Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: secunia PSI cannot access the selected file

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
floridamatt secunia PSI cannot access the selected file
Member 20th Mar, 2013 22:18
Ranking: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 20th Mar, 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 20th Mar, 2013 22:18

I've tried to select several programs for secunia to consider adding to PSI. when I get to the dialog to select an exe, I do so, but then get a message that secunia psi cannot accesss the selected file. Subsequent browses don't produce the message again, but still leave "fakepath" in place of the actual file.

I'm running as an administrator, and the bit about adding https://secunia.com does not seem relevant because I use firefox, not IE.

Win7 x64, fully up to date.

How do I fix this so I can suggest additional programs?

Maurice Joyce RE: secunia PSI cannot access the selected file
Handling Contributor 20th Mar, 2013 22:26
Score: 11581
Posts: 8,897
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
It is very relevant - It does not matter what your default browser is Secunia & Windows Update require IE to be set up correctly.

https://secunia.com/products/consumer/PSI/sys_req/

You need to set up trusted sites as advised by Secunia.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
mtodorov RE: secunia PSI cannot access the selected file
Member 22nd Mar, 2013 08:28
Score: 12
Posts: 166
User Since: 20th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: HR
Hi @floridamatt,

I remember having the same problem when .exe or .dll didn't have version meta information. Basically Secunia requires a file with version meta information if you want to suggest a program.

I believe GIMP for Windows was the program that didn't have it (the meta information), and I have received the quoted error message.

In particular, there is nothing Secunia PSI could do if program doesn't have this meta information except perhaps to check checksum, but it would be extremely slow for entire drive. You should contact program vendor and report they are failing to comply with PSI.

Hope this helps.

Regards,
mt


--
"If a task is worth doing, it is worth doing right. If it is not worth doing well, it is not worth doing." -- Dr. Jack Hyles
<><
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
floridamatt RE: secunia PSI cannot access the selected file
Member 22nd Mar, 2013 14:01
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 20th Mar 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
on 20th Mar, 2013 22:26, Maurice Joyce wrote:
It is very relevant - It does not matter what your default browser is Secunia & Windows Update require IE to be set up correctly.

https://secunia.com/products/consumer/PSI/sys_req/

You need to set up trusted sites as advised by Secunia.


Ok, this works, but I am seriously bothered by WHY? What is making this necessary, and why isn't there a better way of doing it?

I'm particularly bothered by a need to provide a broad-brush opening that persists forever (unless one removes the secure zone entry after submitting a program). Surely all the information needed about the particular exe or dll being reported can be acquired by a task running with administrator permissions,

And, nothing related to a program accessing a server via https generically requires that the server be in a secure zone. Any local firewall exceptions required can again be much more narrowly tailored than is being demanded here.

So, what's the story here?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: secunia PSI cannot access the selected file
Handling Contributor 22nd Mar, 2013 17:22
Score: 11581
Posts: 8,897
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I note that Secunia Support have been active on the Forum since you posted your query but have not responded.

I suggest you email them at support@secunia.com with your concern.

They will not respond before Monday at the earliest.


--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
ddmarshall RE: secunia PSI cannot access the selected file
Dedicated Contributor 22nd Mar, 2013 19:14
Score: 1198
Posts: 954
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
My guess is that PSI uses an IE function to do the file transfer that runs in Low Integrity Mode unless the site is in the Trusted zone. Running as Low Integrity would preclude reading a normal Medium Integrity file. Effectively, it's turning off Protected Mode for Secunia.com so that it runs outside the Internet Explorer sandbox.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability