navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: PSI update notifications

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
trocker PSI update notifications
Member 10th Aug, 2013 09:30
Ranking: 5
Posts: 12
User Since: 29th Nov, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US

PSI makes it much easier to keep all my packages updated. Except it doesn't notice updates to itself.

Is there a reason why there PSI doesn't notice there are new versions available for itself? I'm guessing all the machinery exists, but secunia doesn't want to "push" updates?

Even if PSI couldn't perform the update, it could still flag it as a manual update.

(I say this because I was having the Auto-update stuck at "Verifying update" bug that was fixed in 3.0.0.7009; it would have been nice to be told there was an upgrade available that already fixed the issue).

Maurice Joyce RE: PSI update notifications
Handling Contributor 10th Aug, 2013 10:05
Score: 11830
Posts: 9,072
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 10th Aug, 2013 10:18
PSI is a vulnerability checker not a general updater.

It has never been vulnerable hence no notifications.

Secunia have stated they are looking at ways to make it easier for users to be informed when a cosmetic update is released.

EDIT:
I use this email method to keep me informed of all updates to programmes on my PC which are linked direct to the vendor webpage which includes Secunia.

http://www.changedetection.com/

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+6
-0

goozak

RE: PSI update notifications
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.
mogs RE: PSI update notifications
Expert Contributor 10th Aug, 2013 21:00
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
I don't think I'm backwards....or a bit slow getting a message.....I use psi 2.0.0.3003...and I don't want it updated to another version of 2.0 nor 3.0. If it became vulnerable...I have every faith that Secunia would do something about it.....they're very considerate of different users wishes....for free !!

--
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
wr RE: PSI update notifications
Contributor 10th Aug, 2013 22:39
Score: 308
Posts: 739
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Withya on that one mogs-you think you're
backwards? I still run v1.5.0.2 for the exact
same reason(s). Different strokes for different folks.
Or if it ain't broke don't fix it. Glad we all don't like
vanilla.

Regards, wr




--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 31.2.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: PSI update notifications
Handling Contributor 10th Aug, 2013 22:57
Score: 11830
Posts: 9,072
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@goozak

Question asked by the originator - "Is there a reason why PSI doesn't notice there are new versions available for itself?

Answer from the FAQ - http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Question asked by the originator"Even if PSI couldn't perform the update, it could still flag it as a manual update."

Answer from Secunia Support on previous like comments - We are looking at ways to achieve this.

Your comment Anyway... I did try to monitor the http://secunia.com/products/consumer/psi/sys_req/ page for new versions with my service of choice - http://www.feed43.com. But I get this message :

"We have registered this IP Address (69.73.144.49) as being a robot. Secunia does not allow content leaching robots on our website thus this IP address has been banned."

Why should they allow robots to leach?

Your comment
"PSI checks for vulnerability in other software but it should also check for updates to itself, vulnerability or not!"

It does check itself for vulnerabilities. To my knowledge they are still at the thinking stage on whether to include an independent cosmetic/bug fix update mechanism outside the vulnerability scanner.

Looks like you have one or two new feature requests to get Secunia to change their Modus Operandi in which case you should create your own thread or contact Support as per the FAQ.

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+4
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+