Forum Thread: Is this Microsoft alert a new one?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as locked.
taffy078 Is this Microsoft alert a new one?
Contributor 6th Nov, 2013 07:11
Ranking: 408
Posts: 1,464
User Since: 26th Feb, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
or is the reporter rehashing old news?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-24814999


--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7

mogs RE: Is this Microsoft alert a new one?
Member 6th Nov, 2013 08:40
Score:
Posts: 6,279
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 6th Nov, 2013 08:59


--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Is this Microsoft alert a new one?
Handling Contributor 6th Nov, 2013 09:19
Score: 12085
Posts: 9,367
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 6th Nov, 2013 13:45
Microsoft have released the detail:

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/security/advis...

Just sign up for their notifications & you will get the information direct from the "horses mouth".

EDIT

Secunia have now issued an SA.

http://secunia.com/advisories/55584/

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1607
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
mogs RE: Is this Microsoft alert a new one?
Member 6th Nov, 2013 14:02
Score:
Posts: 6,279
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@taffy

There's another article appeared here:-
NOVEMBER 06, 2013
Deciphering Microsoft Security Advisory 2896666 on Word zero-day exploit
Here's the straight story on Microsoft's uninformative, poorly worded security advisory about attacks delivered via a bug in the TIFF codec shipping with Office

By Woody Leonhard | InfoWorldFollow @woodyleonhard
http://www.infoworld.com/t/office-software/deciphe...

Bottom line !
So it's a safe bet that unless you're running a highly sensitive computer in the Middle East or South Asia, you aren't likely to encounter the problem. Yet.

Regards.....mogs.......


--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: Is this Microsoft alert a new one?
Contributor 6th Nov, 2013 18:32
Score: 408
Posts: 1,464
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
thanks Mogs, Maurice.

Maurice - I thought that I was signed up - in fact I know that I was but it looks like I've fallen off their database.

I've just tried to sign up again but there's a problem - they recognise me from my old 'Live' sign-in so to sign up again I've got to go through Live and set up a dummy account to get up-to-date news. They really are a shambles at the moment!

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Is this Microsoft alert a new one?
Handling Contributor 6th Nov, 2013 19:23
Score: 12085
Posts: 9,367
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
If you do not close "Live" accounts correctly there could be issues. I visit many who have the same type of problem - once they pay my call out fee I will do it for them & set up a new account!!

If you are adamant the Microsoft system does not work you should contact Support outlining how you closed your old account with the confirmation details they sent you & screen shots of your attempts to create a new account.

What is stopping you signing in to the old account?



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1607
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.