Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Shockwave problem

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Adobe Systems
And, this specific program:
Adobe Shockwave Player 12.x

This thread has been marked as resolved.
Nikilet Shockwave problem
Member 22nd Feb, 2013 08:36
Ranking: 7
Posts: 283
User Since: 15th Jul, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I just did a manual scan with Secunia psi. It shows that I have Shockwave Player 12; however, when I go to Revo Uninstaller it is showing Shockwave Player 11.6.

Does anyone know why this is?

Post "RE: Shockwave problem" has been selected as an answer.
Leendert Kip Shockwave problem
Member 22nd Feb, 2013 08:52
Score: 65
Posts: 520
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Last edited on 22nd Feb, 2013 08:54
Yes, this happens now and then. Sometimes Revo doesn't pick up a new version immediately.
Select 'refresh' and it should be solved.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: Shockwave problem
Member 22nd Feb, 2013 09:26
Score: 7
Posts: 283
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
That didn't work. I checked and Windows Programs and Features is also listing the 11.6 version.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Shockwave problem
Handling Contributor 22nd Feb, 2013 09:32
Score: 11569
Posts: 8,887
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
What path is PSI showing you to Shockwave?

FINDING A FILE PATH USING PSI

VERSION 2


From the DASHBOARD page click on SCAN RESULTS.

1. This will list all your programmes with a + to the left of each programme.
2. Click the + sign next to the item that U want help with.
3. This will reveal the path under DETECTED INSTANCES.
4. Below DETECTED INSTANCES you will see this You can double click this row for additional information & options>double click it>a box will appear>look to the RIGHT & U will see TROUBLESHOOT REPORT in BLUE writing under the heading TOOLBOX> click TroubleShoot Report & it will reveal some information in a box>highlight the information revealed from ---START--- to ---END--- & copy it (CTRL+C) then post it to the Forum (CTRL+V)

VERSION 3
This version does not have such an easy method to publish the path.

Open PSI>once open select Show Programs.
U will now see a page full of programme icons or a list.
Right click on the programme in error>select Show Details - that will open a box showing the path & version number of the offending file.
U now have 2 options:
1. Write down the exact file path & install version - return to the Forum & type that information.
2. Take a screen shot & publish that.

Last Reviewed 08:31 22/02/2013

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: Shockwave problem
Member 22nd Feb, 2013 09:37
Score: 7
Posts: 283
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 22nd Feb, 2013 09:42
This is what Secunia is showing:
C:\Windows\System32\Adobe\Shockwave 12\SwInit.exe, version 12.0.0.112

Following is what the Troubleshooting Report shows. Thing is, Secunia just simply shows that the program is up to date and there are no problems. Before coming back here I used the Shockwave Uninstaller and it indicated it was successful but Secunia still shows that Ihave version 12 installed, and my computer is still showing I have 11.6.

---START---

Program Name:
Adobe Shockwave Player 12.x

Security State:
Patched

Download Link:
http://dl.secunia.com/SPS/Adobe_Shockwave_Player_1...

Instances Found:
C:\Windows\System32\Adobe\Shockwave 12\SwInit.exe, version: 12.0.0.112

Last System Scan (localtime):
22. Feb 2013, 00:33

Operating System:
Microsoft Windows Vista,
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Shockwave problem
Handling Contributor 22nd Feb, 2013 09:50
Score: 11569
Posts: 8,887
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 22nd Feb, 2013 09:50
1. Open PSI>Scan results.

2. Against the Shockwave entry will be a + sign to the left of it.

3. Click that & it will reveal DETECTED INSTANCES.

4. Below that are two yellow folders. Click the one WITHOUT a red dot.

5. That will open Windows Explorer & U will be able to see the file.
C:\Windows\System32\Adobe\Shockwave 12\SwInit.exe, version 12.0.0.112

What else is in that folder if it exists?


--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: Shockwave problem
Member 22nd Feb, 2013 19:36
Score: 7
Posts: 283
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 22nd Feb, 2013 21:20
There are many things in that folder. I tried to copy it so I could past it here but it's not letting me do that. It starts with a folder labeled Xtras at the top and then goes on to list the following:
Control.dll
dirapi.dll
DynaPlayer.dll
gcapi_dll.dll
gi.dll
gt
gtapi.dll
iml32.dll
Plugin.dll
Proj.dll
shockwave_Projector_ ... (DCR File)
SwHelper_1200112
SwInt
SwLogo
SwMenu.dll
SymCCIS.dll
uninstaller

Adding: Why, when I use the Shockwave uninstaller, does it not remove ALL Shockwave Players so that I can wipe the slate clean and then reinstall?

I used it and apparently it didn't affect the version 12 which Secunia shows as in place -- and did not affect the 11.6 version that my program list is showing.

Also: If I have 11.6 installed, then where is the folder for that since the one in C/Wndows/System32 is the one for version 12?













Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Shockwave problem
Handling Contributor 22nd Feb, 2013 22:22
Score: 11569
Posts: 8,887
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Are those files in a clearly marked SHOCKWAVE folder in System32?

Have you tried this?

Reboot

Re scanned with PSI & checked Control Panel>add/remove for any changes?

Are you using the Revo "freebie"? If 11.6 is still present there after the actions above what does it do if you try to uninstall it?

Likewise Control Panel>add/remove?

When you used the Adobe online uninstaller were your browsers closed or anything that could be using Adobe products like Skype/Live Messenger/Incredimail? If not is best to close them & try the uninstaller again.


--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: Shockwave problem
Member 22nd Feb, 2013 23:55
Score: 7
Posts: 283
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I'm pretty sure I had my browser closed when I used the Shockwave Uninstallter, but I will try again before I reboot.

Yes, all of these items are in the file labeled Shockwave 12 which is in C/Windows/System32/Adobe.

I never tried to uninstall using Revo or the Windows Uninstaller because I didn't think you were supposed to for Shockwave.

I am going to run the uninstaller again, making sure I have the browser closed. Then I will reboot and see what happens.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: Shockwave problem
Member 23rd Feb, 2013 03:11
Score: 7
Posts: 283
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I did everything I said I would and no change.

When I go to the Shockwave Player test page it shows that I have that newest version 12.

I used that FileHippo Update Checker and nothing comes up for Shockwave Player so that is recognizing it as up to date also.

It's still showing version 11.6 in Windows/Programs and Features and in Revo. And yes, I use the free version of Revo.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Shockwave problem
Expert Contributor 23rd Feb, 2013 07:24
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@Nikilet

Have you tried right clicking on the program showing in Revo....for the install location ?

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: Shockwave problem
Member 23rd Feb, 2013 08:24
Score: 7
Posts: 283
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
It is showing the install location for the entry in Revo for Adobe Shockwave Player 11.6.6.636, with a date of 11-24-2012 as the same folder:

C/Windows/System32/Adobe/
There are two folders in this location. One is "Director" with a date modified of
2-22-2013 and within that folder are:
np32dsw_1200112.dll Application Extension
SwDir_1200112.dll Application Extension

The other folder is "Shockwave 12" with a date modified of 2-17-2013.
I listed above what is in that folder, but I just noticed that everything in that folder has a
date modified of 1-30-2013 -- except two items.
The folder at the beginning called Xtras has a date modified of 2-17-2013; however,
when you open the folder the items inside have date modified of 1-30-2013.

The "uninstaller" file also has a date modified of 2-17-2013.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Shockwave problem
Expert Contributor 23rd Feb, 2013 19:30
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@Nikilet

Maurice may have better advice for you....personally tho', I'd uninstall 11 using Revo , ..in Advanced mode.....making sure to carefully check the emboldened items that it finds.

Regards........

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: Shockwave problem
Member 24th Feb, 2013 02:00
Score: 7
Posts: 283
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Your suggestion has gone through my mind, but I will wait awhile longer to see if Maurice has anything further to add.

Thanks!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: Shockwave problem
Member 25th Feb, 2013 00:32
Score: 7
Posts: 283
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
mogs: Since Maurice didn't post back I went ahead and used my Revo as you suggested. Everything seems to be ok now.

Thanks!
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
mogs RE: Shockwave problem
Expert Contributor 25th Feb, 2013 06:30
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@Nikilet

Glad you've got it sorted.
I had an instance recently where Bitdefender 60 sec scanner installed two instances of itself at the same time/date....but Revo was able to sort the jigsaw puzzle of files out....I find it a useful program,
If you wish...you can close the thread by pressing Accept....thereby preventing tag-on posts and reminder e mails.
Regards.........mogs.......

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability