Forum Thread: Unable to install PSI

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
nflder Unable to install PSI
Member 27th Feb, 2013 02:22
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 27th Feb, 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have run into a difficulty: after downloading the exe file from http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal... It downloads OK but when I install it and it starts I only get a flash of a white window when I call it up. I can click on the tray icon or the "Start All Programs SecuniaPSI" and I only get a quick flash of a rectangular window and it's gone. It has scanned as the Tray icon indicates I have several programs that require updates. I have uninstalled, restarted, and downloaded the program again but it's the same result. I used Task Manager - Process to observe what was happening and the tray icon is listed "psi_tray.exe". When I start the program psi.exe does show for a second then disappears. Please advise. By the way I'm using Win XP Media Adition (Prof) SP 3 version 2003. Thanks
Nflder

Post "RE: Unable to install PSI" has been selected as an answer.
mogs RE: Unable to install PSI
Expert Contributor 27th Feb, 2013 03:37
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,269
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@nfider

Best check the settings in the FAQ's carefully.....see that they are all as should be....here :-
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Unable to install PSI
Expert Contributor 27th Feb, 2013 21:49
Score: 2468
Posts: 3,356
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 27th Feb, 2013 22:00
Hi ,

This seems to be the "very old" XP specific bug which had a workaround in the FAQ's (PSI versions 1.x and 2.x) but which was removed therefrom by Secunia and never restored , despite several requests .

Busy atm but maybe Mogs can dig up/find the cure , if not you should ask Secunia direct at support@secunia.com.

Will check back when I can .

EDIT: Got lucky , the fix can be found here :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/130...

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
nflder RE: Unable to install PSI
Member 28th Feb, 2013 02:04
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 27th Feb 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thanks Anthony I located the instructions followed them with no difficulty and it's now working. Now I can on with it !! thanks again ... Fred
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.