Forum Thread: for Maurice - failed Microsoft updates

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
taffy078 for Maurice - failed Microsoft updates
Contributor 13th Sep, 2013 09:31
Ranking: 408
Posts: 1,464
User Since: 26th Feb, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK


--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7

taffy078 RE: for Maurice - failed Microsoft updates
Contributor 13th Sep, 2013 10:12
Score: 408
Posts: 1,464
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
PS As the PSI scan didn't pick up the new version of NIS, I presume that's because the changes didn't address a security issue but, out of interest, how can I check this please?

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: for Maurice - failed Microsoft updates
Handling Contributor 13th Sep, 2013 10:51
Score: 12099
Posts: 9,392
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I can try & give a better answer once I know a little bit more.

You mentioned in the other thread that IE10 was showing as vulnerable. What are the KB numbers of the installs that fail from the patches offered by Microsoft last Tuesday?

To check whether Norton has a new version you can:

1. Right click on the tray icon>Check for new version

2. Open NIS>Support>New version check

3. You can also activate your Management Console & check your account there which gives the download links for the licence (s) purchased.

They normally issue a major upgrade in September of each year. There is an added programme with 2014 called Eraser. Both that & NIS are picked up on a PSI after a full rescan.



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1607 Build 14393.447
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: for Maurice - failed Microsoft updates
Contributor 13th Sep, 2013 11:45
Score: 408
Posts: 1,464
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Some more info, Maurice:

XP:
Microsoft Update site shows three updates are needed:
MSOffice Excel 2007 KB2760583
MSOffice 2007 Suites KB2760588
MSOffice 2007 Suites KB2760411

PSI scan shows as vulnerable:
Excel 2007 v12.0.6679.5000
Word 2007 v12.0.6683.5001

Both Norton Power Eraser & NIS2014 are shown in PSI but Power Eraser is not in Control Panel (unless it's part of Norton Management)

Latest Norton Vault working fine.

Win7:
Microsoft Update site shows three updates are needed:
MSOffice Excel 2007 KB2760583
MSOffice 2007 Suites KB2760588
MSOffice 2007 Suites KB2760411

PSI scan shows as vulnerable:
Excel 2007 v12.0.6665.5003
Word 2007 v12.0.6668.5000
IE10 v10.0.9200.16660
IE10 64 bit v10.0.9200.16660
Windows 7 Detected versions shown simply as Windows 7

Control Panel shows NIS 21.0.1.3 (i.e. the 2014 version).
PSI shows Symantec tgctlsr Module Acitive X Control 6 v6.9.2984.0 and nothing else
Power Eraser is not shown in PSI nor Control Panel but is found using Search.

Latest Norton Vault not working - posted on Norton Forum. (http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-Toolbar-Nort...)

So there we are - a real dog's dinner! I've been on both PCs for nearly 6 hours so I'll have brunch and try again later!!

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: for Maurice - failed Microsoft updates
Handling Contributor 13th Sep, 2013 12:22
Score: 12099
Posts: 9,392
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thank you. I have read your Norton Forum submissions & that is your best avenue to get it up & running. My vault is switched off as I do not use it therefore cannot really help.

Why are you expecting Eraser to be in Control Panel? If you want to have it handy just attach the programme to your Start Menu. Do you mean it is not in Control Panel>Program & Features? It will not be - it is part of NIS 2014 although it does have its own exe file.

Not sure why you can see it in a PSI scan on Windows 7 - it shows perfectly on both Windows 7 & 8 as can be seen here:

NIS
https://1ncuig.bn1.livefilestore.com/y2pG6i6qzyoJ2...

Eraser

https://1ncuig.bn1.livefilestore.com/y2p6UfI8E7mwd...

The upgrades demand a reboot. Have you done that followed by a full PSI scan?



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1607 Build 14393.447
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: for Maurice - failed Microsoft updates
Handling Contributor 13th Sep, 2013 12:43
Score: 12099
Posts: 9,392
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 16th Sep, 2013 10:08
IE 10 for Windows 7 SP1.

The version number should be 10.0.9200.16686

Open the Action Centre>Windows update & check you have KB 2870699 installed - it was part of patch Tuesday.

If it is not installed run a manual Windows Update scan - Does it offer the update?

EDIT: I note you have been active elsewhere on the forum so will assume all is well with your issues with Microsoft. I will unsubscribe.



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1607 Build 14393.447
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: for Maurice - failed Microsoft updates
Contributor 18th Sep, 2013 10:00
Score: 408
Posts: 1,464
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Sorry for the delay, Maurice, but I had still been trying to sort out the mess.

Re "Why are you expecting Eraser to be in Control Panel?" My XP Control Panel shows Norton Internet Security & Norton Management but the PSI scan shows Symantec Norton IS 2014 and Norton Power Eraser 3.9.730.0 so I just assumed both would show the same. Power Eraser is no longer showing on my Win7.

I've re-run the Microsoft updates and everything is now 100%. Thanks again.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: for Maurice - failed Microsoft updates
Handling Contributor 18th Sep, 2013 18:36
Score: 12099
Posts: 9,392
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK

I am totally confused on your Norton set up with Windows 7. Have you been tinkering or downloading other Norton assets other than upgrading from 2013 to 2014 via the link provided in your Norton Account?

Have you for example installed this? https://security.symantec.com/nbrt/npe.aspx

I have just checked the meta data that Secunia are showing &, as expected, it is correct. Norton Eraser should be showing on any scan with Windows 7 as 3.2.0.23 as can be seen here.

https://1ncuig.bn1.livefilestore.com/y2p6UfI8E7mwd... (This screen shot is for 3 of my Endpoints on SMB who use Norton - you should have one entry)

There are no standalone entries in Control Panel. The only entry is in Control Panel>Program & Features which gives a user the opportunity to uninstall Norton Internet Security 2014 which should include Eraser.

Despite updating with all Microsoft patches please be aware there is a minor issue for home users with IE (All versions)

The details for a partial fix is here if required:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/security/adviso...

I cannot be accurate about anything with Windows XP - I have deliberately allowed it to lapse with all vulnerability patches ignored & I removed Norton ages ago to see what happens.

Have you got God mode set up in a folder on your desk top to help with Windows 7?



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1607 Build 14393.447
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: for Maurice - failed Microsoft updates
Contributor 19th Sep, 2013 12:07
Score: 408
Posts: 1,464
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
As I said in my email *** earlier, Maurice, I simply followed the prompts from Norton after clicking on "Check for a Newer Version". I'm pretty sure that the Power Eraser was a separate icon.

Anyway, the PSI scan results is once again showing Norton Power Eraser 3.x (v3.2.0.23) as a separate item on my Win 7 laptop.

*** I too had major problems earlier as I noted here three hours ago
:http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/144...

I won't do anything [such as removing/re-installing NIS] until Secunia has got back to normal.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: for Maurice - failed Microsoft updates
Handling Contributor 19th Sep, 2013 12:32
Score: 12099
Posts: 9,392
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
There should be no requirement to uninstall NIS. If you have a (duplicate)standalone copy of Eraser in Control Panel>Program & Feature with a version number 3.9.730.0 just uninstall that item.

Use PSI to navigate to the Windows Explorer location of Eraser in NIS 2014. You will clearly see an exe file - just send it to the start menu if you want it handy. Please bare in mind this tool should be used with CAUTION.

Whatever you do on your PC will have no impact on PSI. PSI is just a tool that reads the meta data of installed items if that programme is on their database.

You have not mentioned if you have Godmode on the desktop to help with Windows 7.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1607 Build 14393.447
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.