Forum Thread: Version 3.0.0.7011 last scan is always undefined

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
MStefani Version 3.0.0.7011 last scan is always undefined
Member 11th Sep, 2013 18:40
Ranking: 14
Posts: 16
User Since: 28th Jul, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I upgraded, rebooted, uninstalled, rebooted and reinstalled, and PSI always opens with "please run a scan, you may have outdated software.' Same message comes up immediately after running the scan as well!
WIndows 7, 64-bit.

mogs RE: Version 3.0.0.7011 last scan is always undefined
Expert Contributor 11th Sep, 2013 22:32
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,269
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@MStefani

Were you running psi 2.0 successfully before ? Psi 3.0 is not an upgrade...it's designed for basic users.
Lots of W7 users have experienced difficulty getting it to run properly.
Have you checked your Settings as per the FAQ here :-
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...
The Secunia PSI won’t load the interface or won’t complete scanning. What can I do?

Sometimes a setting goes awry at install.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
MStefani RE: Version 3.0.0.7011 last scan is always undefined
Member 11th Sep, 2013 22:40
Score: 14
Posts: 16
User Since: 28th Jul 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I was using an earlier version of 3.0
(I've been using PSI for at least a couple of years without trouble prior to this version upgrade.)
The FAQ doesn't address this issue...
Do you suggest rolling back?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
MStefani RE: Version 3.0.0.7011 last scan is always undefined
Member 11th Sep, 2013 22:47
Score: 14
Posts: 16
User Since: 28th Jul 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hmmm....
I reinstalled one more time (same version as mentioned in the topic) and this time the scan completed successfully. Strange...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Version 3.0.0.7011 last scan is always undefined
Expert Contributor 11th Sep, 2013 22:49
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,269
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 11th Sep, 2013 22:52
@MStefani

Well, if it was all okay for you before this.....it should be again, hopefully. At least it might verify that it's the version change causing the problem.... if the previous is found to work.
You could check those settings tho'.....sometimes it does go awry between one and another.

Edit.....just caught your last post....glad it worked out.....did you clear out temp files between installs (?)....sometimes that can make a difference.



--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
MStefani RE: Version 3.0.0.7011 last scan is always undefined
Member 11th Sep, 2013 22:54
Score: 14
Posts: 16
User Since: 28th Jul 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 11th Sep, 2013 22:56
I will leave it alone for now, since it has 'cured' itself. Not sure how to explain that... other than perhaps a corrupt install corrected itself the second time? Seems very unlikely...

Edit: ccleaner... so yes, the temp files get cleaned out at every reboot, unless PSI puts them somewhere unique.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.