Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Securia WILL NOT WORK in Wdws 7. Ever. Please help!

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Alan_A Securia WILL NOT WORK in Wdws 7. Ever. Please help!
Member 17th Nov, 2013 07:14
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 17th Nov, 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I have tried everything; (well, obviously NOT) but, based on Comcast's urging, would like to try this product of Secunia. I am computer literate, work on Windows 7 (by choice), and run only the Norton Security Suite AV product. I have the firewall completely turned off and ALL programs are fully up to date including MS Windows Update(s), I have downloaded PSI, installed it, uninstalled, reinstalled, uninstalled, deleted all, re-downloaded, installed, etc. & etc. — several times over. I have installed it "automatically" as well as tried to change from the defaults. I have rebooted the computer several times. Each and every time I launch it, it stops with the message: "Secunia PSI has stopped working; Problem Signature; Problem Event Name: APPCRASH".

I can't be the first and only one this has happened to but now, the frustration has made me even more determined to try to get the program to work. Anyone beat it already, that you might have suggestions?

Respectfully,
AA in Minneapolis, MN

mogs RE: Securia WILL NOT WORK in Wdws 7. Ever. Please help!
Expert Contributor 17th Nov, 2013 09:29
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@Alan A

Take a look at the following thread....and the subsequent link to M.Hansen's post in another.
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/145...

That should enable you to get psi 3.0.0.7011 installed....let it remove the previous.
Lots of users have had trouble with the later versions.

If that still isn't working, it may be neccessary to check your settings are in accordance with those in the following item of the FAQ here :-
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...
The Secunia PSI won’t load the interface or won’t complete scanning. What can I do?

Hope it helps....regards.....mogs........

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Alan_A RE: Securia WILL NOT WORK in Wdws 7. Ever. Please help!
Member 17th Nov, 2013 09:38
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 17th Nov 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I am busy from now until Monday night when I will be able try your solution(s). Buggy or not, I had spent a lot of time getting nowhere. I hadn't figured it out yet but am sure that with a good product and these links, I will figure it out quickly. Let me just say thank you right away, in advance.

My apologies for being so frustrated. Thanks much for taking the time to offer the help. —AA
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability