Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Is PSI ever going to work again?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
Nikilet Is PSI ever going to work again?
Member 9th Oct, 2013 02:00
Ranking: 7
Posts: 287
User Since: 15th Jul, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
On my desktop computer psi "had to close down" a week or two ago and I quit even bothering to try and start it again.

I fired up my new laptop today and I see the icon is read, as usual. It's showing Adobe Reader as needing an update, first it will show dowloading, then updating, then verifying update and the next time I look it's downloading again.

Does anyone know how to get File Hippo Update Checker to work on Windows 7? I've got it on my Vista desktop and it works fine but I can't get it to run at all on this Windows 7. According to the technical info, it should work.

Post "RE: Is PSI ever going to work again?" has been selected as an answer.
Leendert Kip Is PSI ever going to work again?
Member 9th Oct, 2013 08:22
Score: 70
Posts: 526
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Last edited on 9th Oct, 2013 08:23
Hi Nikilet. I'm using PSI 3.0.0.7011 and it works well with Windows 7. I had the same issue with Adobe Reader and solved it by installing the update manually using the internal updater. Filehippo update checker works fine with Windows 7. There are only a few settings which are self explanatory. What's your problem with update checker?

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: Is PSI ever going to work again?
Member 9th Oct, 2013 19:21
Score: 7
Posts: 287
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 9th Oct, 2013 19:24
I installed the File Hippo Updater without incident. When I click on the desktop shortcut icon to run it there is just a little flash and nothing more happens. I uninstalled and reinstalled. I have no clue what's up but this is on my Laptop and I just haven't hardly used it yet. Bet it doesn't have 20 hours on it.

I am running the same version of psi as you, on two computers. It's on a desktop running Vista Home Premium and on my new laptop running Windows 7. I have the same problem with it on both computers. It doesn't work most of the time and that involves various things. I was wondering if the old version works any better???
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip Is PSI ever going to work again?
Member 9th Oct, 2013 20:58
Score: 70
Posts: 526
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Last edited on 9th Oct, 2013 21:35
Hi Nikilet, I start Filehippo from the icon at the lower right side of the taskbar and don't use the desktop shortcut. Rightclicking on the brown icon shows a menu from where you can do the necessary items: settings, scan for updates and view results. Never any problem with Windows 7 and Vista. Really no idea why you can't get PSI to work and no idea about other versions. Maybe you should describe the symptoms more detailed and get help from others here.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Doctor9fan RE: Is PSI ever going to work again?
Member 10th Oct, 2013 20:59
Score: 19
Posts: 49
User Since: 10th Jul 2011
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
on 9th Oct, 2013 02:00, Nikilet wrote:
On my desktop computer psi "had to close down" a week or two ago and I quit even bothering to try and start it again.

I fired up my new laptop today and I see the icon is read, as usual. It's showing Adobe Reader as needing an update, first it will show dowloading, then updating, then verifying update and the next time I look it's downloading again.

Does anyone know how to get File Hippo Update Checker to work on Windows 7? I've got it on my Vista desktop and it works fine but I can't get it to run at all on this Windows 7. According to the technical info, it should work.


Same here with Adobe reader & another program - both updated but Secunia stated they were older, I had to manually update both then manually run a scan & then they showed upto date.

--
Virginia/Doctor9fan.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: Is PSI ever going to work again?
Member 10th Oct, 2013 21:08
Score: 7
Posts: 287
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I don't know what's going on with PSI. The only thing I know is that neither the program or the process of logging into the forum is working right. Just now I got about 3 of, what I will call "goofy" screens when I tried to login to this forum.

Sometimes you can't even get logged in. I think at times programs aren't updating because of a lack of connection and have been told on a number of occasions there are problems with the servers. But it seems to me like a company like Secunia should not have ongoing problems with their servers for months.

It can't be blamed on my computer because I have three computers, all running different OS, and I have the very same problems on all three.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Is PSI ever going to work again?
Expert Contributor 10th Oct, 2013 22:44
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@Nikilet

Are you sure all your settings in IE are correct for your three operating systems....as per the FAQ ?
The Secunia PSI won’t load the interface or won’t complete scanning. What can I do?
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

In each instance, are you sure your chosen default browser is also configured correctly to work with psi ?! See this item :-
The Secunia PSI says "An error occurred while attempting to open the specified URL" when I click links. How can I solve this ?
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

If you are able to, you can check that the default browser is working, by going to Learn More on the psi UI....Click on Support/ Forum...and then Visit the Community Forum ( at the bottom of the notes, in blue ).

If all's well; you should be taken directly from there to the forum.

Hope it helps......mogs.....

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: Is PSI ever going to work again?
Member 10th Oct, 2013 23:25
Score: 7
Posts: 287
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 10th Oct, 2013 23:27
I don't use IE. I use Google Chrome as default on all 3 computers. I don't know what settings there would be to change so if there is something I should check on please advise. PSI previously worked on all three of my machines and then I started having all the problems. Maurice always said Secunia was having trouble with it's servers and they would eventually get it straightened out.

But I see I am not the only one complaining of these problems.

So far today PSI has been working on my desktop. I haven't been on the other two machines.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Is PSI ever going to work again?
Handling Contributor 10th Oct, 2013 23:54
Score: 11710
Posts: 8,954
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
There has been no issues with the servers after this action was completed.

https://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/14...

It has & remains extremely fast in all aspects***

***I have not personally tested automatic updating because I will not allow any vendor to automatically update programmes or install patches on any of my PC's.

That said all my SMB Endpoints, who must use PSI Version 3, all report very favourably on the general improvement & of auto updating since the maintenance was completed.

The problem of updating Adobe products either automatically or manually are well documented on this Forum.

What happens when you click here?

https://secunia.com/community/forum/all_threads/?f...

It should open this page - what happens when you log in from the drop down box located where the arrow points?

https://1ncuig.bn1.livefilestore.com/y2phjHTQ1KIuT...






--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: Is PSI ever going to work again?
Member 11th Oct, 2013 00:05
Score: 7
Posts: 287
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
When I clicked this link
https://secunia.com/community/forum/all_threads/?f...
it opened the main secunia forum page.

I usually do login through the box in the upper right corner, which you showed me through the second link you gave.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Is PSI ever going to work again?
Handling Contributor 11th Oct, 2013 00:19
Score: 11710
Posts: 8,954
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
So it appears to be working correctly.

Despite the fact that a third party browser is your default IE must be set up correctly for all systems to function correctly.

IE is embedded into Windows & controls numerous aspects of the OS not least Windows Update.

These are the PSI System Requirements:

https://secunia.com/products/consumer/PSI/sys_req/

You perhaps need to recheck your settings using the FAQ particularly this:

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...





--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: Is PSI ever going to work again?
Member 11th Oct, 2013 07:19
Score: 7
Posts: 287
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I checked these links and everything was set correctly.

So far it's been working today so I'll keep my fingers crossed.

Thanks for everyone's input.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Is PSI ever going to work again?
Handling Contributor 11th Oct, 2013 10:26
Score: 11710
Posts: 8,954
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Pleased to see it all appears to be working for you.

On that basis, I will lock this thread for U sometime tomorrow unless you post back asking for it to be left open.

This will protect your mail box from possible update emails from "tag on" posts

You can of course lock threads U have created. Just click the ACCEPT button in the post of the helper who offered U the best solution/advice to solve your problem.

You can always contact me by email if you would like it reopened.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: Is PSI ever going to work again?
Member 11th Oct, 2013 23:43
Score: 7
Posts: 287
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Recently you gave a link for a psi installer that uninstalled and then reinstalled. I even shared it with some others. Would you give me that link again so I can bookmark it?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Is PSI ever going to work again?
Handling Contributor 12th Oct, 2013 01:53
Score: 11710
Posts: 8,954
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I have sent you various links with explanations by email.

Hope it helps.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability