Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Feb 25th Adobe Problems

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
marstacy Feb 25th Adobe Problems
Member 25th Feb, 2009 18:43
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 27th Dec, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Dallas, US
I ran the latest version of PSI and it tells me I need to update:
Macromedia Flash Player 7.x (ActiveX Control)
Adobe Flash Player 10.x (General Plug-in)
Adobe Flash Player 10.x (ActiveX Control)

I already have:
Adobe Flash Player 10 ActiveX
Adobe Flash Player 10 Plugin
Adobe Reader 8.1.3

First, I can't even get the Adobe website to download anything using the link PSI provides. It just freezes my computer. I have had to force it to close several times today already.

Second, do I still need to get updates for Flash Player or do I already have what I need?

evag RE: Feb 25th Adobe Problems
Member 25th Feb, 2009 19:14
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 20th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 25th Feb, 2009 19:17
on 25th Feb, 2009 18:43, marstacy wrote:
I ran the latest version of PSI and it tells me I need to update:
Macromedia Flash Player 7.x (ActiveX Control)
Adobe Flash Player 10.x (General Plug-in)
Adobe Flash Player 10.x (ActiveX Control)

I already have:
Adobe Flash Player 10 ActiveX
Adobe Flash Player 10 Plugin
Adobe Reader 8.1.3

First, I can't even get the Adobe website to download anything using the link PSI provides. It just freezes my computer. I have had to force it to close several times today already.

Second, do I still need to get updates for Flash Player or do I already have what I need?

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
evag RE: Feb 25th Adobe Problems
Member 25th Feb, 2009 19:16
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 20th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 25th Feb, 2009 19:17
on 25th Feb, 2009 19:14, evag wrote:

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
evag RE: Feb 25th Adobe Problems
Member 25th Feb, 2009 19:16
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 20th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 25th Feb, 2009 19:17
on 25th Feb, 2009 19:16, evag wrote:

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Letum RE: Feb 25th Adobe Problems
Member 25th Feb, 2009 19:38
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 25th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Franklin, Pa., US
I am also experiencing problems with Adobe. I have uninstalled all active X and shockwave plug ins via add/remove programs and using the uninstallers provided by Adobe. The file being identified as a threat is C:\WINDOWS\system32\Macromed\Flash\Flash10a.ocx. I can't find any way to safely remove it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
deveber RE: Feb 25th Adobe Problems
Member 25th Feb, 2009 22:59
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 13th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 25th Feb, 2009 23:13
I was also having problems trying to "uninstall" Adobe Flash Player 10.x until I clicked the folder tab. I found that there were two files: Flash10a.ocx and Flash10b.ocx. After deleting Flash10a.ocx and a reboot, I had no exceptions.

But then I had a box that said

"Open folder where Adobe Flash Player 10.x (ActiveX Control) was detected:
c:\WINDOWS\system32\Macromed\Flash\Flash10a.ocx"


in the Secunia window whenever I opened it. A reboot cleared the message.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Spocto RE: Feb 25th Adobe Problems
Member 26th Feb, 2009 00:39
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 15th Dec 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: Adelaide, AU
Last edited on 26th Feb, 2009 01:39
edit: the same thing just happened to me the way i did it was run the activeX update twice first time it put Flash10b.ocx in the folder then when i installed it again it removed Flash10a.ocx from the folder
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy_078 RE: Feb 25th Adobe Problems
Member 26th Feb, 2009 11:49
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
I too had the same problems. I was directed to the Flash Player 10 download, which I did - twice. But when I power up,Secunia stills tells me that I have Macromedia Flash Player 7.x which must be removed. It than directs me to the 'download Flash Player 10' site!

I can't find Macromedia Flash Player 7.x in 'Add/Remove' (I have XP Home) nor via Search.

Any suggestions please?

PS I went to the Adobe Help link from the download 10 page, ticked 'NO' in the "did this help" box, entered comments and hit 'send'. I've no idea how Adobe will reply. Perhaps you should all try that route??

--
grateful to you guys for your help - as always!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Spocto RE: Feb 25th Adobe Problems
Member 26th Feb, 2009 13:07
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 15th Dec 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: Adelaide, AU
You should go into advamced mode and see where the actual file is on your computer cause the file might be in a spot where the nprmal install doesn't update it. This happened on my girl friend's laptop which was a thinkpad that had avromedia flash hidden away in there system files
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy_078 RE: Feb 25th Adobe Problems
Member 28th Feb, 2009 18:33
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
many thanks for your help - it worked!

--
grateful to you guys for your help - as always!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Feb 25th Adobe Problems
Member 28th Feb, 2009 21:02
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 28th Feb, 2009 21:03
Agreed it was horrific. I totally uninstalled all Adobe products from add/remove and from program files. I then went to Adobe.com and reinstalled. Remember if you are running cookie and script controls to allow their session. All is o.k. 100% now except Secunia won't allow graphs to display. I believe this has to do with original security threat regarding Adobe. Secunia itself has updated, currently it is v1.0.0.3(no I was never advised either). The problem is most everything works around Adobe and Microsoft seems to only support it.

--
Windows Home Basic-Service Pack 2
Dell AMD Athlon 64x2 Processor 4000+ 2.10Ghz 2Memory 32 Bit

Firefox 27+ - MS Security Essentials+Spybot-Spyware Blaster-Malwarebytes-Emsisoft Malware- Sandboxie

IE 9-seldom












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Feb 25th Adobe Problems
Member 28th Feb, 2009 21:06
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 28th Feb, 2009 21:09
The current reader is "9" and there is currently a big threat level on Adobe products. My suggestion is to go directly to Adobe.com

--
Windows Home Basic-Service Pack 2
Dell AMD Athlon 64x2 Processor 4000+ 2.10Ghz 2Memory 32 Bit

Firefox 27+ - MS Security Essentials+Spybot-Spyware Blaster-Malwarebytes-Emsisoft Malware- Sandboxie

IE 9-seldom












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Bob_Primak RE: Feb 25th Adobe Problems
Member 1st Mar, 2009 09:10
Score: 0
Posts: 45
User Since: 28th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Hinsdale, Illinois, US
Last edited on 1st Mar, 2009 09:10
Whether or not the Adobe products list in Windows Add/Remove Programs, most instances of these and Java will show up in Revo Uninstaller, which is free for personal use. Revo has the ability to track down not just the program, but also any associated Registry entries or System Files, such as the ones people have described here. It is one-stop shopping to completely remove these programs and their files.

Download Revo Uninstaller at: http://www.revouninstaller.com/revo_uninstaller_fr...

Hope this helps with these residual junk files.

--
-- Bob --
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Feb 25th Adobe Problems
Member 4th Mar, 2009 00:13
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 4th Mar, 2009 00:24
Hooray, Hooray, Thank-you Bob Primak for the info 0n Revo-uninstaller http://www.revouninstaller.com/revo_uninstaller_fr... I had horrible problem with an incomplete uninstall. Gone through every thing, on a manual level. Even tried a reg edit,which is always scary!!! Revo not only found the problem,it took care of it totally! A really necessary tool until program devlopers get it right. Thanks again! Puget 1 Very Impressed even bookmarked AskWoody.com

--
Windows Home Basic-Service Pack 2
Dell AMD Athlon 64x2 Processor 4000+ 2.10Ghz 2Memory 32 Bit

Firefox 27+ - MS Security Essentials+Spybot-Spyware Blaster-Malwarebytes-Emsisoft Malware- Sandboxie

IE 9-seldom












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Feb 25th Adobe Problems
Contributor 4th Mar, 2009 19:27
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
One step I would use to further remove any leftover files is to reboot & run Revo junk files remover. Then proceed to install the program.

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Feb 25th Adobe Problems
Member 4th Mar, 2009 19:43
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Got cha! So, that is necessary to utilize the file remover? Will do

--
Windows Home Basic-Service Pack 2
Dell AMD Athlon 64x2 Processor 4000+ 2.10Ghz 2Memory 32 Bit

Firefox 27+ - MS Security Essentials+Spybot-Spyware Blaster-Malwarebytes-Emsisoft Malware- Sandboxie

IE 9-seldom












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Feb 25th Adobe Problems
Contributor 4th Mar, 2009 19:47
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
on 4th Mar, 2009 19:43, puget1 wrote:
Got cha! So, that is necessary to utilize the file remover? Will do

Not sure that it's absolutely necessary, but just 1 more step to clean out the junk files that may cause a problem later.

Have a pleasant day.WR

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability