Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Click to update doesn't work

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Python Software Foundation
And, this specific program:
Python 2.7.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
jkellymd Click to update doesn't work
Member 23rd Apr, 2013 00:06
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 22nd Apr, 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Using Secunia vesion 3.0.0.2003 and had alert that Python 2.7.2150.1013 is not secure, found in CyberLink PhotoDirector 3

C:\Program Files (x86)\Cyberlink\PhotoDirector 3\Koan\python27.dll

and

C:\Program Files (x86)\Cyberlink\PhotoDirector 3\Customizations\Generic\Setting\python27.dll

So Secunia then prompts me to click to update and when I do, it is the Python site which allows me to download the newer version, but a version slightly higher than the one suggested by Secunia. Must be okay, I reckon, so I download it, but there is no updated python27.dll for me to substitute for the non-secure version, and I gather from reading Secunia closed community discussion threads that I could not just substitute it anyway, if the experts were correct. Rescanning still tells me I'm not secure. I had upgraded from PhotoDirector 2.11 to version 3, and now what? There do not seem to be updated components, other than to buy the latest iteration. Apparently, I cannot "click to update."

Thanks for your kind attention,
John Kelly

ddmarshall RE: Click to update doesn't work
Dedicated Contributor 23rd Apr, 2013 00:31
Score: 1209
Posts: 961
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
Secunia have to amend their rules to ignore these embedded Python runtimes. If this is a new version of Photo Director, they may not have seen it yet. If they do not respond to your post tomorrow, email Support.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
E.Jeppesen RE: Click to update doesn't work
Secunia Official 23rd Apr, 2013 10:10
Score: 220
Posts: 618
User Since: 24th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
@ John Kelly
Thank you for the information you have posted. If you perform a rescan with the PSI the issue should now have been fixed.

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability