Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Feedback Installation Secunia SMB

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
xSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
futureweb Feedback Installation Secunia SMB
Member 8th Mar, 2013 23:49
Ranking: 0
User Since: 7th Mar, 2013
System Score: N/A
Last edited on 8th Mar, 2013 23:57

Hi,

here is my feedback. I have never used Secunia before, so really a newbie. We tried it on 2 computers during the week and decided to deploy it on our 15 machines.

We have a mix of Windows 7 64 Bit, 32 Bit and Windows 8 64 Bit. German.
All Member on a domain. Users don't have admin right, during installation admin was elevated (automatically asked for credentials during setup).

For a beta, all i experienced seems fine. For a paid product, I would have thrown it away. Because most updates, I had to handle myself, as the program just got stuck. You never knew, is it doing something, is it stuck. (Sometimes I waited 20 minutes, nothing happened, than it took 1 minute. Some other time I waited 5 minutes and it worked.)

Not sure if it's the servers it's connecting to, and that too many people are trying the software?

My main solution to get it working again was restarting the service. I should have done a restart-script, so often I had to open up services for restarting.

Here are some questions:
- I found programs, like Photoshop, where it wanted me to update from CS4 to CS6. Surely we can't do that if we don't have a licence. But Corel9, very old, is sais, up2date.
- I found programs, where it said, End of life, but not suggesting updating to newer version.
- I found programs, where a new version was available, but psi said, its uptodate.