Feb, 2013 08:38
Score: 408
Posts: 1,352
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
My problems are similar. I was just about to create a new thread from posts here:

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/138...

BAck shortly


--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Firefox update
Handling Contributor 21st Feb, 2013 08:49
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
What path is PSI showing to the file it is trying to update?

FINDING A FILE PATH USING PSI

VERSION 2


From the DASHBOARD page click on SCAN RESULTS.

1. This will list all your programmes with a + to the left of each programme.
2. Click the + sign next to the item that U want help with.
3. This will reveal the path under DETECTED INSTANCES.
4. Below DETECTED INSTANCES you will see this You can double click this row for additional information & options>double click it>a box will appear>look to the RIGHT & U will see TROUBLESHOOT REPORT in BLUE writing under the heading TOOLBOX> click TroubleShoot Report & it will reveal some information in a box>highlight the information revealed from ---START--- to ---END--- & copy it (CTRL+C) then post it to the Forum (CTRL+V)

VERSION 3
This version does not have such an easy method to publish the path.

Open PSI>once open select Show Programs.
U will now see a page full of programme icons or a list.
Right click on the programme in error>select Show Details - that will open a box showing the path & version number of the offending file.
U now have 2 options:
1. Write down the exact file path & install version - return to the Forum & type that information.
2. Take a screen shot & publish that.

Last Reviewed 07:48 21/02/2013



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: Firefox update
Contributor 21st Feb, 2013 08:53
Score: 408
Posts: 1,352
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hi FiarHors. I have a similar problem as I said earlier.

PSI v3 said that I needed to update my Firefox (on my XP desktop) from 18.0.2.4780 to v19. I went to Firefox and updated. Firefox confirms I have v19.
I rescanned again and this time PSI results said exactly the same as above but under status it said "Select language!"

I posted my problem in http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/138...

There, Maurice replied "Looking at xSI it looks like both PC's have not got the update installed correctly.
The other Endpoints show v19.0.0.4794 as installed & registered with PSI."

Maurice - I hadn't updated my Win7/IE9 laptop yesterday so I did that just now. More problems - Firefox says I have v19 - PSI scan says I still have v18.0.2.4780 but it also says that I am up-to-date.

I've just rescanned my XP/IE8 - the good news is that my score has gone from 98% to 100%. The bad news is that the same entry is at the top with "Select language" and is shown as in need of a manual update.

Surely this proves it's a PSI problem?

PS If you/Support want screen prints just let me know. Thanks

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Firefox update
Handling Contributor 21st Feb, 2013 08:57
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
You are showing as up to date & perfect. Close PSI & then reopen it. What does it show then?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: Firefox update
Contributor 21st Feb, 2013 09:23
Score: 408
Posts: 1,352
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Both are showing up-to-date Firefox, Maurice. All's well that ends well etc etc but it does raise doubts in my mind.

BTW - My Win7 has five new 'ignored' programs - I've emailed you & Support.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Firefox update
Handling Contributor 21st Feb, 2013 09:34
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Not sure what the doubts are.

I updated Firefox yesterday on my test XP PC then completed a full PSI scan.

The new version was not showing. I suggested it to Secunia & they replied that they had added it to their database.

Another PSI rescan revealed that to be correct.

The whole operation worked flawlessly including the expected change to xSI.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: Firefox update
Contributor 21st Feb, 2013 10:40
Score: 408
Posts: 1,352
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
I'm confused Maurice. Surely Secunia must have had Firefox version v19 already - otherwise how could the scan tell me that my v18 was out of date?

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Firefox update
Handling Contributor 21st Feb, 2013 13:38
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Because I suggested the programme to them. Why would they have it on their database - it is a new version?

They updated the database hence it changed for you.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: Firefox update
Contributor 21st Feb, 2013 15:46
Score: 408
Posts: 1,352
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
First I had "you have Firefox v18 - please update to v19" and my score was 98%.

I updated and my score went to 100%. But the results said I had v18 and that v18 was up-to-date.

This is why I was confused, Maurice. Secunia must have had v19 in their database so I assume that you had told them about it.
But shortly afterwards, they said my v18 (which I didn't have) was up-to-date.

Water under the bridge. I know how busy you are.

What I have learned is that next time, I'll check the details in case there's part of the old version still installed. Thanks

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
FiarHors RE: Firefox update
Member 21st Feb, 2013 16:31
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 29th Nov 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: CA
Problem solved. At 8:30 am MST, this morning, PSI is at 100%. Apparently the problem was corrected during the night.

Thank you all for your help and advice.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Firefox update
Handling Contributor 21st Feb, 2013 17:05
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 22nd Feb, 2013 16:38
Pleased to see you are all fixed up.

On that basis, I will lock this thread for U sometime tomorrow unless U post back asking for it to be left open.

This will protect your mail box from possible update emails from "tag on" posts

Secunia Support can always reopen threads by applying by email to: support@secunia.com

EDIT

Thread locked at: 15:35 22/02/2013 GMT

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+