navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Secunia Wants Me to Upgrade Software That's Still Supported

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
jdcrutch Secunia Wants Me to Upgrade Software That's Still Supported
Member 2nd Apr, 2013 05:56
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 2nd Apr, 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I have Adobe Creative Suite 4 installed on my Windows 7 machine. Even though CS5 has been released, Adobe still supports CS4 with updates. All my CS4 programs are up to date, but Secunia identifies them as outdated. I want Secunia to help me keep my CS4 programs updated, not to tell me I should spend hundreds of dollars on CS5. How can I make Secunia do that?

mogs RE: Secunia Wants Me to Upgrade Software That's Still Supported
Expert Contributor 2nd Apr, 2013 13:10
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@jdcrutch

From what I can see of it;
CS4 doesn't appear in the Secunia database :-
http://secunia.com/advisories/vendor/4/

- undefined Adobe Creative Suite 2 Premium
- undefined Adobe Creative Suite 2 Standard
- Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium
- Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Standard
- Adobe Creative Suite 3 Web Premium
- Adobe Creative Suite 3 Web Standard
- Adobe Creative Suite 5.5 Design Premium


--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
jdcrutch RE: Secunia Wants Me to Upgrade Software That's Still Supported
Member 2nd Apr, 2013 18:59
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 2nd Apr 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thanks. I guess I need to RTFM, because I don't know what it means for a program to be in the Secunia data base or not.

At any rate, the Adobe Creative Suite 4 programs all seem to be in the data base, only they're listed by individual program, rather than as a suite, e.g.,

- Adobe Dreamweaver CS3 9.x
- Adobe Dreamweaver CS4 10.x
- Adobe Dreamweaver CS5 11.x
- Adobe Dreamweaver CS6 12.x
* * *
- Adobe Illustrator CS 11.x
- Adobe Illustrator CS2 12.x
- Adobe Illustrator CS3
- Adobe Illustrator CS3 13.x
- Adobe Illustrator CS4 14.x
- Adobe Illustrator CS5 15.x
- Adobe Illustrator CS6 16.x

I haven't checked every program yet, but all the Secunia vulnerability reports I've looked at so far say, "There are no unpatched Secunia advisories affecting this product, when all vendor patches are applied."

Doesn't that mean that if I've updated all my Adobe CS4 programs from Adobe's web site, Secunia should recognize that they're up-to-date, and shouldn't tell me they need updating?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Secunia Wants Me to Upgrade Software That's Still Supported
Expert Contributor 2nd Apr, 2013 20:47
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@jdcrutch

If a program is in the Secunia database, it means that Secunia are already monitoring it for vulnerabilities....it is then possible to look up the program and any Secunia advisories affecting it.
You are right.....the programs you've emboldened in your last post, are both in the database....
- Adobe Dreamweaver CS4 10.x http://secunia.com/advisories/product/29130/
Most Critical Unpatched
There are no unpatched Secunia advisories affecting this product, when all vendor patches are applied..

And :=
- Adobe Illustrator CS4 14.x http://secunia.com/advisories/product/28054/
Most Critical Unpatched
There are no unpatched Secunia advisories affecting this product, when all vendor patches are applied..

In other words.....in both cases....if the program is fully patched it should not be found vulnerable.

Secunia is not saying that the programs are vulnerable or End of Life ? It is recommending an update ? Probably because there are security advantages for doing so ?
It is giving you information in order that you may make a more informed decision ?

Others on the forum may be able to add more info/detail.........regards..........mogs

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+