Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Important Note: "Mircosoft Update" not found

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
asilentfire Important Note: "Mircosoft Update" not found
Member 22nd Apr, 2013 09:25
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 22nd Apr, 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I'm running Windows 8 and I always get the Scan Message:

Important Note: "Microsoft Update" not found.
"Microsoft Update" was not found on your PC, which is required for correct reports on security issues affecting Microsoft products. Update now.

Is this normal or is this just me?
I have reinstalled 4 times and it always says that.

mogs RE: Important Note: "Mircosoft Update" not found
Expert Contributor 22nd Apr, 2013 11:10
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@asilentfire

The following is from System Requirements here :-
http://secunia.com/products/consumer/PSI/sys_req/

Extract
Software Requirements
Windows UpdateThe latest version of Microsoft Update. You can determine whether or not you are running the latest version by visiting

update.microsoft.com

Hope it helps.......regards.....mogs


--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1
ddmarshall RE: Important Note: "Mircosoft Update" not found
Dedicated Contributor 22nd Apr, 2013 11:39
Score: 1205
Posts: 957
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
Press the Windows key and W. Type update and select 'Turn automatic updating on or off'. Is the Microsoft Update option checked?

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Important Note: "Mircosoft Update" not found
Handling Contributor 22nd Apr, 2013 18:18
Score: 11629
Posts: 8,916
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
The answer to your question is that it is not normal for that message to appear when opening PSI in Windows 8.

You do not require Microsoft Update to be running in automatic update mode either

To test your system do this:

Right click on the Action Centre icon in the Tasktray (white Flag)>Select Windows Update>when the Interface Opens click on the wording "Check for Updates" - does a scan start?

If it does not run click on "Change Settings" - you may need to adjust the Important Update setting. There is no On or Off switch but 4 different settings to choose from - any will do to suit except Never Check For Updates (not Recommended).

Still not working?

Right click on the Action Centre again but this time select "Troubleshoot A Problem">select Fix problems with Windows Update located under the SYSTEM & SECURITY SECTION. Follow the prompts.

Now try PSI again.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability